RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointment of Housing Commissioners)

RES. NO. 280-90

- 1		
1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Executive Branch and the Legislative
2		Council, in a joint solicitation on April 16, 1990, did
3		request Districts of the Nation to recommend individuals
4		for consideration for appointment to the Board of
5		Commissioners for the Tohono O'odham Housing Authority;
6		and
7	WHEREAS,	three of the Nation's Districts, specifically, the Chukut
8		Kuk, Gu Achi and Sells District did submit the following

Chukut Kuk District: Ms. Harriet Toro

Gu Achi District: Mr. Joe Cruz Ms. Ida Pablo

Sells District: Ms. Lucille Encinas

Mr. Norbert Manuel Ms. Elizabeth Juan

Mr. George Ignacio, Sr.

WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council's Housing Committee, subsequent to review of the Districts' recommendations, has recommended that the following be appointed to the Board:

Ms. Lucille Encinas

Mr. Norbert Manuel

Ms. Elizabeth Juan

Mr. Joe Cruz

names for consideration:

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

Ms. Ida Pablo

WHEREAS, it is in the best interest of the Nation that appointments for the Board of Commissioners be made as soon as possible; and

WHEREAS, Article IV, Section 4 (b) of the October 26, 1962,

"Ordinance Amending Ordinance Establishing the Housing
Authority," provides four (4) year staggered terms and
further provides that, "... one member's term shall be
designated to expire in one year, another to expire in two
years, and a third to expire in three years and the last
two in four years ..."

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council does appoint the following to serve as the Board

RES. NO. 280-90 (Appointment of Housing Commissioners) Page Two (2) of Commissioners for the Tohono O'odham Housing Authority: Ms. Lucille Encinas Mr. Norbert Manuel Ms. Elizabeth Juan Mr. Joe Cruz Ms. Ida Pablo BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the terms of offices of the appointees shall be as follows: Ida Pablo One-year Term: Two-year Term: Elizabeth Juan Three-year Term: Norbert Manuel Four-year Term: Lucille Encinas Four-year Term: Joe Cruz The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the 9th. day of August, 1990 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,111.5 for; 373.5 against; 239.0 not voting; 01 absent, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Edward D. Manuel, Legislative Chairman 4 day of ATTEST: Teresa M. Choyguha, Legislative Secretary MYN day of HUMINST Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the 1400 Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the _ day of pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Edward D. Manuel, Legislative Chairman

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

28

29

30

31

32

	RES. NO. <u>280-90</u> (Appointment of Housing Commissioners) Page Three (3)
1	[] APPROVED) on the 15th day of August , 1950
2	[] DISAPPROVED) at //29 o'clock, / .M.
3	100,-1
4	ANGELO J. JOAQUIN, SR., Chairman
5	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
6	
7	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of
8	August , 19 90 , at/:54 o'clock ,M.
9	
10	Teresa M. Choyguha Logislative Secretary
11	Legislative Secretary
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22 23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	

MOVED:	JoAnn Francisco	SUBJECT: Appointment of Housing	
SECOND:_	Andrew Patricio	Commissioners	11
DATE:	August 09, 1990		

RESOLUTION NO. 280-90

DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 229.0	1. Earl A. Francisco (Kenneth Chico, Sr.) 2. Joann Garcia	114.5	x x			
	(Frances Miguel)			-		
CHUKUT KUK 163.0	 Rosita Ruiz (Rosemary Lopez) Kenneth G. Williams 	81.5 81.5	Х	x		
	(Harriet Toro)	01.0				
GU ACHI 166.0	1. Percy Lopez	83.0	х			х
	2. Alex J. Ramon (Fernando Joaquin)	83.0	Х			
GU VO 114.0	1. Cross Antone (Juan Joe Cipriano)	57.0			X	
114.0	2. Virgil Lewis (Michael Flores)	57.0			х	
HICKIWAN 125.0	1. Lloyd Francisco (Billy C. Manuel)	62.5			х	
125.0	2. Lenora Montana ()	62.5	Х			
PISINEMO 119.0	1. Johnson Jose	59.5	Х			
119.0	2. Edward Manuel (Alex Antone)	59.5	Х			
SAN LUCY 106.0	1. Albert Manuel, Jr. (Max P. Jose)	53.0		х		
100.0	2. John Reno	53.0		X		
SAN XAVIER	1. Eugene Enis. Sr. (Michael Rios)	63.5	Х	₹		
127.0	2. Joanne C. Preston (Carmelita Mattias)	63.5	Х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. JoAnn Francisco (David Valenzuela Sr.)	53.5	X			
107.0	2. Joseph Juan (Frances Francisco)	53.5	400	Х		
SELLS	1. Joseph T. Joaquin (Larry Garcia)	155.0	Х			
310.0	2. Andrew Patricio (Daniel Lopez)	155.0	х			
SIF OIDAK 158.0	1. Mary Ann Antone (Nina Jose)	79.0		х		
130.0	2. Willard Juan, Sr. (Melissa Gregorio)	79.0	х			
	TOTAL	1,724.0	1,111.5	373.5	239.0	01