RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(FY 2000 Appropriations Priority Listing)

RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-117</u>

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council establishes priorities annually
2	for consideration by Congress during its Appropriations Hearings; and
3	WHEREAS, the Legislative Appropriations Committee recommends the establishment
4	of top priorities based on the needs and type of services provided to the
	•
5	people; and
6	WHEREAS, the Legislative Appropriations Committee has established four areas as
7	the top priorities for FY 2000 for consideration by Congress during the
8	appropriations process.
9	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council
10	that it hereby adopts the following appropriations priority ranking for FY
11	2000 and respectfully urges Congress to appropriate such funds as
12	necessary to increase the four areas to an exemplary level of funding:
13	1. Health 2. Education
14	3. Housing 4. Law Enforcement
15 16 17 18 19 20	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the 17IH. day of MARCH, 1999 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,927.0 FOR; -0- AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [03] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (j) Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on
21	March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
22 23	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
24	
25	\mathcal{A}
26	New 12m
27	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
28 29	19th day of March 19 99
30	

	RESOLUTION NO. 99-117								
	(FY 2000 Appropriations Priority Listing) Page 2 of 2								
1	ATTEST:								
2 3									
4	Klenne M Som for								
5	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary								
6	II								
7	17th day of March 1999.								
8 9	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono								
10	O'Odham Nation on the 1924 day of March 1999								
11	at 8.23 o'clock, A.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the								
12	Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either								
13	approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.								
14									
15	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
16									
17	La La								
18	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman								
19									
20									
21									
22	APPROVED on the 19 day of March 1999								
23	[] DISAPPROVED at 15:00 o'clock, A.M.								
24	[] DISAPPROVED at <u>(3), (1,0)</u> o'clock, <u>***</u> .M.								
25 26	\sim								
27	Howy a. Ramon								
28	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman								
29	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION								
30									
31									
32	19th								
33	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 197 day of								
34	March 19 99, at 10:11 o'clock, A.M.								
35									
36	Kening My Som for								
37	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary								
38	Julianna Salaticio, Acting Degistative Secretary								

ACTION: FY 2000 APPROPRIATIONS PRIORITY LISTING

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN RITA MARTINEZ SECOND: COUNCILMAN JOSEPH JUAN

DATE: MARCH 17, 1999

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK 189.0	DAVID GARCIA (Marvin Thomas)	94.5	x			
	2. KENNETH WILLIAMS (Arnold F. Smith Sr.)	94.5	x			
HICKIWAN 146.0	1. ALEX JOSE	73.0	x			
	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	73.0	X			
GU VO 142.0	FERN SALCIDO (Larry Montana)	71.0	X			X
	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	71.0	X			
SAN LUCY 114.0	1. JOHN RENO (Mary Hoffman)	57.0	X			х
	2. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (Jana Montana)	57.0	X			
PISINEMO 139.0	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	69.5	X			
139.0	2. JOHNSON JOSE ()	69.5	X			
GU ACHI 190.0	LOUIS JOHNSON ()	95.0	х			
170.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON ()	95.0	X			X
BABOQUIVARI 258.0	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	129.0	x			
258.0	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE** (Edward N. Kisto)	129.0	X			
SAN XAVIER 146.0	1. TONY BURRELL	73.0	X			
140.0	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	73.0	X			
SCHUK TOAK 120.0	1. JOSEPH JUAN	60.0	х			
	2. AMBROSE ÉNCINAS ()	60.0	X			
SELLS 322.0	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	161.0	х			
344.U	2. EVELYN JUAN	161.0	X			
SIF OIDAK 161.0	1. RITA MARTINEZ (Maxine Norris)	80.5	x			
101.0	2. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	80.5	x			
T	OTAL	1,927.0	1,927.0	-0-	-0-	[03]