RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Certifying April 24, 1999 Primary Election)

RESOLUTION	ON	NO.	99-1	193
------------	----	-----	------	-----

l		
1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation did on Saturday, April 24, 1999 conduct a
2		Primary Election for the offices of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the
3		Tohono O'odham Nation as well as Chairman and Vice Chairman to the
4		Tohono O'odham Districts; and
5	WHEREAS,	the Election Board did issue and post its Certification of Election Results
6		in accordance with Section 6 (E) of Article VII of the Uniform Election
7		Ordinance, certifying the election of the candidates who received the
8		highest number of votes for elective offices; and
9	WHEREAS,	pursuant to Section 5 (E) of Article V and Section 2 (F) (5) of Article VI of
10		the Uniform Election Ordinance, it is incumbent upon the Election Board
11		to certify to the Council these election results provided, that no election
12		contest statement has been filed against the candidates within the time
13		allowed; and
14	WHEREAS,	no contests have been filed within the time period allowed.
15	NOW, TH	EREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative
16		Council:
17		1. That it accepts the certification of election results of the April 24, 1999
18		primary election as follows:
19		TOHONO O'ODHAM CHAIRMAN AND VICE-CHAIRMAN
20		Edward D. Manuel and Henry A. Ramon
21		Vivian Juan-Saunders and Sylvester Listo
22		
	••	

	(Certifying April 24, 1999 Primary Election) Page 2 of 3
1	SAN XAVIER DISTRICT CHAIRMAN AND VICE-CHAIRMAN
2	Ella Begay and Arthur Bailey
3	Austin G. Nunez and Jeffrey Ortega
4	PISINEMO DISTRICT CHAIRMAN AND VICE-CHAIRMAN
5	Patricia (Patti) A. Cruz and Thelma Henderson
6	Stanley Cruz and LaRosa Antone
7	2. That the Election Board is hereby authorized and directed on behalf
8	of the Council to make the necessary preparations for the May 22,
9	1999 General Election.
10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the 29TH. day of APRIL, 1999 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,927.0 FOR; -0- AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [06] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (g) of Article VI and Article X of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman 29 the day of Opil., 19 99
29 30 31 32 33	ATTEST: Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary 29 day of April 19 9.
34 35	ady or organia.

| RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-193</u>

36

Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman O'Odham Nation on the 29th day of 41442 o'clock, 1.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Art Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his far approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE	, 19 <u>99</u> ticle VII of the
at 4:42 o'clock,M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Art Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his fa approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.	ticle VII of the
Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his fa approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.	
5 approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. 6	ailure to either
6	
! [
7 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIV	
	E COUNCIL
8	
	·····
10 Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman	n
12	
13 IVI APPROVED and the 29 day of Part I	1099
13 14 [X] APPROVED on the 27 day of April 15 16 [] DISAPPROVED at 4:50 o'clock, P.M.	, 19
15 16 [] DISAPPROVED at <u>4:50</u> o'clock, <u>P</u> .M.	
16 [] DISAPPROVED at 4.70 o'clock, 1.M.	
18	
19 Almert Miller	_
20 EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman	
21 TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION	
22	
23	
24)	
25 Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 29th day of	
26 Ay -0 99 11:00 P	
27 April 19 99 , at 4:57 o'clock, P.M.	
28 Some M. Son for	
30 Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35 36	

ACTION: CERTIFYING APRIL 24, 1999 PRIMARY ELECTION

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FERN SALCIDO

SECOND: COUNCILMAN JOSEPH JUAN

DATE:

APRIL 29, 1999

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK 189.0	1. DAVID GARCIA (Marvin Thomas)	94.5	Х			
	2. KENNETH WILLIAMS (Arnold F. Smith Sr.)	94.5	X			
HICKIWAN 146.0	1. ALEX JOSE	73.0	X			
	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	73.0	х			
GU VO 142.0	FERN SALCIDO (Larry Montana)	71.0	x		-	
	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	71.0	x			Х
SAN LUCY 114.0	1. JOHN RENO (Mary Hoffman)	57.0	x			
	2. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (Jana Montana)	57.0	x			
PISINEMO 139.0	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	69.5	X			
	2. JOHNSON JOSE	69.5	x			
GU ACHI 190.0	1. LOUIS JOHNSON	95.0	X			X
	2. ALEX J. RAMON	95.0	x			
BABOQUIVARI 258.0	FRANCES MIGUEL ()	129.0	х			
25310	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	129.0	X			X
SAN XAVIER 146.0	1. TONY BURRELL ()	73.0	x			X
140.0	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	73.0	х			
SCHUK TOAK 120.0	1. JOSEPH JUAN ()	60.0	x			
120.0	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS ()	60.0	x			Х
SELLS 322.0	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	161.0	X			
	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	161.0	x			
SIF OIDAK 161.0	1. RITA MARTINEZ (Maxine Norris)	80.5	x			X
	2. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	80.5	x			
T	OTAL	1,927.0	1,927.0	-0-	-0-	[06]