RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Reappointment of Negotiating Committee for Tribal State Compact - Gaming Activities)

1

RES. NO. <u>91-346</u>

-		RES. NO. $31-340$						
2	WHEREAS,	by Resolution No. <u>260-89</u> , the Tohono O'odham Legislative						
3		Council appointed a Negotiating Committee consisting of:						
4		(1) The Legislative Commerce Committee; (2) Angelo						
5		Joaquin, Sr., Chairman, Tohono O'odham Nation; (3) Edward						
6		Manuel, Chairman, Tohono O'odham Legislative Council; and						
7		(4) Austin Nunez, Chairman, San Xavier District, for the						
8		purpose of negotiating a tribal-state compact with the						
9		State of Arizona for the conduct of Class III gaming on						
10		the Reservation as authorized by the Indian Gaming						
11		Regulatory Act, 25 U.S.C. §2701 <u>et</u> seg.; and						
12	WHEREAS,	certain persons named to the Negotiating Committee no						
13		longer hold elected offices of the Tohono O'odham Nation						
14		it is therefore necessary to reappoint membership to the						
15		Negotiating Committee.						
16	16 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative							
17		Council does hereby select and appoint those officials of						
18		the Nation holding the following elected offices (now or						
19		in the future) to be members of the Nation's Negotiating						
20		Committee for the purpose of negotiating a tribal-state						
21		compact with the State of Arizona for the operation of						
22		Class III gaming activities within the Tohono O'odham						
23		Nation as authorized by the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act,						
24		25 U.S.C. §2701 <u>et seg</u> .:						
25		1. Legislative Commerce Committee						
26		2. Chairperson of the Tohono O'odham Nation						
11		3 Chairmanson of the Mehone Olethan Yandalatic and the						
27		 Chairperson of the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council Chairperson of the San Xavier District. 						

RES. NO. 91-346 (Reappointment of Negotiating Committee for Tribal State Compact -Gaming Activities) Page (2) 1 2 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Chairperson of the Legislative 3 Commerce Committee is reappointed as Chairperson of 4 this Negotiating Committee. 5 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the terms and conditions of any tribal-6 state compact negotiated with the State of Arizona by 7 the Negotiating Committee shall not become effective 8 or binding upon the Nation until such compact has been 9 approved by the Nation and notice of approval by the 10 Secretary of the Interior of such compact has been 11 published by the Secretary in the Federal Register. 12 The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the 8th day of August, 1991 at a meeting at which a quorum was 13 present with a vote of 1,724.0 for; -0- against; -0- not voting; 06 absent, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (b) & (f) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham 14 Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian 15 Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of 16 the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). 17 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 18 19 Mary Ann Antone, Legislative Chairwoman 12 day of August, 1991. 20 21 ATTEST: 22 1. Chor Teresa M. Choyguna, Legislative Secretary 23 12 day of august , 19 91. 24 25 Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the 12 day of August , 19 9(, at 5:20 o'clock, f.M., 26 pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon 27 his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of 28 submittal.

NOVED: COUNCILWONAN JOANNE PRESTON

SUBJECT: REAPPOINTMENT OF NEGOTIATING COMMITTEE FOR

SECOND: COUNCILMAN EARL A. FRANCISCO

DATE: AUGUST 8, 1991

TRIBAL STATE COMPACT - GANING ACTIVITIES

DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	of votes	FOR	λGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 229.0	1. Earl A. Francisco (Kenneth Chico)	114.5	X			
	2. Frances Miguel ()	114.5	X		i	X
CHUKUT KUK 163.0	1. Kenneth Williams (Harriet Toro)	81.5	X			
	2. Alberta Lopez (Berdella Jose)	81.5	X			X
GU ACHI 166.0	 Alex Ramon (Fernando Joaquin) Willard Anita (Jonas Robles) 	83.0	X			
		83.0	X			
GU VO 114.0	1. Virgil Lewis (Nichael Flores)	57.0	X			
	2. Emilio Lewis (Anthony Flores)	57.0	X			
HICKIWAN 125.0	1. Lloyd Francisco (Billy C. Manuel)	62.5	X			
	2. Manuel Osequeda, Jr. ()	62.5	X			
PISINENO 119.0	1. Johnson Jose	59.5	X			
	2. Chester Antone (Fernando Valentine)	59.5	X		1	X
SAN LUCY 106.0	1. Albert Manuel, Jr. (Max P. Jose)	53.0	X			X
	2. John Reno ()	53.0	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. Joanne C. Preston (Carmelita Mattias)	63.5	X			
	2. Rugene Enis, Sr. (Wichael R. Rios)	63.5	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. Johnn Francisco (David Valenzuela,Sr)	53.5	X			
	2. Frances Francisco (Joseph Juan)	53.5	X			
SELLS B10.0	 Joseph T. Joaquin (Larry Garcia) Andrew Patricio (Lucille Encinas) 	155.0	X			X
		155.0	X			
SIF OIDAK 58.0	1. Nary Ann Antone (Nina Jose)	79.0	X			X
	2. Willard Juan, Sr. (Delbert Thomas)	79.0	X			
	TOTAL	1,724.0	1,724.0	-0-	-0-	06

**PASSED VOTES