1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

RESOLUTION NO. <u>97-219</u>

(Extending the Term of the SAWRSA Task Force and Authorizing Task Force to Commence Negotiations with Tucson and Other Parties)
Page 2 of 4

WHEREAS, the Chairman of the Nation recommends an extension of the term of the Task Force to December 31, 1997 and authorization for the Task Force to renew negotiations with Tucson and other parties on SAWRSA Amendments

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

- The Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby extends the term of the SAWRSA Task Force to December 31, 1997.
- 2. The Legislative Council authorizes the SAWRSA Task

 Force to commence negotiations with the City of Tucson
 and other parties to SAWRSA for purposes of drafting
 amendments necessary to complete the implementation
 of SAWRSA; provided, however, that there shall be no
 introduction of SAWRSA Amendments in Congress or
 representation that the Amendments constitute the
 position of the Tohono O'odham Nation without the prior
 approval of the Legislative Council

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council on the 13TH. day of JUNE, 1997 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,927.0 FOR; 281.0 AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [04] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section 1(f) & (i) (2) of Article VI and Article XVII of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>97-219</u> (Extending the Term of the SAWRSA Task Force and Authorizing Task								
1	Force to Commence Negotiations with Tucson and Other Parties)								
2	Page 3 of 4								
3									
3	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
4 5	Den Run								
6	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman								
7	18 th day of June , 19 97								
8	ATTEST:								
9									
10	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary								
11									
12	17 day of								
13	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman								
14	of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the 18 15 day of June								
15	, 19 <u>97</u> at <u>/:º३</u> o'clock, <u>//</u> .M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his								
	approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48								
16	hours of submittal.								
17	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
18									
19									
20	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman								
21									
22									
23	[] APPROVED on the day of								
24									
25	[] DISAPPROVED at o'clock,M.								
26									
27	EXCEEDED 48 HOURS								
28	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION								
40	TORONO O ODRAM NATION								

- 1	RESOLUTION NO. <u>97-219</u>
1	(Extending the Term of the SAWRSA Task Force and Authorizing Task Force to Commence Negotiations with Tucson and Other Parties)
2	Page 4 of 4
3	21th
	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on theday of
4	19 97, at 9:55 o'clock, A.M.
5	June , 19 97, at 9:55 o'clock, A.M.
6	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	

ACTION:

EXTENDING THE TERM OF THE SAWRSA TASK FORCE AND AUTHORIZING TASK FORCE TO COMMENCE NEGOTIATIONS WITH TUCSON AND OTHER PARTIES

MOVED:

COUNCILMAN TONY BURRELL

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FERN SALCIDO

DATE:

JUNE 13, 1997

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK 189.0	1. DAVID GARCIA (Marvin Thomas)	94.5	х			
	2. KENNETH WILLIAMS (Arnold F. Smith Sr.)	94.5	X			X
HICKIWAN 146.0	1. ALEX JOSE	73.0	X			
	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	73.0	x			
GU VO 142.0	FERN SALCIDO (Larry Montana)	71.0	X			
	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	71.0	х			
SAN LUCY 114.0	1. JOHN RENO (Mary Hoffman)	57.0	x			X
11110	2. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (Jana Montana)	57.0	x			
PISINEMO 139.0	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	69.5	x			
137.0	2. JOHNSON JOSE ()	69.5	x			X
GU ACHI 190.0	1. LOUIS L. JOHNSON	95.0	x			
150.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON ()	95.0	x			
BABOQUIVARI 258.0	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	129.0	x			
230.0	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	129.0	X			
SAN XAVIER 146.0	1. TONY BURRELL	73.0	X			
140.0	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	73.0	X			
SCHUK TOAK 120.0	1. JOSEPH JUAN	60.0		x		
120.0	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS ()	60.0		X		
SELLS 322.0	1. LUCILLE ENCINAS (Cynthia Chico)	161.0	х			X
<i>522.</i> 0	2. EVELYN JUAN (Dennis Jose)	161.0	X			
SIF OIDAK 161.0	1. RITA MARTINEZ (Maxine Norris)	80.5		x		
101.0	2. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	80.5		X		
T	OTAL	1,927.0	1,646.0	281.0	-0-	(04)