RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Judges Pro Tempore of the Tohono O'odham Courts)

RES. NO. 146-90

1	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council is empowered by Article VIII,
2		Section 4 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation
3	•	to appoint judges of the Tohono O'odham Courts; and
4	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council did, by Ordinance No. $01-89$ ,
5		Chapter II, authorize the appointment of judges pro
6	, so ii	tempore to the Tohono O'odham Courts upon the
7		recommendation of the Chief Judge; and
8	WHEREAS,	the Chief Judge has submitted the names of attorneys
9		qualified pursuant to 2-103 of Ordinance No. $\underline{01-89}$ and
10		recommended their appointment as judges pro tempore of the
11		Tohono O'odham Courts; and
12	WHEREAS,	Resolution No. $107-89$ appointed judges pro tempore for
13		terms of two and one years; and
14	WHEREAS,	three judges pro tempore terms have expired effective May
15		1, 1990; and
16	WHEREAS,	the Chief Judge has submitted the names of three attorneys
17		qualified to fill the current expired terms of judge pro
18		tempore; and
19	WHEREAS,	the Judiciary Committee is charged with the responsibility
20	j2	to review the qualifications of applicants for appointment
21	100	as judges and to make recommendations to the Legislative
22		Council for appointments; and
23	WHEREAS,	the Judiciary Committee has reviewed the qualifications
24		of the applicants submitted by the Chief Judge and finds
25	8-1	them to be qualified by temperament, education and
26	- 1	experience to be appointed as judges pro tempore of the
27		Tohono O'odham Courts, and does recommend their
28		appointments as judges pro tempore.
29	NOW, THE	REFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative
30		Council that it does accept the recommendations of the
31		Judiciary Committee and hereby appoints the following
32		named persons as judges pro tempore of the Tohono O'odham

	RES. NO. 146-90 (Appointing Judges Pro Tempore of the Tohono O'odham Courts) Page Two (2)
1	Courts, for terms set forth next to their respective
2	names, to wit:
3	John Tully 2 year(s)
4	Robert Alan Hershey 2 year(s)
5	Larry Kee Yazzie2 year(s)
6	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the appointments of the foregoing named
7	persons shall become effective on May 1, 1990.
8	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the 9th. day of May, 1990 at a meeting at which a quorum was
9	present with a vote of 1,483.0 for; 184.0 against; 57.0 not voting; 06 absent, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section
10	4 of Article VIII of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986,
11	and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of
12	the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
13	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
14	Vingil Alex
15	Edward D. Manuel, Legislative Chairman
16	
17	ATTEST:
18	Veresa N. Chongola
19	Teresa M. Choygana, Legislative Secretary
20	
21	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the
22	Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the
23	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the
24	his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.
25	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
26	1)
27	ForEdward D. Manuel, Legislative Chairman
28	[ /] APPROVED ) on the 16 day of May , 1990,
29	[ ] DISAPPROVED) at 11:56 o'clock, A.M.
30	111
31	angle forgerests
32	ANGELO J. JOAQUIN, SR., Chairman TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

	RES. NO. <u>146-90</u> (Appointing Judges Pro Tempore of the Tohono O'odham Courts) Page Three (3)
1	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of
	May, $19 QD$ , at $12.02$ o'clock, $P.M$ .
2	, 19 40, at 12.02 0 clock, 4.14.
3	
4	Turinda allen for
5	Teresa M. Choyguha Legislative Secretary
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	

MOVED:	Rosita Ruiz	SUBJECT:	Appointing Judges Pro Tempore
SECOND:_	Earl Francisco	of the	Tohono O'odham Courts
DATE:	May 9. 1990		

RESOLUTION NO. 146-90

DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	# of votes	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 229.0	1. Earl A. Francisco (Kenneth Chico, Sr.)	114.5	х			
	2. Joann Garcia (Frances Miguel)	114.5	Х	i i		
CHUKUT KUK	1. Rosita Ruiz (Rosemary Lopez)	81.5	х			
	2. Kenneth G. Williams (Harriet Toro)	81.5	x			
GU ACHI 166.0	1. Percy Lopez	83.0	х			
	2. Alex J. Ramon (Fernando Joaquin)	83.0	Х			
GU VO 114.0	1. Cross Antone (Juan Joe Cipriano)	57.0			Х	
	2. Virgil Lewis (Michael Flores)	57.0		Х		
HICKIWAN 125.0	1. Lloyd Francisco (Billy C. Manuel) 2. Lenora Montana ( )	62.5	Х			
123.0		62.5	х			
PISINEMO 119.0	1. Johnson Jose	59.5	х		A COLOR OF THE STATE OF THE STA	
119.0	2. Edward Manuel (Alex Antone)	59.5	х			х
SAN LUCY 106.0	1. Albert Manuel, Jr. (Max P. Jose) 2. John Reno ( )	53.0	х			
10010		53.0	Х	5	-	х
SAN XAVIER 127.0	1. Eugene Enis. Sr. (Michael Rios)	63.5		х		
12/10	2. Joanne C. Preston (Carmelita Mattias)	63.5		х		x
SCHUK TOAK	<ol> <li>JoAnn Francisco</li> <li>(David Valenzuela Sr.)</li> <li>Joseph Juan</li> <li>(Frances Francisco)</li> </ol>	53.5	Х	,		
20700		53.5	Х			х
SELLS 310.0	1. Joseph T. Joaquin (Larry Garcia)	155.0	х			
310.0	2. Andrew Patricio (Daniel Lopez)	155.0	х			х
SIF OIDAK 158.0	1. Mary Ann Antone (Nina Jose)	79.0	х			х
130.0	2. Willard Juan, Sr. (Melissa Gregorio)	79.0	х		-	
	TOTAL	1,724.0	1,483.0	184.0	57.0	06