RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Chester Delgado and Shawn Ramon as TERO Commissioners)

RESOLUTION NO. 99-052

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council selects and fills vacancies to the					
2		TERO Commission pursuant to Section 6 (B) (1) of the TERO, Ord. No. <u>01-</u>					
3		<u>85</u> ; and					
4	WHEREAS,	Section 6 (C) of Ord. No. <u>01-85</u> provides "Commissioners shall be					
5		appointed for terms of three years, or until their successors are appointed					
6		and qualified, provided, however, that appointments to the Commission					
7		shall be made in such a way and for such terms that their terms shall be					
8		staggered so that the terms of office of only two Commissioners will end					
9		in any single year;"and					
10	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council did assign the Domestic Affairs Committee as the					
11		oversight committee for "all TERO matters" pursuant to Resolution No.					
12		<u>98-448</u> ; and					
13	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council pursuant to Resolution No. <u>96-</u>					
14		484 appointed Chester Delgado to a term commencing October 1996 and					
15		ending December 1998; and					
16	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council pursuant to Resolution No. <u>96-</u>					
17		484 appointed Francisco Jose, Jr. to a term commencing October 1996 and					
18		ending December 1997; and					
19	WHEREAS,	Francisco Jose Jr.'s term of appointment expired December 1997; and					
20	WHEREAS,	Chester Delgado's term of appointment expired December 1998; and					
21	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council has not appointed and qualified					
22		successors to Francisco Jose, Jr.'s and Chester Delgado's appointments					

	RESOLUTION (Appointing C Page 2 of 4	I NO. <u>99-052</u> hester Delgado and Shawn Ramon as TERO Commissioners)						
1		under Resolution No. <u>96-484</u> ; and						
2	WHEREAS,	Francisco Jose, Jr. has elected not to remain seated as a TERO						
3		Commissioner since his appointment under Resolution No. <u>96-484</u>						
4	,	expired; and						
5	WHEREAS,	Chester Delgado has elected to remain seated as a TERO Commissioner						
6		since his appointment under Resolution No. 96-484 expired; and						
7	WHEREAS,	, the Domestic Affairs Committee conducted a Commissionership search						
8		to address the expired commissionership appointments of Francisco Jose						
9		Jr. and Chester Delgado; and						
10	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee publicly announced the						
11		Commissionership search to all Districts and requested that nominees be						
12		submitted for its consideration; and						
13	WHEREAS,	the Commissionership search resulted in two nominees, Chester Delgado						
14		and Shawn Ramon; and						
15	WHEREAS,	the Pisinemo District submitted a letter of support for Chester Delgado						
16		and Shawn Ramon which is attached as exhibit A and incorporated herein						
17		by this reference; and						
18	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs and Rules Committees held a joint committee						
19		meeting to address these expired Commissionerships on January 26, 1999;						
20		and						
21	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs and Rules Committees recommend that the						
22		Legislative Council appoint Chester Delgado and Shawn Ramon as TERO						
23		Commissioners, commencing and effective upon the approval date of this						

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-052</u> (Appointing Chester Delgado and Shawn Ramon as TERO Commissioners) Page 3 of 4					
1	resolution and ending three years thereafter.					
2	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative					
3	Council:					
4	1. Appoints Chester Delgado as TERO Commissioner pursuant to					
5	Section 6 of Ord. No. <u>01-85</u> , commencing upon the effective date of					
6	this resolution and ending 12/31/2001.					
7	2. Appoints Shawn Ramon as TERO Commissioner pursuant to Section					
8	6 of Ord. No. <u>01-85</u> , commencing upon the effective date of this					
9	resolution and ending 12/31/2000.					
10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the <u>09TH</u> , day of <u>FEBRUARY, 1999</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1,927.0</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and [<u>04</u>] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section <u>1 (b)</u> of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman 12					
28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36	ATTEST: Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary and day of Julian, 19 99.					

	(Appointing Chester Delgado and Page 4 of 4	l Shawn Ramon as TERO Commissioners)
1	Said Resolution was submitte	d for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono
2	O'Odham Nation on the	12 th day of <u>February</u> 19 99 at
3	3:15 o'clock, P.M., pu	rsuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the
4	Constitution and will become	effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either
5	approve or disapprove it withi	n 48 hours of submittal.
6		
7		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
8		A = A
9		New 12
10		Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
11		
12		
13	I A PPROVED	and the standard standard
14	[] APPROVED	on the day of, 19
15	[] DISAPPROVED	at o'clock,M.
16 17	[] DISATI KOVED	at 0 clock,wi.
18		EXCEEDED 48 HOURS
19		
20		EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman
21		TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
22		
23		
24		17-
25	Returned to the Legislative Sec	cretary on the day of
26		99 11:10
27	Levrang 19	9 99, at 4:10 o'clock, P.M.
28	Vali auti	
29	American de la companya della companya della companya de la companya de la companya della compan	
30 31	Julianna Safaficio, Acting Legi	islative Secretary
32		
33		
34		
35 36		
37		
38		
39		

ACTION: APPOINTING CHESTER DELGADO AND SHAWN RAMON AS TERO COMMISSIONERS

MOVED: COUNCILMAN JOSEPH JUAN SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

DATE: FEBRUARY 09, 1999

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK 189.0	DAVID GARCIA (Marvin Thomas) KENNETH WILLIAMS	94.5	X			х
	(Arnold F. Smith Sr.)	94.5	X			
HICKIWAN 146.0	1. ALEX JOSE ()	73.0	x			
	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	73.0	X			
GU VO 142.0	1. FERN SALCIDO (Larry Montana)	71.0	X			
	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	71.0	х			
SAN LUCY 114.0	1. JOHN RENO (Mary Hoffman)	57.0	X			
	2. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (Jana Montana)	57.0	X			
PISINEMO 139.0	1. BARBARA SALVICIO ()	69.5	X			
	2. JOHNSON JÓSE ()	69.5	X			
GU ACHI 190.0	1. LOUIS JOHNSON	95.0	x			
	2. ALEX J. RAMON ()	95.0	x			x
BABOQUIVARI 258.0	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	129.0	X			
	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	129.0	х	-		x
SAN XAVIER	1. TONY BURRELL	73.0	X			X
146.0	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	73.0	Х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. JOSEPH JUAN	60.0	X			
120.0	2. AMBROSE ÉNCINAS ()	60.0	X			
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE**	161.0	X			
322.0	2. EVELYN JUAN	161.0	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. RITA MARTINEZ (Maxine Norris)	80.5	X			
161.0	2. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	80.5	x			
T	OTAL	1,927.0	1,927.0	-0-	-0-	[04]

^{**}PASSED VOTES