RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing a temporary Election Board)

RES. NO. 531-86 1 WHEREAS, This Council has enacted Ordinance No. 03-86, the Uniform Election 2 Ordinance, calling for the establishment and appointment by the Council 3 of an Election Board consisting of five Bilingual members of the 4 Nation for staggered terms of one to five years; and 5 WHEREAS, The Council has determined that it would be a mistake to appoint a new 6 Board so shortly before the forthcoming elections and that the ex-7 isting Election Board should conduct and supervise such elections. 8 9 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Council that the presently appointed 10 members of the Election Board are hereby appointed temporarily and 11 until June, 1987, as the Election Board, at which time the Council 12 shall make permanent appointments to the Board in accordance with 13 section 1 of article II of the ordinance. 14 The foregoing resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the 18th 15 day of November, 1986, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1513.0 for; 63.0 against; 64.0 not voting; and 02 absent, pursuant to the 16 powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 17 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian 18 Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). 19 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 20 21 $\mathbf{22}$ Joro, Legislative Chairperson day of <u>Macanka</u>, 19<u>56</u>. Harriet $\mathbf{23}$ 24 ATTEST: 25 $\mathbf{26}$ Ophelia J. Camp Clo Desilia F. Campillo, Legislative 27 Ophelia F. Campillo. $\mathbf{28}$ Secretary 2/2 day of Morember, 19 Slo. 2930 Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the 215° day of <u>Mounder</u>, 19<u>86</u>, at 4.54° o'clock, <u>P</u>.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the 31 32 Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to

RES. NO. <u>531-86</u> (Appointing a temporary Election Board) Page Two (2) 1 either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. 2 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 3 4 5 Harriet Toro. Legislative Chairperson 6 on the 25 day of November, 1986, at) APPROVED [×] 7 1:47 o'clock, P.M. [] DISAPPROVED) 8 9 Ulance 10 JOSIAH MOORE, Chairman TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION 11 Returned to Legislative Secretary on the 26^{th} day of <u>Movembur</u>, 19<u>86</u>, 12 13 at <u>9:00</u> o'clock, <u>A</u>.M. 14 15 16 Ophelia F. Campillo, Legislative Secretary 17 18 19 $\mathbf{20}$ 21 $\mathbf{22}$ 23 24 25 $\mathbf{26}$ 27 28 29 30 31 32

MOVED: ______ LEWIS_____

-

SUBJECT: APPOINTING TEMPORARY ELECTION BOARD

SECOND: ANGELO JOAQUIN SR.

DATE: NOVEMBER 18, 1986

. ____

_

RESOLUTION OR ORDINANCE # 531-86

DISTRICTS		REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK	1.		69.0	x			
138	2.	(Eugene F. Jose) Nicholas Jose (Letitia Garcia)	69.0	x			
SELLS	1.	Andrew M. Patricio	128.5	x			
257	2.	(Nora Alveraz) Fred Steven, Sr.)	128.5	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1.	Joseph Juan (52.5	x			
105	2.	Julia Carrillo (JoAnn Francisco)	52.5	x			x
SAN XAVIER	1.	Yvonne Corella (Austin Nunez)	63.0		x		
126	2.		63.0	x			
BABOQUIVARI	1.	Edward N. Kisto	120.5	x			
241	2.	() Kenneth Chico, Sr. (Frances Miguel)	120.5	x			
GU ACHI	1.	Angelo Joaquin, Sr.	79.0	x			
158	2.	() Fernando Joaquin ()	79.0	x		•	
PISINEMO	1.	Jerome Antone (Consuela Mendoza)	58.0	x			
116	2.	(Edward Manuel)	58.0	x			
SAN LUCY	1.	John Reno	42.5	x			
85	2.	Max P. Jose (Dewey Ortega)	42.5	x			
GU VO	1.	Virgil Lewis	58.5	x			
117	2.	(Roy Montana) Cross Antone (Fern Salcido)	58.5	x			
HICKIWAN	1.	Henry A. Ramon	64.0			x	
128	2.	(Pablo Baptisto) Lloyd Francisco (Eleanor Santos)	64.0	x			
СНИКИТ КИК	1.	Rosemary Lopez	84.5	x			
169	2.	(Anita C. Clark) Harriet Toro (Marvin J. Thomas)	84.5	x			x
TOTALS		~	1640.0	1513.0	63.0	64.0	02