## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Acknowledging outcome of April 11, 1998 San Xavier District Council **Special Recall Elections**)

24

**25** 

26

27

28

RESOLUTION NO. 98-156

WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council pursuant to Resolution No. 98-101 set April 11, 1998 as the date for the special recall elections for San Xavier District Council Alternate Philbert Bailey (#REC-SX-02-97), Council Representative Ella Begay (#REC-SX-03-97), Council Representative Janice Felix (#REC-SX-04-97) Council and Representative Joanne Preston (#REC-SX-05-97); and

WHEREAS, the recall elections were held on April 11, 1998; and

WHEREAS, the Election Board has filed Certificates of Election Results, attached hereto as exhibits 1-4, regarding the April 11, 1998 elections; and

WHEREAS. there was a voter turn out which was less than thirty percent (30%) of the eligible voters registered to vote for such offices.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council

- The certificates of election results are hereby accepted.
- The special recall elections, #REC-SX-02, 03, 04, & 05-97, have
- Philbert Bailey, Ella Begay, Janice Felix and Joanne Preston will continue in office for the remainder of their respective terms.

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the 17TH. day of APRIL, 1998 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1.813.0 FOR; -0- AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and 114.0 [05] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1(g) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>98-156</u> (Acknowledging outcome of April 11, 1998 San Xavier District Council Special Recall Elections)							
1	Page 2 of 3							
2								
3	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
4	$\cap$							
5	Den K							
6	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman							
7	20th day of April , 1998							
8								
9	ATTEST:							
10	Tulianna Savafida Actina Lagislativa Sacretary							
11/	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary							
12	17 day of April , 19 98.							
13	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the							
14	Tohono O'Odham Nation on the 20th day of 4rd, 1998 at 5:26 o'clock, P.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the							
15	Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to							
16	either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.							
17	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
18								
19								
20	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman							
21								
22								
23	APPROVED on the 22 day of Copid, 1998							
24								
25	[ ] DISAPPROVED at 3:26 o'clock, P.M.							
26	Henry G. Lamon							
27	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman							
28	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION							

RESOLUTION NO. <u>98-156</u> (Acknowledging outcome of April 11, 1998 San Xavier District Council Special Recall Elections)
Page 3 of 3
29~
Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 22 day of
1998, at 3.55 o'clock, .M.
Somfare
Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary

ACTION: ACKNOWLEDGING OUTCOME OF APRIL 11, 1998 SAN XAVIER DISTRICT COUNCIL SPECIAL RECALL ELECTIONS

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FERN SALCIDO SECOND: COUNCILMAN ALEX JOSE

DATE:

APRIL 17, 1998

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK 189.0	1. DAVID GARCIA (Marvin Thomas) 2. KENNETH WILLIAMS	94.5 94.5	x x			
	(Arnold F. Smith Sr.)		*-			
HICKIWAN	1. ALEX JOSE	73.0	x			
146.0	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	73.0	x			
GU VO	1. FERN SALCIDO	71.0	X			
142.0	(Larry Montana) 2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	71.0	x			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN RENO	57.0				х
114.0	(Mary Hoffman)  2. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (Jana Montana)	57.0				x
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	69.5	х			
139.0	2. JOHNSON JOSE	69.5	X			
GU ACHI	1. LOUIS JOHNSON	95.0	X			
190.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON ( )	95.0	x			x
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	129.0	X			X
258.0	( ) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	129.0	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. TONY BURRELL	73.0	X			
146.0	2. DENNIS RAMON ( )	73.0	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. JOSEPH JUAN	60.0	X			
120.0	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS ( )	60.0	x			
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	161.0	х			
322.0	( ) 2. EVELYN JUAN ( )	161.0	x			x
SIF OIDAK	1. RITA MARTINEZ	80.5	x			
161.0	(Maxine Norris) 2. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	80.5	X			
T	1,927.0	1,813.0	-0-	-0-	114.0 [05]	