## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Delegation to the 54<sup>th</sup> Annual National Congress of American Indians Convention)

1	ľ	National Cong	gress of American Indians Convention)							
2	01									
3			RESOLUTION NO. 97-462							
4	WHEREAS,	the Nationa	l Congress of American Indians (NCAI) will hold its							
5 6		54 <sup>th</sup> Annual Convention in Santa Fe, New Mexico on November								
7		16 - 21, 1997	7; and							
8	WHEREAS,	the Tohono	O'odham Nation is a long time member in good							
9										
10		standing wi	th the National Congress of American Indians; and							
11	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council believes that it is in								
12		the best int	terest of the Tohono O'odham Nation to renew its							
13	membership in the National Congress of American Indians.									
14	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislativ									
15 16		Council tha	nt it hereby authorizes the following members to							
17		attend and serve as the Tohono O'odham Nation's Delegatio								
18		to the 54 <sup>th</sup>	Annual National Congress of American Indians							
19		Convention	ı <b>.</b>							
20		1.	Frances Antone							
21		2.	Mary Ann Antone							
22		3.	Ambrose Encinas							
		4.	David Garcia							
23		5. 6.	Alex Jose Joseph Juan							
24		7.	Albert Manuel, Jr.							
25		8.	Rita Martinez							
		9.	Frances Miguel							
26		10.	Dennis Ramon							
27		11.	John Reno							
- •		12.	Fern Salcido							

13. Kenneth Williams

28

RESOLUTION NO. <u>97-462</u> (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Delegation to the 54th Annual National Congress of American Indians Convention) Page 2 of 3 2 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council 4 hereby authorizes Chairman Edward Manuel as the Tohono 5 O'odham Nation's voting delegate and Legislative Chairman 6 Dennis Ramon as alternate voting delegate to the 54th Annual 7 **National Congress of American Indians Convention.** 8 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council 9 10 hereby authorizes payment of NCAI Membership dues in the 11 amount of \$1,000 from the Legislative Branch Dues and 12 Subscriptions line item. 13 The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the 14 3RD. day of NOVEMBER, 1997 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1.416.0</u> FOR; <u>322.0</u> AGAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>189.0</u> [08] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1(b) of 16 Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting 17 Deputy Assistant Secretary .. Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). 18 19 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 20 21 FOR Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman 22 5th day of November, 1997 23 24 ATTEST: 25 26 Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary day of Morent, 19 97. 28

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>97-462</u> (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Delegation to the 54 <sup>th</sup> Annual National								
1	Congress of American Indians Convention)								
2	Page 3 of 3								
3	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of								
4	the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the 5 <sup>th</sup> day of November, 1997 at 3'.06 o'clock, P.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII								
5	of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his								
6	failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.								
7	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
8									
9	Glbiel Manuel R  Bennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman								
10									
11									
12									
13	APPROVED on the 6 day of Movember , 1921								
14	APPROVED on the day of								
15	[ ] DISAPPROVED at 17:30 clock, A.M.								
16									
17	90 / /								
18	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman								
19	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION								
20									
21									
22									
23	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of								
24	Novemb, 19 97, at 12:30 o'clock,M.								
25	, 13, at o clock,w.								
26	Julia Jafa								
27	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary								
20									

ACTION: AUTHORIZING TOHONO O'ODHAM DELEGATION TO THE 54TH ANNUAL NATIONAL CONGRESS OF

AMERICAN INDIANS CONVENTION

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES ANTONE

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

DATE:

**NOVEMBER 3, 1997** 

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK 189.0	DAVID GARCIA     (Marvin Thomas)	94.5				X
32.00% 5.000	2. KENNETH WILLIAMS (Arnold F. Smith Sr.)	94.5				Х
HICKIWAN 146.0	1. ALEX JOSE	73.0	X			
2.000	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	73.0	X			х
GU VO 142.0	FERN SALCIDO     (Larry Montana)	71.0	X			
11200	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	71.0	X			
SAN LUCY 114.0	1. JOHN RENO (Mary Hoffman)	57.0	X			X
11.00	2. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (Jana Montana)	57.0	X			
PISINEMO 139.0	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	69.5	X			X
107.0	2. JOHNSON JOSE ( )	69.5	X			
GU ACHI 190.0	1. LOUIS JOHNSON	95.0	X			
150.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON ( )	95.0	X			
BABOQUIVARI 258.0	FRANCES MIGUEL     (     )	129.0	X			
2010	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	129.0	X			
SAN XAVIER 146.0	1. TONY BURRELL ( )	73.0	X	e.		X
71010	2. DENNIS RAMON ( )	73.0	X			
SCHUK TOAK 120.0	1. JOSEPH JUAN ( )	60.0	X			
12010	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS ( )	60.0	x			
SELLS 322.0	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	161.0		X		
James V	2. ÈVELYN JUAN ( )	161.0		X		x
SIF OIDAK 161.0	RITA MARTINEZ     (Maxine Norris)	80.5	X			X
101.0	2. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	80.5	X			
T	OTAL	1,927.0	1,416.0	322.0	-0-	189.0 [08]