1 2	RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Kenneth Williams as Representative to the Conference of Native American Nations on NAFTA and Environmental Issues related to the US-Mexico Border)
3	RESOLUTION NO. <u>98-016</u>
4	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Nation, in cooperation with the U.S.
5	Environmental Protection Agency will host the <i>"Conference of</i>
6 7	Native American Nations on NAFTA and Environmental Issues
4 8	
8 9	<i>related to the US-Mexico Border"</i> in San Diego, California on
9 10	February 3 - 5, 1998; and
11	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Nation has been involved in border issues
11	affecting our Nation; and
12	WHEREAS, Councilman Kenneth Williams was selected to represent the
13	Tohono O'odham Nation at this conference.
14	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative
15 16	Council hereby appoints Kenneth Williams to represent the
17	Tohono O'odham Nation at the Conference of Native American
18	Nations on NAFTA and Environmental Issues related to the US-
10 19	Mexico Border in San Diego, California on February 3-5, 1998.
20	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the
20 21	<u>9TH.</u> day of <u>JANUARY, 1998</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1,738.0</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGAINST; <u>189.0</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[03]</u> ABSENT, pursuant
21	to the powers vested in the Council by Section <u>1(b)</u> of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham
23	Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant
24	Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
25	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
26	national An
27	HIBERD Manuelle
28	For Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
	<u>13th</u> day of <u>January</u> , 19 <u>98</u>

RESOLUTION NO. <u>98-016</u> (Appointing Kenneth Williams as Representative to the Conference of Native American Nations on NAFTA and Environmental Issues related to 1 the US-Mexico Border) Page 2 of 2 2 3 **ATTEST:** 4 5 Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary Janny, 19 98. $\overline{7}$ day of Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the $13^{\frac{77}{2}}$ day of $\frac{1}{2}$ day of $\frac{1}{2}$ 8 9 <u>3. 44</u> o'clock, <u>P</u>.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of 10the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his 11 failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. 12 **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** 13 14 Tor Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman 15 16 on the 4^{-4} day of 1at 10;15 o'clock, 4^{-4} 17 **APPROVED** 18] DISAPPROVED 19 $\mathbf{20}$ $\mathbf{21}$ EDWARD D. MANUEL. Chairman $\mathbf{22}$ **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** $\mathbf{23}$ $\mathbf{24}$ Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the _____ day of $\mathbf{25}$, 19<u>98</u>, at <u>1045</u> o'clock, <u>A.</u>M. $\mathbf{26}$ $\mathbf{27}$ Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary 28

RESOLUTION NO. <u>98-016</u>

ACTION: APPOINTING KENNETH WILLIAMS AS REPRESENTATIVE TO THE CONFERENCE OF NATIVE AMERICAN NATIONS ON NAFTA AND ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUES RELATED TO THE US-MEXICO BORDER

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES ANTONE

SECOND: VICE CHAIRMAN ALBERT MANUEL, JR.

DATE: JANUARY 9, 1998

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK 189.0	1. DAVID GARCIA (Marvin Thomas)	94.5			х	х
	2. KENNETH WILLIAMS (Arnold F. Smith Sr.)	94.5			Х	
HICKIWAN 146.0	1. ALEX JOSE	73.0	x			
	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	73.0	X			
GU VO 142.0	1. FERN SALCIDO (Larry Montana)	71.0	x			х
	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	71.0	x			
SAN LUCY 114.0	1. JOHN RENO (Mary Hoffman)	57.0	x			х
114.0	2. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (Jana Montana)	57.0	x			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO ()	69.5	x			
139.0	2. Johnson jóse ()	69.5	x			
GU ACHI	1. LOUIS JOHNSON	95.0	х			
190.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON	95.0	x			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	129.0	x			
258.0	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	129.0	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. TONY BURRELL	73.0	x			
146.0	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	73.0	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. JOSEPH JUAN	60.0	x			
120.0	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS ()	60.0	x			
SELLS 322.0	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	161.0	x			
J4410	2. EVELYN JUAN** ()	161.0	x			
SIF OIDAK	1. RITA MARTINEZ (Maxine Norris)	80.5	х			
161.0	(Darlene Andrew)	80.5	x			
T	1,927.0	1,738.0	-0-	189.0	03	

****PASSED VOTES**