RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Override of Vetoed Resolution No. 99-174, "Rescinding Resolution No. 99-170, "Certifying the Appointment of Yolanda Strickland to Unexpired Term of Judge's Position")

RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-197</u>

WHEREAS, during the April 07, 1999 General Session of the Tohono O'odham 1 Legislative Council, the Legislative Council did pass Resolution No. 99-2 3 174; and

4 WHEREAS, upon presentation of Resolution 99-174 to the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation, he did disapprove thereof and returned it to the Council 5 with his objections in accordance with the provisions of Article VII, 6 7 Section 5 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation; and

8 WHEREAS, during the May 03, 1999 Legislative Session, the Chairman of the Nation 9 presented his justifications in vetoing Resolution 99-174 (a copy of which 10 is attached hereto); and

11 WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council has reviewed the Chairman's 12 objections and after consideration, again voted to pass Resolution No. 99-174. 13

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative 14 Council does hereby override the Chairman's veto by a majority of two-15 16

thirds of the votes cast.

17 The foregoing Resolution was presented to the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council on the <u>03RD.</u> day of <u>MAY, 1999</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present and by a vote 18 of 1.307.5 FOR; 619.5 AGAINST; -O- NOT VOTING; and [03] ABSENT, was passed by a 19 majority of two-thirds (2/3) [1,284.6] of the votes cast as required by Section 5 of Article 20 VII of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation. 21

22	
23	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
24	
25	
26	albert Manuel K
27	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman

RESOLUTION NO. 99-197

(Override of Vetoed Resolution No. 99-174, "Rescinding Resolution No. 99-170, "Certifying the Appointment of Yolanda Strickland to Unexpired Term of Judge's Position") Page 2 of 2

1	ATTEST:
2	
3 4	Selam Jarapi
5	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
6	
7	
8 9	THE THE THE
9 10	SIGNED this day of 19 M.
11	
12	
13	
14	1. Landry Mulle
15	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
16 17	IOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
18	
19	
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28	
$\frac{21}{22}$	
23	
24 25	
26	
27 28	
29	
30	
31 32	
32 33	
34 35	
36	
37 38	
39	
40 41	
42	
43 44	
45	
34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 44 44 45 46 7 48	
48	

ACTION: OVERRIDE OF VETOED RESOLUTION NO. 99-174, "RESCINDING RESOLUTION NO. 99-170, "CERTIFYING THE APPOINTMENT OF YOLANDA STRICKLAND TO UNEXPIRED TERM OF JUDGE'S POSITION"

MOVED: COUNCILMAN JOHN RENO

SECOND: VICE CHAIRMAN ALBERT MANUEL, JR.

DATE: MAY 03, 1999

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK 189.0	1. DAVID GARCIA (Marvin Thomas) 2. KENNETH WILLIAMS	94.5 94.5	x	x		
HICKIWAN	(Arnold F. Smith Sr.) 1. ALEX JOSE	73.0	x			
146.0	() 2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	73.0		x		
GU VO 142.0	1. FERN SALCIDO (Larry Montana)	71.0		x		
	2. GLORIA MONTANA ** (Phillip Antone)	71.0		x		
SAN LUCY 114.0	1. JOHN RENO (Mary Hoffman)	57.0	x			
	2. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (Jana Montana)	57.0	x			
PISINEMO 139.0	1. BARBARA SALVICIO ()	69.5	x			
	2. JOHNSON JOSE ()	69.5	x			x
GU ACHI 190.0	1. LOUIS JOHNSON	95.0		x		х
	2. ALEX J. RAMON	95.0		x		
BABOQUIVARI 258.0	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	129.0	x			
	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	129.0	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. TONY BURRELL	73.0	x			
146.0	2. DENNIS RÁMON ()	73.0	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. JOSEPH JUAN	60.0		x		
120.0	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS	60.0		x		
SELLS 322.0	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	161.0	x			
344.0	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	161.0	x			
SIF OIDAK 161.0	1. RITA MARTINEZ (Maxine Norris)	80.5	x			х
	2. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	80.5	x			
T	1,927.0	1,307.5	619.5	-0-	[03]	