## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Appointing three (3) members to the TERO Board of Commissioners)

1	\ 11	6
1		
2		RESOLUTION NO. <u>96-484</u>
3 4	WHEREAS,	pursuant to TERO Ordinance No. 01-85, there is created a Tribal
5 6		Employment Rights (TERO) Commission; and
7	WHEREAS,	the TERO Ordinance provides that the Commission shall be composed
8		of five (5) members; and
9		of five (3) members, and
10	WHEREAS,	there currently exists on the TERO Board of Commissioners three
11		
12		vacancies with staggered terms; and
13	WHEREAS,	by public notices from the TERO Director the three vacancies were
14		
15		announced and the eleven districts were notified to submit nominees
16		for consideration; and
17		
18	WHEREAS,	at the Legislative General Session in September, 1996, the Judiciary
19		Committee, having oversight, did submit the names of Phillip Antone,
20		Committee, naving oversight, and submit the names of 1 mmp Antone,
21		Chester Delgado, and Francisco Jose, Jr. and recommended
22		
23		certification of these individuals to the TERO Board of
24		Commissioners; and
25	WILLDERAG	
26	WHEKEAS,	Phillip Antone, Chester Delgado, and Francisco Jose, Jr. were
27		appointed on an Interim basis by Chairman Edward D. Manuel in

28

	RESOLUTIO	)N NO. <u>96-4</u>	<u>84</u>	
	(Appointing	three (3) r	nembers to the TERO Bo	oard of Commissioners)
1	Page 2 of 5			
2				
3		accordance	to TERO Ordinance No.	01-85; and
4				
5	WHEREAS,	the Legisla	tive Council did not acc	ept the recommendation of the
6		Indiciary (	Committee; and	
7		Judiciary C	dominities, and	
8	WHEREAS,	the Legisla	tive Council directed the	Judiciary Committee to publicly
9			.1 .1 (9)	II .I. 1
10		announce	the three (3) vacancies to	all the districts; and
11	WHEREAS,	the Legisla	tive Council is now open	ing the floor for nominees from
12		anno ser		
13		the eleven	districts; and	
14	WHEREAS.	the Legisla	tive Council, by a standa	ard election process, did vote on
15	W IIII	une negisia	or country by a standar	process, and vote on
16		the numbe	r of candidates with a pro	ocess of elimination, now submits
17		the fellowi	na condidetes es the neces	mmandad mambana ta tha TEDO
18		the lollowing	ng candidates as the recoi	mmended members to the TERO
19		Board of C	ommissioners.	
20				
21	NOW, THE	REFORE, B	E IT RESOLVED that the	ne Tohono O'odham Legislative
22		Council do	es annoint the following	individuals to serve as members
		council do	es appoint the following	murriduals to serve as members
23		on the TE	RO Board of Commissione	ers:
24			N.	D
25			Name	District
26		1.	Damascus Francisco	Gu Achi District
27		2.	Chester Delgado	Pisinemo District
28		3.	Francisco Jose, Jr.	Schuk Toak District
- 1	I .			

## RESOLUTION NO. 96-484

(Appointing three (3) members to the TERO Board of Commissioners)
Page 3 of 5

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council does set the Terms of Office for the TERO Board of Commissioners, as follows:

 Term
 Appointment Date
 Expires

 Two (2) years
 10/96
 12/98

 Two (2) years
 10/96
 12/98

 One (1) year
 10/96
 12/97

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council does

hereby appoint the following individuals with appropriate terms of office as follows:

	Name	Term of Office
1.	Damascus Francisco	Two (2) years
2.	Chester Delgado	Two (2) years
3.	Francisco Jose, Jr.	One (1) year

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'Odham Council on the <u>8TH.</u> day of <u>OCTOBER</u>, <u>1996</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote <u>1,500.5</u> FOR; <u>375.5</u> AGAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[07]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section 1(b), of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

	<b>RESOLUTION NO. <u>96-484</u></b>
	(Appointing three (3) members to the TERO Board of Commissioners)
1	Page 4 of 5
2	
3	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
4	
5	X 1/_
6	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
7	
8	9th day of October, 19 %
9	
10	
11	ATTEST:
12	
13	Francis Antine
14	Frances Antone, Legislative Secretary
15	9th day of October, 1996
16	day of <u>Coroso</u> , 19 <u>76</u>
17	
18	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the
19	Tohono O'Odham Nation on the 9th day of Ottober, 1996 at 1:50 o'clock, P.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of
20	the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure
21	to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.
22	
23	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
24	
25	Den Klen
26	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
27	

	RESOLUTION NO. 96-484				
1	(Appointing three (3) members to the TERO Board of Commissioners)				
2	Page 5 of 5				
3	[X] APPROVED on the 10 day of October, 1986				
4	10.70				
5	[ ] DISAPPROVED at \( \frac{12.30}{2.30}\) o'clock, \( \frac{\mathcal{P}}{2.00}\).M.				
6	an Mr R				
7	(flead Ille)				
8	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman				
9	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION				
10					
11					
12	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on theday of				
13	day of				
14	Cotober, 19 %, at 8:20 o'clock, 4.M.				
15	Julianne Sarafra				
16	Frances Antone, Legislative Secretary				
17					
18					
19					
20					
21					
22					
23					
24					
25					
26					
27					
28					

## RESOLUTION NO. 96-484

**ACTION:** 

APPOINTING THREE (3) MEMBERS TO THE TERO BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

MOVED:

COUNCILMAN TONY BURRELL

SECOND: COUNCILMAN DAVID GARCIA

DATE:

OCTOBER 8, 1996

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 160.0	1. MARY ANN ANTONE (Nellie Miguel)	80.0	X			X
	2. RITA MARTINEZ (Maxine Norris)	80.0	x			*
SELLS 314.0	1. JOSEPH T. JOAQUIN (Allen W. Garcia, Jr.)	157.0	Х	-47		
	LUCILLE ENCINAS     (Cynthia Chico)	157.0	X		l e	x
SCHUK TOAK 117.0	1. KENNETH J. ANTONE	58.5	Х			
117.0	2. JOSEPH JUAN ( )	58.5	and the second	X		
SAN XAVIER 142.0	1. DENNIS RAMON ( )	71.0	X			X
112.0	2. TONY BURRELL ( )	71.0	X			
BABOQUIVARI 257.0	EDWARD KISTO     ( Idella Stanley)	128.5	X			
237.0	2. FRANCES MIGUEL (Kenneth Chico, Sr.)	128.5	x			X
<b>GU ACHI</b> 187.0	WILLARD ANITA     (Louis Johnson)	93.5	X			. 07 (42-129)
167.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON** (Marian Johnson)	93.5	X			
PISINEMO 135.0	JOHNSON JOSE     (Roseleen Antone)	67.5	X			
133.0	2. BARBARA SALVICIO ( )	67.5	X			X
SAN LUCY 105.0	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR.	52.5	Х	*		X
105.0	2. JOHN RENO (Mary Hoffman)	52.5	X			
GU VO 134.0	GLORIA MONTANA     (     )	67.0		X		
154.0	2. FERN SALCIDO (Larry Montana)	67.0		X		
HICKIWAN 142.0	LLOYD FRANCISCO     ( )	71.0	Х			
142.0	2. ÀLEX JOSE (	71.0	X			
CHUKUT KUK 183.0	KENNETH WILLIAMS     ( )	91.5		X		X
105.0	2. DAVID GARCIA (Marvin Thomas )	91.5		X		64
	TOTAL	1,876.0	1,500.5	375.5	-0-	[07]