## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (To Override Veto of Resolution No. 458-86)

RES. NO. 511-86

WHEREAS, The Tohono O'odham Legislative Council did by Resolution No. 458-86 appoint Ned Norris Jr., Malcolm Escalante, Donald Harvey, Hilda Manuel, Joann Francisco and William Farrison as Judges of the Tohono O'odham Judiciary; and

WHEREAS, Upon presentation of the Resolution to the Chairman of the Tohono
O'odham Nation he did diapprove thereof and returned it to the Council
with his objections in accordance with the provisions of Article VII,
Section 5 of the Consitution of the Nation; and

WHEREAS, The Council has reviewed the Chairman's objections and after consideration again voted to pass Resolution No. 458-86.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Council does hereby override the Chairman's veto of Resolution No. 458-86.

The foregoing resolution was presented to the Tohono O'odham Council on the 4th day of November, 1986, at a meeting at which a quorum was present and, by a vote of 581.0 for; 921.0 against; 138.0 not voting; and 01 absent, failed to override the Chairman's veto of Resolution No. 458-86 pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

ForHarriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson

13 day of Nov., 1986.

ATTEST:

Ophelia F. Campillo, Legislative Secretary

13 day of Mounta, 19 86.

Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the 13 day of  $N_{\rm col}$ ,  $19\,86$ , at 2.52 o'clock, P.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the

5

RES. NO. 511-86 (To Override Veto of Resolution No. 458-86) Page Two (2) Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL on the 4 day of November, 1984, at [🗶] 11: 29 o'clock, A.M. DISAPPROVED ] TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION Returned to Legislative Secretary on the 19th day of Movember 1986, at 4:51 o'clock, P.M. Ophelia F. Campillo, Legislative Secretary 

MOVED: JULIA CARRILLO

SUBJECT: TO OVERRIDE VETO OF RES. NO. 458-86

SECOND: VIRGIL LEWIS

(CERTIFYING APPOINTMENT OF JUDGES)

DATE: NOVEMBER 4, 1986

RESOLUTION OR ORDINANCE # 511-86

DISTRICTS		REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK	1.	Elliott Lewis	69.0			Х	
138	2.	(Eugene F. Jose) Nicholas Jose (Letitia Garcia)	69.0			Х	Х
SELLS	1.	Andrew M. Patricio (Nora Alveraz)	128.5		X		
257 	2.	Fred Steven, Sr. (Dennis E. Jose)	128.5	Х		···	
SCHUK TOAK	1.	Joseph Juan	52.5		х		
105	2.	Julia Carrillo (JoAnn Francisco)	52.5	Х			
SAN XAVIER	1.	Yvonne Corella	63.0	X			
126	2.	(Austin Nunez) Tony Felix (Carmelita Mattias)	63.0	Х			
BABOQUIVARI	1.	Kenneth Chico, Sr.	120.5		Х		
241	2.	(Frances Miguel) Edward N. Kisto ( )	120.5	Х			
GU ACHI	1.	Angelo Joaquin, Sr.	79.0	х			
158	2.	( Fernando Joaquin (	79.0	Х			
PISINEMO	1.	Johnson Jose (Edward Manuel)	58.0	х			
	2.	•	58.0	X			
SAN LUCY	1.		42.5		Х		
85	2.	(Dewey Ortega) John Reno ( )	42.5		X		
GU VO	1.	Cross Antone	58.5		Х		
	2.	(Fern Salcido) Virgil Lewis (Roy Montana)	58.5		Х		
HICKIWAN	1.	Henry A. Ramon (Pablo Baptisto)	64.0		Х		
128	2.	•	64.0		X		
СНИКИТ КИК	1.	Rosemary Lopez (Anita C. Clark)	84.5		х		
169	2.	Harriet Toro (Marvin J. Thomas)	84.5		X		
TOTALS			1640.0	581.0	921.0	138.0	01