	(Nom	ION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL inating Persons to Serve as a Member and Alternate to the
1	EPA	Border Environmental Plan Public Advisory Committee)
2		DEFEATED
3		RES. NO. <u>92-414</u>
4	WHEREAS,	the Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
5		("EPA") has established an EPA Border Environmental Plan
7		Public Advisory Committee (the "Advisory Committee") pursuant
8		to a Charter, a copy of which is attached hereto; and
9	WHEREAS,	the Advisory Committee was established to fulfill various
11		objectives, including development of recommendations on EPA's
12		Integrated Environmental Plan for the Mexican-U.S. Border Area
13 14		(1992-1994) and providing other advice and recommendations to
15		the EPA regarding environmental issues along the Mexican-U.S.
16		border; and
17 18	WHEREAS,	the Committee will consist of up to 30 members appointed from
19		constituencies with direct interests in such issues; and
20	WHEREAS,	one of the member seats is set aside for a representative from an
21 22		Indian nation; and
23	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation has been asked by the Offices of
24		Senator McCain and Congressman Kolbe to nominate a person for
25		appointment as a member of the Advisory Committee; and
26   27	WHEREAS,	the Nation has substantial and direct interests in environmental
28		matters along the border it shares with Mexico; and

DEFEATED RESOLUTION NO. 92-414 (Nominating Persons to Serve as a Member and Alternate to the EPA Border Environmental Plan Public Advisory Committee) 2 Page 2 3 WHEREAS, it is in the best interests of the Nation to nominate persons as a 4 member and alternate to the Advisory Committee. 5 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT: 6 The Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby nominates 7 1. 8 Alberta Lopez for appointment as a member of the Advisory 9 Committee, and further nominates Katherine Norris to serve 10 as the Nation's alternate and to attend Committee meetings 11 when the member is unable to do so. 12 13 2. Josiah Moore, Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation is 14 hereby authorized and directed to inform the Offices of 15 Senator McCain and Congressman Kolbe of the foregoing 16 nominations. 17 The foregoing Resolution was presented to the Tohono O'Odham Council on the 18 29TH day of September, at a meeting at which a quorum was present, and by 19 a vote of 511.5 FOR; 973.5 AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; AND 239.0 [09] ABSENT, failed to pass because it did not receive a majority of the votes cast as 20 required by Section 2 of Article V of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham 21 Nation. 22 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 23 24 lary Ann Antone, Legislative Chairwoman 25 26 ATTEST: 27

Teresa M. Choyguha, Legislative Secretary

28

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL SUBJECT: NOMINATING PERSONS TO SERVE AS A MEMBER

SECOND: COUNCILMAN EARL A. FRANCISCO AND ALTERNATE TO THE EPA BORDER ENVIRONMENTAL PLAN

DATE: SEPTEMBER 29, 1992 PUBLIC ADVISORY COMMITTEE [D E F E A T E D]

DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK	1. Kenneth Williams (Harriet Toro)	81.5	Х			х
	2. Alberta M. Lopez (Berdella Jose)	81.5	X			
HICKIWAN 125.0	<ol> <li>Lloyd Francisco (Billy C. Manuel)</li> </ol>	62.5				х
	2. Manuel Osequeda, Jr. ( )	62.5				х
GU VO 114.0	1. Michael Flores	57.0				х
	<ol><li>Emilio Lewis (Anthony Flores)</li></ol>	57.0				х
SAN LUCY 106.0	1. Albert Manuel, Jr. (Max P. Jose)	53.0		х		
	2. John Reno ( )	53.0		х		х
PISINEMO 119.0	1. Johnson Jose	59.5		х		
113.0	2. Chester Antone (Fernando Valentine)	59.5		х		
GU ACHI 166.0	1. Alex Ramon (Fernando Joaquin)	83.0		х		
100.0	2. Willard Anita ( )	83.0		х		Х
BABOQUIVARI 229.0	1. Earl A. Francisco (Kenneth Chico, Sr.)	114.5	х			
7	2. Frances Miguel ( )	114.5		Х		
SAN XAVIER 127.0	1. Joanne C. Preston** (Carmelita Mattias)	63.5	х			
127.0	2. Eugene Enis, Sr. (Michael R. Rios)	63.5	х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. JoAnn Francisco (David Valenzuela Sr.)	53.5	х			
10,10	2. Frances Francisco (Joseph Juan)	53.5	х			
SELLS 310.0	1. Joseph T. Joaquin (Larry Garcia)	155.0		х		
310.0	2. Andrew Patricio (Lucille Encinas)	155.0		х		х
SIF OIDAK 158.0	1. Mary Ann Antone (Nina Jose)	79.0		х		х
	2. Willard Juan, Sr. (Delbert Thomas)	79.0	1)	Х		
	TOTAL	1,724.0	511.5	973.5	-0-	239.0 [09

<sup>\*\*</sup>PASSED VOTES