RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Procedures for Appointment, Approval, and Replacement of Heads of Governmental Departments)

RES. NO. 322-88

WHEREAS, Article VII, Section 2(e) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation states that the Chairman shall exercise the following power:

With the approval of the Tohono O'Odham Council, to appoint the treasurer, and other officers and heads of all governmental departments, who shall serve until replaced at the request of the Chairman; and

whereas, no head of a governmental department has been appointed by the Chairman and approved by the Tohono O'Odham Council as required by Article VII, Section 2(e).

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council that:

1. Under Article VII, Section 2(e), the words "heads of all governmental departments" mean the heads or directors of parts of tribal government to be defined as provided in this resolution:

Kenneth Briggs, Director - Advocate

Eugene Tashquinth Sr., Director - Agriculture
Andrew Patricio, Director - Building & Grounds
Charley Wagner, Director - Credit & Finance
Phyllis Antone, Director - Headstart
Nancy Garcia, Director - Enrollment
Donald Mendez, Jr, Acting Director - Food
Distribution
Mike Flores, Director - Hia Ced O'odham
Ed Hansen, Director - Health
Florence Loucks, Director - Social Services
Albert Johnson, Acting Director - J.T.P.A.

Florence Loucks, Director - Social Services
Albert Johnson, Acting Director - J.T.P.A.
Robert Goodnight, Chief - Law Enforcement
Douglas Ramon, Director - Livestock
Addison Smith, Director - Mining
Leland Conway, Manager - O'Odham Construction
Bernard Siquieros, Director - O'Odham Education
Madeline Flores, Acting Director - O'Odham In
Mexico

Doreen Choyguha, Director - Personnel
Richard Ramirez, Acting Director - Research &
Planning
Luther Hughes, Manager - Property & Supply

Jose Matus, Director - Skill Center Richard Leon, Director - Tribal Garage Erwin Juan, Director - Tribal Herd Marvin Werner, Director - Water Project Daryl Lovvick, Director - Water Resource Margaret Mattias, Director - Well Maintenance George Traviolia, Chief Prosecutor - Justice

2. The Nation finds that persons serving as the "head of a governmental department" without appointment by the Chairman and approval by the Council are serving in an acting capacity and are subject to Article VII, Section 2(e).

RES. NO. 322-88 (Procedures for Appointment, Approval, and Replacement of Heads of Governmental Departments) Page Two (2)

1

2

3

3. The Nation finds that the failure to follow Article VII, Section 2(e) on the Director of Education has seriously affected the working relationship between the Executive and Legislative branches and must be dealt with as soon as possible.

4

5

6

No later than December 5, 1988 the Chairman will submit to the Council, appointments for all directors or heads of departments and the Council will approve or disapprove them, no

7 8 later than December 9, 1988.

9 10

11

12

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the 10th. day of November , 1988 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 924.5 for; 587.5 against; $\frac{128.0}{10}$ not voting; and $\frac{05}{10}$ absent, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section $\frac{1}{10}$ (c)(2) of Article VI and Section (2)(e) of Article VII of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

13 14

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

16

15

) M. Falucio , Legislative Chairperson

17 18

15 day of Nov., 1988.

19

20

ATTEST:

MSa M. Chorguha, Legislative Secretary
the day of Movember, 1988.

22 23

21

24

25

26

Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the 15 day of Nov., 1988, at 3:42 o'clock, M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.

27

28

29

30

31

32

Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

	RES. NO. 322-88 (Procedures for Appointment, Approval, and Replacement of Heads of Governmental Departments) Page Three (3)
1	[] APPROVED) on the 18th day of November, 1988
2	[V] DISAPPROVED) at 7:40 o'clock, A.M.
3	2110.1
4	ENOS J. ERANCISCO, JR., Chairman
5	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
6	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 18th day of
7	Movembor, 1988, at 9:06 o'clock, a, M.
8	
9	Truinda allan for
10	Terèsa M. Choyguha Legislative Secretary
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17 18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	

MOVED:	Tony Felix	SUBJECT: Procedures for appoint

SECOND: Julia Carrillo ment, approval, & Replacement

DATE: November 10, 1988 of Heads of Governmental Depts.

RESOLUTION #322-88

					,	
DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	of votes	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 138.0	1. Nicholas Jose (Letitia Garcia)	69.0		X		X
	Willard Juan, Sr. (Melissa Gregorio)	69.0 	 	X		
SELLS 257.0	1. Andrew Patricio (Daniel Lopez)	128.5	<u> </u>	X		
	2. Fred Stevens (128.5) X	1		
SCHUK TOAK 105.0	1. Julia Carrillo (JoAnn Francisco)	52.5	X			¦
	Joseph Juan (Frances Francisco)	52.5	i x	<u> </u> 		į
SAN XAVIER 126.0	1. Eugene Enis (Michael Rios)	63.0	<u> </u>			<u>x</u>
	Tony Felix (Carmelita Mattias)	63.0	X 	 		į
BABOQUIVARI 241.0	1. Kenneth Chico, Sr.	120.5	X	 		
	Joann Garcia (Frances Miguel)	120.5	 	X 		
GU ACHI 158.0	1. Percy Lopez	79.0		X		X
	2. Fernando Joaquin (79.0		i x		į
PISINEMO 116.0	1. Johnson Jose	58.0	<u> </u>	i —— i		X
	2. Edward Manuel (58.0	x	j 		
SAN LUCY 85.0	1. Max Jose (Dewey Ortega)	42.5		<u> </u>		
	2. John Reno	42.5	x			
GU VO 117.0	1. Virgil Lewis (Roy Montana)	58.5	X			
	2. Cross Antone (Juan Joe Cipriano)	58.5	X			
HICKIWAN 128.0	1. Henry Ramon (Billy Manuel)	64.0			<u>x</u>	
	2. Lloyd Francisco (Eleanor Santos)	64.0			х	!
CHUKUT KUK 169.0	1. Rosita Ruiz (Rosemary Lopez)	84.5	<u>X</u>			
	2. Harriet Toro (84.5	X		** *** ***	X
то	1,640.0	924.5	587.5	128.0	05	
		·'		·	' ·	