ļ		
	RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Submitting Nominations to the National Review Committee Pursuant to P.L. 101-601	
1	The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act)	
2	RES. NO. <u>91-</u>	<u>-395</u>
3	WHEREAS, the U.S. Congress enacted P.L. 101-601 the Native American G	iraves
4 5	Protection and Repatriation Act (the Act) to provide for the prote	action
6	of Native American graves and for repatriation of Native Ame	ərican
7	human remains and objects; and	
8	WHEREAS, Section 8 of the Act provides for the establishment of a Re	
9 10	Committee with the membership consisting of seven (7) mem	
10 11	three (3) of whom shall be nominated by the Indian tribes, thre	¥8 (3)
11	of whom shall be nominated by national museum organizations	s and
13	scientific organizations, and one (1) who shall be chosen from	a list
14	of nominees developed and consented to by the appointed comm	ıittee
15	members; and	
1	WHEREAS, the Cultural Preservation Committee (the Committee) is the Legisla	lative
17	oversight committee concerning cultural issues; and	
18 19	WHEREAS, the Committee recommends the nominations of the follow	wing
19 20	individuals based on their qualifications and knowledge of Na	ative
21	American customs and traditions and cultural issues to serve or	n the
22	Review Committee, namely:	
2 3	Louise Havier Tohono O'odham	
24 25	Joseph T. Joaquin Tohono O'odham	
25 26	Cecil Antone Gila River O'odham	
	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative	
28	Council that:	
12		I

	RES. NO. <u>91-395</u> (Submitting Nominations to the National Review Committee Pursuant to P.L. 101-601								
1	The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act)								
2	Page (2)								
3	1) it does hereby accept the recommendations of the Cultural								
4	Preservation Committee that the following individuals possess the								
5	necessary qualifications and knowledge of Native American								
6 7	cultural issues and are capable of serving as members of the								
8									
9	Review Committee to be established pursuant to P.L. 101-601,								
10	namely:								
11	Louise Havier Tohono O'odham								
12	Joseph T. Joaquin Tohono O'odham								
13	Cecil Antone Gila River O'odham								
14	2) the Chairman of the Cultural Preservation Committee and the								
15	Chairman of the Nation are hereby authorized to submit these								
16	nominations to the Secretary of Interior pursuant to the Act.								
17									
18	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council on the <u>13th.</u> day of <u>September</u> , <u>1991</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was presented								
19	with a vote of <u>1,724.0</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>05</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section <u>1 (c)(8)</u> of Article VI of the								
20	Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation								
21 22	on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18,								
22 23	1934 (48 Stat. 984).								
24	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
25									
26	Mary Ann Antone, Legislative Chairwoman								
27	16th day of Aptimum, 1991								
28	day or <u></u> , 19_//								

RES. NO. 91-395 (Submitting Nominations to the National Review Committee Pursuant to P.L. 101-601 The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act) 1 Page (3) 2 3 ATTEST: 4 5 Teresa M. Choyguha, Legislative Secretary 6 16th day of September 1991. 7 8 Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the 16th day of Juptimum, 1991, at 9 3:58 o'clock, 🖉 .M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII 10 of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. 11 12 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 13 14 lawy linn lin Mary Ann Antone, Legislative Chairwoman 15 16 IXI APPROVED on the 16 day of Systember 1991 17 18 [] DISAPPROVED) at <u>4!39</u> o'clock, <u>P-</u>.M. 19 20 JOSIAH MOÒRE, Chairman 21 TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION 22 23 Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 17th. day of September 24 19 o'clock, <u>H</u>.M. 25 26 27 Teresa M. Choyguha, Legislative Secretary 28

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN JOANNE PRESTON SUBJECT: SUBMITTING NOMINATIONS TO THE NATIONAL

SECOND: COUNCILMAN WILLARD JUAN, SR.

REVIEW COMMITTEE, PURSUANT TO PL 101-601, THE NATIVE

DATE: SEPTEMBER 13, 1991

AMER. GRAVES PROTECTION & REPATRIATION ACT

DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 229.0	1. Earl A. Francisco (Kenneth Chico Sr.)	114.5	x			
	2. Frances Miguel ()	114.5	X			x
CHUKUT KUK 163.0	1. Kenneth Williams (Harriet Toro)	81.5	x			
	2. Alberta M. Lopez (Berdella Jose)	81.5	X			
GU ACHI 166.0	1. Alex Ramon (Fernando Joaquin)	83.0	x			x
	2. Willard Anita ()	83.0	X	I		
GU VO 114.0	1. Virgil Lewis (Michael Flores)	57.0	x			
	2. Emilio Lewis (Anthony Flores)	57.0	x			
HICKIWAN 125.0	1. Lloyd Francisco (Billy C. Manuel)	62.5	x			
	2. Manuel Osequeda Jr. ()	62.5	x			x
PISINEMO 119.0	1. Johnson Jose	59.5	x			
	2. Chester Antone (Fernando Valentine)	59.5	x	-		
SAN LUCY	1. Albert Manuel Jr. (Max P. Jose)	53.0	x			
	2. John Reno ()	53.0	x			x
SAN XAVIER	1. Joanne C. Preston (Carmelita Mattias)	63.5	x			
	2. Eugene Enis, Sr. (Michael R. Rios)	63.5	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. JoAnn Francisco (David Valenzuela Sr.)	53.5	x			
	2. Frances Francisco (Joseph Juan)	53.5	x			х
SELLS ** 310.0	1. Joseph T. Joaquin (Larry Garcia)	155.0	x			
	2. Andrew Patricio (Lucille Encinas)	155.0	x			
SIF OIDAK	1. Mary Ann Antone (Nina Jose)	79.0	x			
	2. Willard Juan, Sr. (Delbert Thomas)	79.0	x			
	TOTAL	1,724.0	1,724.0	-0-	-0-	05