RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Judges Pro Tempore of the Tohono O'Odham Courts)

1		RES. NO. <u>91-145</u>
2	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council is empowered by Article VIII,
3		Section 4 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation
4		to appoint judges of the Tohono O'Odham Courts; and
5	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council did, by Ordinance No. 01-89,
6		Chapter II, authorize the appointment of judges pro
7		tempore to the Tohono O'Odham Courts upon the
8		recommendation of the Chief Judge; and
9	WHEREAS,	the Chief Judge has submitted the names of attorneys
10	1	qualified pursuant to 2-103 of Ordinance No. 01-89 and
11		recommended their appointment as judges pro tempore of the
12		Tohono O'Odham Courts; and
13	WHEREAS,	Resolution No. 107-89 appointed judges pro tempore for
14		terms of two and one years; and
15	WHEREAS,	four judges pro tempore terms will expire effective May
16		1, 1991; and
17	WHEREAS,	the Chief Judge has submitted the names of four attorneys
18		qualified to fill the current expired terms of judge pro
19		tempore; and
20	WHEREAS,	the Judiciary Committee has met with the Chief Judge and
21		discussed the qualifications of the individuals who are
22		being recommended for appointment as judges pro tempore;
23		and
24	WHEREAS,	the Judiciary Committee has determined that the persons
25		recommended are of good moral character, residents of the
26		State of Arizona for not less than five years, and are
27		admitted to the practice of law for not less than three
28		years; and
11		

RES. NO. 91-145 (Appointing Judges Pro Tempore of the Tohono O'Odham Courts) Page (2) 1 Judiciary WHEREAS, the Committee does concur with the 2 recommendations of the Chief Judge and recommends to the 3 full Legislative Council these appointments of judges pro 4 tempore for the Judicial Branch of this Nation. 5 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'Odham Legislative 6 Council that it does accept the recommendation of the 7 Chief Judge and in accordance with Judicial Branch Rules 8 and Procedures formally adopted by this Legislative 9 Council by Ordinance 01-89, hereby appoints the following 10 named persons as judges pro tempore of the Tohono O'Odham 11 Judicial Branch, for terms set forth next to their 12 respective names, to wit: 13 Violet Po Lui Frank $2_$ year(s) 14 Gary L. Thomas <u>2</u> year(s) 15 Steve M. Titla 2 year(s) 16 Robert A. Williams, Jr. <u>2</u> year(s) BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the appointments of the foregoing named 17 persons shall become effective on May 1, 1991 18 The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council 19 on the 19th. day of April, 1991 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 993.5 for; 344.5 against; 114.0 not 20 voting; <u>272.0 [10]</u> absent, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by <u>Section 4</u> of <u>Article VIII</u> of the Constitution of the 21 Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant 22 Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). 23 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 24 25 ma Edward D. Manuel, Legislative Chairman 26 day of ______, 19_(_. 27 28

RES. NO. 91-145 (Appointing Judges Pro Tempore of the Tohono O'Odham Courts) Page (3) 1 ATTEST: 2 3 Teresa M. Choyguna, Legislative Secretary 4 day of _ april ____, 19 21. 5 6 Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the _______ day of 7 , 19 9/ , at ______ Anril o'clock, P.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the 8 Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of 9 submittal. 10 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 11 any 12 Edward D. Manuel, Legislative Chairman 13 APPROVED) on the 29th day of Uprul, 1991, 14] DISAPPROVED) at 8:34 o'clock, A.M. E 15 16 ANGELO J. JOAQUIN, SR., Chairman 17 TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION 18 Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 29 day of 19 _____, 19<u>9</u>, at <u>9:09</u> o'clock, <u>4</u>.M. 20 21 Plen -22 Teresa M. Choyguha Legislative Secretary 23 24 25 26 27 28

NOVED: COUNCILMAN JOSEPH JUAN SUBJECT: APPOINTING JUDGES PRO TEMPORE OF THE

SECOND: COUNCILNOMAN JOANN GARCIA

DATE: APRIL 19, 1991

TOHONO O'ODHAN COURTS

DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	of votes	FOR	λGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 229.0	1. Earl A. Francisco (Kenneth Chico)	114.5	X			
	2. Joann Garcia (Frances Niguel)	114.5	X			
CHUKOT KUK	1. Rosita Ruiz (Rosemary Lopez)	81.5	X			
	2. Kenneth Williams (Harriet Toro)	81.5	X			X
JU ACHI L66.0	1. Percy Lopez	83.0				X
	2. Àlex Ramon (Fernando Joaquin)	83.0				X
GU VO 114.0	1. Cross Antone (Juan Joe Cipriano)	57.0			X	
	2. Virgil Lewis (Michael Flores)	57.0		:	X	X
HICKIWAN 125.0	1. Lloyd Francisco (Billy C. Manuel)	62.5	X			
	2. Lenora Montana ()	62.5	X	1		X
PISINENO 119.0	1. Johnson Jose	59.5		X	1	
119.0	2. Edward Manuel (λlex Antone)	59.5	X			
SAN LUCY 106.0	1. Albert Manuel, Jr. (Max P. Jose)	53.0				X
	2. John Reno ()	53.0				X
SAN XAVIER L27.0	1. Rugene Enis, Sr. (Nichael Rios)	63.5		X		X
	2. Joanne C. Preston (Carmelita Mattias)	63.5		X		
SCHUK TOAK	1. Johnn Francisco (David Valenzuela,Sr)	53.5	X			X
	2. Joseph Juan (Frances Francisco)	53,5	X			
SELLS B10.0	1. Joseph T. Joaquin (Larry Garcia)	155.0	X			
	2. Andrew Patricio (Daniel Lopez)	155.0	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. Mary Ann Antone (Nina Jose)	79.0		X		X
	2. Willard Juan, Sr. (Melissa Gregorio)	79.0		X		
	TOTAL	1,724.0	993.5	344.5	114.0	272.0 [10]

**PASSED VOTES