RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Appointing Dewey Ortega to the Tohono O'odham Farming Authority Management Board)

RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-061</u>

1	WHEREAS,	the Second Restated Plan of Operation for the Tohono O'odham Farming				
2,		Authority calls for the appointment of the Directors of the Farming				
3		Authority Management Board by the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham				
4		Nation, with the approval of the Legislative Council; and				
5	WHEREAS,	Dewey Ortega of San Lucy District has been nominated to serve as a				
6		Director representing San Lucy District; and				
7	WHEREAS,	the Chairman of the Nation has appointed Mr. Ortega to serve as a				
8		Director representing San Lucy District for an initial term of two years in				
9		accordance with Sections 4.1.1 and 4.3.1. of the Second Restated Plan of				
10		Operation for the Tohono O'odham Farming Authority; and				
11	WHEREAS,	Mr. Ortega agrees to serve as a Director for that term.				
12	NOW, THER	REFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Legislative Council approves the				
13		appointment of Dewey Ortega to serve as a Director on the Management				
14		Board of the Tohono O'odham Farming Authority as the San Lucy District				
15		Representative for an initial term of two years which term shall end on				
16		August 31, 2001.				
17 18	The foregoin	g Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the <u>10TH.</u> day				
19	of <u>FEBRUARY</u> , 1999 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1,664.0</u>					
20	FOR; -0- AGAINST; 73.0 NOT VOTING; and 190.0 [03] ABSENT, pursuant to the					
21	powers vested in the Council by Section 1(b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the					
22	Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986;					
23		d by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations)				
24	on March 6, 1	1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).				
25 26						
27						

	(Appointing Dewey Ortega to the Tohono O'odham Farming Authority Management Board) Page 2 of 3									
1 2	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL									
3	\mathcal{A}									
4	New Res									
5	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman									
7	12 day of February, 19 99									
8	day of									
9										
10	ATTEST:									
11										
12	Xulan lasali									
13 14	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary									
15	Junuarius Suraricis, recining Degishative Secretary									
16	10 day of Jelmy 19 99.									
17	,									
18	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono									
19	O'Odham Nation on the 12th day of July 1999									
20	at <u>3:16</u> o'clock, <u>f</u> .M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the									
21	Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either									
22	approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.									
23										
24	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL									
25										
26	N. L.									
27	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman									
28										
29										
30	APPROVED 1099									
31	APPROVED on the day of fillusia, 19/									
32	[] DISAPPROVED on the Local of Local of 1999 [] DISAPPROVED at 2:02 o'clock, L.M.									
33	at Z. D. Z. O Clock,									
34 35	$\alpha a b \beta \beta$									
36	Mund Mille									
37	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman									
38	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION									
39										
40										
41										
	I									

| RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-061</u>

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-061</u>									
	(Appointing Dewey Ortega to the Tohono O'odham Farming Authority Management Board)									
Page 3 of 3										
	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of									
1										
2	February 99 4.25 B									
3	19 / / at o'clock,M.									
4	$\mathcal{L}_{\mathcal{L}}}}}}}}}}$									
5	February 1999 at 4:25 o'clock, P.M.									
6	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary									
7										
8										
9										
11										
12										
13										
14										
15										
16										
17 18										
19										
20										
21										
22										
23										
24 25										
26										
27										
28										
29										
30										
31 32										
33										
34										
35										
36										
37										
38										
39 40										
41										
42										
43										

ACTION: APPOINTING DEWEY ORTEGA TO THE TOHONO O'ODHAM FARMING AUTHORITY MANAGEMENT BOARD

MOVED: COUNCILMAN AMBROSE ENCINAS

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FERN SALCIDO

DATE:

FEBRUARY 10, 1999

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK 189.0	DAVID GARCIA (Marvin Thomas) KENNETH WILLIAMS	94.5 94.5	X			-
	(Arnold F. Smith Sr.)	94.3	X			X
HICKIWAN 146.0	1. ALEX JOSE	73.0			X	
140.0	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	73.0	Х			
GU VO 142.0	FERN SALCIDO (Larry Montana)	71.0	X			
	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	71.0	X			
SAN LUCY 114.0	1. JOHN RENO (Mary Hoffman)	57.0	X			
HANNI	2. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (Jana Montana)	57.0	x			
PISINEMO 139.0	1. BARBARA SALVICIO ()	69.5	X			
	2. JOHNSON JOSE ()	69.5	х			
GU ACHI 190.0	1. LOUIS JOHNSON ()	95.0				Х
	2. ALEX J. RAMON	95.0				Х
BABOQUIVARI 258.0	FRANCES MIGUEL ()	129.0	х			
	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	129.0	x			
SAN XAVIER 146.0	1. TONY BURRELL ()	73.0	X			
	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	73.0	X			
SCHUK TOAK 120.0	1. JOSEPH JUAN ()	60.0	X			
	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS ()	60.0	Х			
SELLS 322.0	1. DENNIS E. JOSE ()	161.0	X			
	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	161.0	Х			
SIF OIDAK 161.0	1. RITA MARTINEZ (Maxine Norris)	80.5	X			
	2. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	80.5	X			1
TOTAL		1,927.0	1,664.0	-0-	73.0	190.0 [03]