## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Delegation to the 55<sup>th</sup> Annual National Congress of American Indians Convention)

1	Congress of American Indians Convention)								
2	RESOLUTION NO. <u>98-410</u>								
3	WHEREAS, the National Congress of America Indians (NCAI) will hold its 55th Annual								
4	Convention in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina on October 18 - 23, 1998; and								
5	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Nation is a long time member in good standing with								
6									
7	the National Congress of American Indians; and								
-	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council believes that it is in the best								
8	interest of the Tohono O'odham Nation to renew its membership in the								
	National Congress of American Indians.								
10	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that								
11	it hereby authorizes the following members to attend and serve as the								
12	Tohono O'odham Nation's Delegation to the 55th Annual National								
13									
14	Congress of American Indians Convention:								
15	1. Dennis Ramon								
19	2. John Reno								
16	3. Ambrose Encinas								
	4. David Garcia								
17	5. Frances Antone								
1	6. Frances Miguel								
18	7. Joseph Burrell								
	8. Louis Johnson								
19	9. Mary Ann Antone								
20	10. Fern Salcido 11. Joseph Juan								
21	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby								
22	authorizes Chairman Edward Manuel as the Tohono O'odham Nation's								
23	voting delegate and Legislative Chairman Dennis Ramon as alternate								
24	voting delegate to the 55 <sup>th</sup> Annual National Congress of American Indians								
25	Convention.								
26	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby								
27									
28	authorizes payment of NCAI Membership dues in the amount of \$1,000								
-0	from the Legislative Branch Dues and Subscriptions line item.								

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>98-410</u>
	(Authorizing Tohono O'odham Delegation to the 55 <sup>th</sup> Annual National Congress of
1	American Indians Convention) Page 2 of 3
2	
3	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the <u>18TH.</u> day of <u>SEPTEMBER</u> , <u>1998</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1,415.0</u>
4	FOR; <u>322.0</u> AGAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>190.0</u> [08] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section <u>1</u> (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono
5	O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March
6	6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
7	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
8	D. P.
9	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
10	23 day of September, 19 98
11	ATTEST:
12	
13	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
14	18 day of Systand, 19 8.
15	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono
16	O'Odham Nation on the 23 day of September, 1998 at 9:25
17	o'clock, <u>A.</u> .M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or
18	disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.
19	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
20	
21	Dem La
22	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
23	
24	APPROVED on the 24 day of Sellentes, 1998
25	
26	[ ] DISAPPROVED at 5:320'clock, 2.M.
27	90 - Wan - D
1	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman
28	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>98-410</u> (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Delegation to the 55 <sup>th</sup> Annual National Congre
1	American Indians Convention) Page 3 of 3
2	20-
3	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of
4	Septemb_, 19 98, at 8.40 o'clock, A.M.
5	Xilant.
6	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	

ACTION: AUTHORIZING TOHONO O'ODHAM DELEGATION TO THE 55TH ANNUAL NATIONAL CONGRESS OF

AMERICAN INDIANS CONVENTION

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN RITA MARTINEZ

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

DATE: SEPTEMBER 18, 1998

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK 189.0	DAVID GARCIA     (Marvin Thomas)	94.5	X			х
	2. KENNETH WILLIAMS (Arnold F. Smith Sr.)	94.5	X			
HICKIWAN 146.0	1. ALEX JOSE	73.0	X			
	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	73.0	X			X
GU VO 142.0	FERN SALCIDO     (Larry Montana)	71.0	х			
	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	71.0	X			
SAN LUCY 114.0	1. JOHN RENO (Mary Hoffman)	57.0	X			х
114.0	2. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (Jana Montana)	57.0	х			
PISINEMO 139.0	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	69.5	x			X
139.0	2. JOHNSON JOSE	69.5	x			
GU ACHI 190.0	1. LOUIS JOHNSON	95.0				X
190.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON ( )	95.0				x
BABOQUIVARI 258.0	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	129.0	X			
230.0	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	129.0	x			X
SAN XAVIER	1. TONY BURRELL	73.0	x			
146.0	2. DENNIS RAMON ( )	73.0	x			
SCHUK TOAK 120.0	1. JOSEPH JUAN	60.0	x			х
120.0	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS	60.0	x			
SELLS 322.0	1. DENNIS E. JOSE**	161.0		X		
<i>344.</i> U	2. EVELYN JÚAN ( )	161.0		X		
SIF OIDAK 161.0	RITA MARTINEZ     (Maxine Norris)	80.5	х			
101.0	2. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	80.5	x			
Te	1,927.0	1,415.0	322.0	-0-	190.0 [08]	