RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Certifying the Appointment of Yolanda Strickland to Unexpired Term of Judge's Position)

RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-170</u>

WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council did by Resolution No. 97-006
	appoint Rosalie Lopez as Judge of the Tohono O'odham Courts for a six
	(6) year term ending February 1, 2003; and
WHEREAS,	Ms. Lopez has resigned her position as a Judge of the Tohono O'odham
	Courts; and
WHEREAS,	by Resolution No. 99-170, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council did
	appoint Yolanda Strickland as a full-time Judge of the Tohono O'odham
	Courts; and
WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council would like to specify that Ms.
	Stricklands' initial term fulfill the unexpired term vacated by former
	Judge Lopez.
NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council
	that it hereby certifies the appointment of Yolanda Strickland as a full-
	time Judge of the Tohono O'odham Courts to fill the unexpired term
	vacated by former Judge Lopez, ending on February 1, 2003.
of <u>APRIL</u> , 19 955.5 AGAIN in the Counci Nation, adop the Acting D	g Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the <u>07TH.</u> day <u>99</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>971.5</u> FOR; IST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[02]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested by <u>Section 4 of Article VIII</u> of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by eputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman 12 day of April 19 99
	WHEREAS, WHEREAS, WHEREAS, NOW, THER The foregoing of APRIL, 19 955.5 AGAIN in the Council Nation, adopt the Acting Desired Council Nation

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-170</u> (Certifying the Appointment of Yolanda Strickland to Unexpired Term of Judge's Position) Page 2 of 2
1 2	ATTEST:
3	
4	Josh Jung
5	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
6 7	07 day of april 19 99.
8	<u> </u>
9	
10	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono
11	O'Odham Nation on the 12th day of April 19 99 at
12	2.57 o'clock, P .M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the
13	Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either
14	approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.
15	
16	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
17	Ω
18	De Kan
19	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
20	
21	4
22	10 th
23	APPROVED on the 2 day of Africa, 1999
24 25	[] DISAPPROVED at 3.22 o'clock, A.M.
26	
27	
28	Lakes Hillely
29	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman
30	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
31	
32	11/1
33	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of
34	
35	19 at 2.72 o'clock, / .M.
36	Xul: Get
37	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
3 Q	# INMANDA SATAUCIO, ACTURY LEYISIATIVE DELICIALV

ACTION: CERTIFYING THE APPOINTMENT OF YOLANDA STRICKLAND TO UNEXPIRED TERM OF JUDGE'S

POSITION

MOVED: COUNCILMAN DAVID GARCIA

SECOND: COUNCILMAN TONY BURRELL

DATE:

APRIL 07, 1999

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK 189.0	1. DAVID GARCIA (Marvin Thomas) 2. KENNETH WILLIAMS	94.5	x			
	(Arnold F. Smith Sr.)	94.5	Х			
HICKIWAN 146.0	1. ALEX JOSE	73.0		X		X
	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	73.0		x		
GU VO 142.0	FERN SALCIDO (Larry Montana)	71.0		Х		
	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	71.0		х		x
SAN LUCY 114.0	1. JOHN RENO (Mary Hoffman)	57.0		X		
	2. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (Jana Montana)	57.0		x		
PISINEMO 139.0	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	69.5		х	`	
	2. JOHNSON JOSE	69.5	x			
GU ACHI	1. LOUIS JOHNSON	95.0		x		
190.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON ()	95.0		x		
BABOQUIVARI 258.0	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	129.0	x			
	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	129.0	X			
SAN XAVIER 146.0	1. TONY BURRELL	73.0	Х			
	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	73.0		X		
SCHUK TOAK	1. JOSEPH JUAN	60.0		x		
120.0	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS ()	60.0	X			
SELLS 322.0	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	161.0	X			
	2. EVELYN JUAN	161.0	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. RITA MARTINEZ (Maxine Norris)	80.5		x		
161.0	2. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	80.5		Х		
T	OTAL	1,927.0	971.5	955.5	-0-	[02]

^{**}PASSED VOTES