## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Certifying May 24, 1997 General Election)

1 2

RESOLUTION NO. 97-186

3

5

6

and

WHEREAS. the Tohono O'Odham Nation did on Saturday, May 24, 1997 conduct a general election for the offices of Representatives and Alternates to the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council;

7

8 9

10

11

12

13 14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21 22

23

24

25

27 28

26

WHEREAS, the Election Board did issue and post its Certification of Election Results in accordance with Section 6(E) of Article VII

of the candidates who received the highest number of votes

of the Uniform Election Ordinance, Certifying to the election

for elective office; and

WHEREAS, under Section 6(N) of Article VII of the Uniform Election

Ordinance, it is incumbent upon this Council to issue

Certificates of Election to the candidates who received the

highest number of votes for each Council seat within twenty

days after the Election Board has posted its Certificates of

Election results, provided however, that no election contest

statement has been filed against the candidates within the

time allowed and provided for, and provided further that

they hold no other elective office of the Nation; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section I(B) of Article VII of the Uniform Election

Ordinance, the Certificate of District Residents was

## RESOLUTION NO. <u>97-186</u> (Certifying May 24, 1997 General Election) Page 2 of 5

2

3

**4 5** 

6

7

8

9

10

11

**12** 

13

14 15

16

17

18

19

**20** 

21

2223

24

**25** 

2627

28

presented which determines the number of votes each district is entitled to cast as the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council in accordance with Section 2 of Article V of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Chairman and Secretary of the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council are hereby authorized and directed on behalf of the Council to execute and deliver a Certificate of Election to the following persons elected as Representatives and Alternates to the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council, who shall hold their offices for a term of four (4) years and until their successors are certified and seated, namely:

<u>Baboquivari District</u> Representative: Frances G. Antone Alternate: Edward N. Kisto

<u>Chukut Kuk District</u> Representative: Kenneth Williams Alternate: Arnold F. Smith, Sr.

<u>Gu Achi District</u> Representative: Alex J. Ramon Alternate: Louis Johnson

<u>Gu Vo District</u> Representative: Gloria Montana Alternate: Phillip Antone RESOLUTION NO. <u>97-186</u> (Certifying May 24, 1997 General Election) Page 3 of 5

2

1

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20 21

22

23

24

26

27

28

<u>Hickiwan District</u> Representative: Lloyd Francisco

**Alternate: Susan Sam** 

<u>Pisinemo District</u> Representative: Johnson Jose

**Alternate: Vacant** 

<u>San Lucy District</u> Representative: Albert Manuel, Jr.

Alternate: Jana Montana

San Xavier District

Representative: Dennis Ramon Alternate: Vacant

**Schuk Toak District** 

Representative: Ambrose J. Encinas

**Alternate: Vacant** 

**Sells District** 

Representative: Evelyn B. Juan

**Alternate: Dennis Jose** 

Sif Oidak District

Representative: Mary Ann Antone

**Alternate: Darlene Andrew** 

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council on the <u>2ND</u>. day of <u>JUNE</u>, <u>1997</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1,734.0</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGAINST; <u>142.0</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[03]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section <u>1(g)</u> and Section X of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

1	(Certifying May 24, 1997 General Election) Page 4 of 5								
1									
2	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
3	$\cap$								
4	Dan Kun								
5	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman								
6	4 th day of June , 19 97								
7									
8	ATTEST:								
9									
10	Julian Stuff								
11	Frances G. Antone, Legislative Secretary								
12	4th day of June , 19 97.								
13									
14	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the 4 day of,								
	19 <u>97</u> at $4:54$ o'clock, $P$ .M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his								
15									
16	approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.								
17	TOTAL OLO DI LA LA LA CALCALA TALLA COLLINIO IL								
18	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
19	0								
20	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman								
21									
22									
23	1th 0								
24	[MAPPROVED on the 6th day of								
25	[ ] DISAPPROVED at 2:50 o'clock, _P.M.								
26	90 1 M								
27	Mund Manuel								
28	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION								
0.000									

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>97-186</u> (Certifying May 24, 1997 General Election)
1	Page 5 of 5
2	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of
3	Justice , 19 97, at 3.27 o'clock, M.
4	, 19 , at o clock,m.
5	Valeanin Sarahi
6	Frances G. Antone, Legislative Secretary
7	Tonces di inicia, negazinare scarigi
8	
9	
0	
1	
2	
3	
4	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26 27	
46	

**ACTION:** 

**CERTIFYING MAY 24, 1997 GENERAL ELECTION** 

MOVED:

COUNCILMAN JOSEPH JUAN

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

DATE:

JUNE 2, 1997

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 160.0	MARY ANN ANTONE**     (Nellie Miguel)	80.0	X			
	2. RITA MARTINEZ (Maxine Norris)	80.0	X			
SELLS 314.0	JOSEPH T. JOAQUIN     (Allen W. Garcia, Jr.)	157.0	X			X
	LUCILLE ENCINAS     (Cynthia Chico)	157.0	X			
SCHUK TOAK 117.0	1. KENNETH J. ANTONE	58.5	x			
117.0	2. JOSEPH JUÁN ( )	58.5	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. DENNIS RAMON	71.0	x			
142.0	2. TONY BURRELL ( )	71.0	x			
BABOQUIVARI 257.0	EDWARD KISTO     (Idella Stanley)	128.5	X			X
257.0	2. FRANCES MIGUEL ( )	128.5	X			
GU ACHI 187.0	WILLARD ANITA**     (Louis Johnson)	93.5	X			
187.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON (Marian Johnson)	93.5	X			
PISINEMO 135.0	1. JOHNSON JOSE (Roseleen Antone)	67.5	X			
133.0	2.BARBARA SALVICIO ( )	67.5	X			
SAN LUCY	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR.	52.5	X			
105.0	2. JOHN RENO (Mary Hoffman)	52.5	X			X
GU VO 134.0	1. GLORIA MONTANA	67.0	X			
134.0	2. FERN SALCIDO (Larry Montana)	67.0	X			
HICKIWAN	1. LLOYD FRANCISCO	71.0			X	
142.0	2. ALEX JOSE	71.0			X	
CHUKUT KUK	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	91.5	X			
183.0	2. DAVID GARCIA (Marvin Thomas)	91.5	X			
To	1876.0	1,734.0	-0-	142.0	[03]	