RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Setting Special Recall Election for April 11, 1998 for San Xavier District)

1 2 RESOLUTION NO. 98-101 3 WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Election Board has received the following 4 petitions from concerned members of San Xavier District for the 5 recall of the following San Xavier District Council Officials: 6 Petition No. **Name** $\overline{7}$ REC-SX-02-97 **Philbert Bailey** 8 REC-SX-03-97 Ella Begay 9 REC-SX-04-97 **Janice Felix** REC-SX-05-97 Joanne Preston; and 10 WHEREAS, the Election Board did submit the Recall Petitions and the 11 Certification of the Recall Petitions to the Legislative Secretary on 12 March 5, 1998; and 13 14 WHEREAS, the Election Ordinance of the Tohono O'odham Nation, by Section 13, 15 Article X, cites the responsibility of the Tohono O'odham Legislative 16 Council to establish a Special Recall date within 40 days. 17 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council 18 has hereby established the date of April 11, 1998 to conduct in San 19 Xavier District, the Special Recall Election of Philbert Bailey, Ella 20 Begay, Janice Felix, and Joanne Preston. 21 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Election Board will be 22 responsible to conduct the Special Recall Election. 23 The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the <u>6TH.</u> 24 day of MARCH, 1998 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,738.0 FOR; -0-AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and 189.0 [10] ABSENT, pursuant to the 25 powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (g) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, **26** 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs 27 (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). 28

1	RESOLUTION NO. <u>98-101</u> (Setting Special Recall Election for April 11, 1998 for San Xavier District) Page 2 of 3							
2	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
3	TOHONO O ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
4.								
5	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman							
6	6th day of March, 1998							
7								
8	ATTEST:							
9	John Jant							
10	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary							
11	day of March, 1998.							
12	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the							
13	Tohono O'Odham Nation on the 6th day of March, 1998 at							
14	$\frac{4.59}{3}$ o'clock, $\frac{P}{1}$.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the							
15	Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.							
16								
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
17 18	A 1							
19	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman							
20								
21								
22								
23	[] APPROVED on the, 19							
24	[] DISAPPROVED at o'clock,M.							
25	Dicasone de ligigal							
26								
27	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION							
28	TOHONO O ODIEMININI							

(Setting Special Recall Election for April 11, 1998 for San Xavier District) Page 3 of 3 Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>//</u>day of arch , 19 98, at 5.05 o'clock, ___.M. Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary

RESOLUTION NO. 98-101

ACTION: SETTING SPECIAL RECALL ELECTION FOR APRIL 11, 1998 FOR SAN XAVIER DISTRICT

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES ANTONE

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN RITA MARTINEZ

DATE:

MARCH 06, 1998

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK 189.0	1. DAVID GARCIA (Marvin Thomas)	94.5				X
	2. KENNETH WILLIAMS (Arnold F. Smith Sr.)	94.5				x
HICKIWAN 146.0	1. ALEX JOSE ()	73.0	X			
	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	73.0	X			
GU VO 142.0	1. FERN SALCIDO (Larry Montana)	71.0	х			
***************************************	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	71.0	X			Х
SAN LUCY 114.0	1. JOHN RENO (Mary Hoffman)	57.0	X			X
114.0	2. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (Jana Montana)	57.0	X			
PISINEMO 139.0	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	69.5	х			
137.0	2. JOHNSON JÓSE ()	69.5	X			
GU ACHI	1. LOUIS JOHNSON	95,0	X			
190.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON ()	95.0	х			х
BABOQUIVARI 258.0	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	129.0	x			х
230.0	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	129.0	X			
SAN XAVIER 146.0	1. TONY BURRELL	73.0	x			X
140.0	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	73.0	X			
SCHUK TOAK 120.0	1. JOSEPH JUAN	60.0	X			X
120.0	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS ()	60.0	X			
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	161.0	X			X
322.0	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	161.0	X			
SIF OIDAK 161.0	1. RITA MARTINEZ (Maxine Norris)	80.5	X			
101.0	2. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	80.5	X			X
TOTAL		1,927.0	1,738.0	-0-	-0-	189.0 [10]

^{**}PASSED VOTES