RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointment of the Tohono O'Odham Nation's 638 Task Force)

88

	RES. NO. <u>337-88</u>
1	WHEREAS, P. L. 93-638 Indian Self-Determination and Education
2	Assistance Act of 1975 has been amended; and
3	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'Odham Nation has contracted and
4	administered contracts under this legislation since its
5	inception; and
6	WHEREAS, the amendment requires the development of regulations to
7	implement this amended legislation; and
8	WHEREAS, it is important that the Tohono O'Odham Nation
9	participate in this process; and
10	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'Odham Nation does have persons capable of
11	offering expert advice in what should be considered in
12	the regulations.
13	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'Odham
14	Legislative Council does hereby appoint a Core Group of
15	persons as the Tohono O'Odham Nation's 638 Task Force to
16	represent the interest of the Nation in authoring the
17	638 regulations consisting of the following:
18	1. Enos Francisco, Jr., Chairman-Tohono O'Odham Nation
19 20	2. Harriet Toro, Chairperson-Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council
21	3. Hilda Manuel, Chief Judge-Tohono O'Odham Judiciary
22	4. Rosita Ruiz, Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council
23	5. Ed Hansen, Director-Tohono O'odham Health Department
24	6. William Strickland, Tribal Attorney-Tohono O'Odham Nation
25	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Rosita Ruiz is appointed Chairperson
26	of the 638 Task Force.
27	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the duration of the Tohono O'Odham
28	Nation 638 Task Force will be ten (10) months which will
29	be the period at which time the final regulations will
30	be in its final form to be implemented, unless such term
31	is extended by the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council.
}2∐	i i

RES. NO. 337-88 (Appointment of the Tohono O'Odham Nation's 638 Task Force) Page Two (2) 1 The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the 6th. day of December , 1988 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,185.0 for; 296.0 against; 159.0 not voting; and 01 absent, pursuant to the powers vested in the 3 Council by Section 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, 5 pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). 6 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 7 8 9 9th day of December, 1988. 10 11 ATTEST: 12 Teresa M. Choyguha, Legislative Secretary 13 14 9th day of December, 1988. 15 16 Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the day of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the day of the pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the 18 Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of 19 submittal. TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson [V] APPROVED) on the 14th day of December, 1988, [] DISAPPROVED) at 8:11 o'clock, A.M. I Sheencin ENOS J. FRANCISCO, JR., Chairman TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 14th. day of December, 1988, at 8:50 o'clock, a, M. Teresa M. Choyguha Legislative Secretary

20

21

22

23

25

26

27

28

30

31

HOVED. WITTERE DEEM, DI.	MOVED:	Willard Juan, Sr.	SUBJECT: Appointment of th
--------------------------	--------	-------------------	----------------------------

SECOND: Andrew Patricio Tohono O'Odham Nation's 638

DATE: December 06, 1988 Task Force

RESOLUTION #337-88

DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 138.0	 Nicholas Jose (Letitia Garcia) Willard Juan, Sr. (Melissa Gregorio) 	69.0	 X 	X		
SELLS 257.0	1. Andrew Patricio (Daniel Lopez) 2. Fred Stevens ()	128.5	X X X	 		
SCHUK TOAK 105.0	1. Julia Carrillo (JoAnn Francisco) 2. Joseph Juan (Frances Francisco)	52.5	X			
SAN XAVIER 126.0	 Eugene Enis (Michael Rios) Tony Felix (Carmelita Mattias) 	63.0		X		
BABOQUIVARI 241.0	 Kenneth Chico, Sr. () Joann Garcia (Frances Miguel) 	120.5	X X X	 		
GU ACHI 158.0	1. Percy Lopez () 2. Fernando Joaquin ()	79.0	<u> </u>	 	 	
PISINEMO 116.0	1. Johnson Jose () 2. Edward Manuel ()	58.0 58.0 58.0	X	 	X	
SAN LUCY 85.0	1. Max Jose (Dewey Ortega) 2. John Reno ()	42.5	 	 	 	
GU VO 117.0	1. Virgil Lewis (Roy Montana) 2. Cross Antone (Juan Joe Cipriano)	58.5		X X 	x	
HICKIWAN 128.0	1. Henry Ramon (Billy Manuel) 2. Lloyd Francisco (Eleanor Santos)	64.0	X X		 	
CHUKUT KUK 169.0	1. Rosita Ruiz (Rosemary Lopez) 2. Harriet Toro ()	84.5	X			X
то	TAL	1,640.0	1,185.0	296.0	159.0	01