# **RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** (Approving the Submission of the FY 1999 ICDBG Grant Application)

### RESOLUTION NO. 99-218

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation, through its Planning Department did advise
2		the Communities and Districts of the Tohono O'odham Nation of the
3		availability of funds and types of eligible projects for the Department of
4		Housing and Urban Development's Indian Community Development
5		Block Grant Program (ICDBG); and
6	WHEREAS,	the following communities and Districts did request and can be served
7		within the grant ceiling limits of the ICDBG for FY 1999: Santa Rosa
8		community, Gu Achi District; Vaya Chin community, Hickiwan District;
9		and Pisinemo community, Pisinemo District; and
10	WHEREAS,	the Department of Housing and Urban Development will not rate and
11		rank an application if the request for funds exceeds the grant ceiling
12		limit; and
13	WHEREAS,	the Executive and the Commerce and Budget and Finance Committees of
14		the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council have reviewed the projects
15		requested by the Districts; and
16	WHEREAS,	the following projects are recommended for submission to the
17		Department of Housing and Urban Development ICDBG Grant Program
18		for the FY 1999 cycle:
19		1. Santa Rosa, Gu Achi Community Facilities/Buildings
20		2. Vaya Chin, Hickiwan Community Facilities/Buildings
21		3. Pisinemo, Pisinemo Community Facilities/Buildings
22	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that:
23		1. The Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby authorizes the
24		following projects for submission to the Department of Housing and

RES	OLU	TIO	NI	NO.	<u>99-</u>	21	Į
RES	OLU	TIO	NI	NO.	<u>99-</u>	21	

**RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-218</u>** (Approving the Submission of the FY 1999 ICDBG Grant Application) Page 2 of 3

1	Urban Development ICDBG Grant Program for the FY 1999 cycle:
2	Santa Rosa community, Gu Achi District; Vaya Chin community,
_	
3	Hickiwan District; and Pisinemo community, Pisinemo District; and
4	2. Upon receipt of any and all funds acquired pursuant to this
5	application, the Executive shall administer these projects through the
6	Planning Department on behalf of the Education Department.
7	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the <u>06TH.</u> day
8	of MAY, 1999 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,927.0 FOR;
9	-O- AGAINST;-O- NOT VOTING; and [-O-] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in
10	the Council by Section_1(f) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted
11	by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting
12	Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to
13	Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
14	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
15	
16 17	$A \sim 2$
18	Non 12
19	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
20	The second second
21	<u>7</u> day of <u>May</u> , 19 <u>99</u>
22	
23	ATTEST:
24	
25	Sub parapi
26	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
27	
28 20	day of 19_99.
29 30	
30 31	
31 32	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono
33	O'Odham Nation on the 7th day of May 19 99 at
34	O'Odham Nation on the <u>7</u> <sup>th</sup> day of <u>May</u> , 19 <u>99</u> at <u><math>/2:03</math></u> o'clock, <u><math>P</math></u> .M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the
35	Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either
36	approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.
37	
51	

	<b>RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-218</u></b> (Approving the Submission of the FY 1999 ICDBG Grant Application) Page 3 of 3					
1	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL					
2	$\hat{\rho}$					
3 4						
5	Donnis Ramon Logiclative Chairman					
6	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman					
7						
8						
9	APPROVED on the <u>7</u> day of <u>May</u> 19 <u>99</u>					
10						
11	[] DISAPPROVED at 12:10 o'clock,M.					
12 13						
14	Henry a. Kamin					
15	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman					
16	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION					
17						
18						
19						
20	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the $0777$ day of					
21 22	May , 19 99, at 2:13 o'clock, P.M.					
23	$\square$					
24	Kenn M. Son for					
25	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary					
26						
27						
28						
29						
30						
31 32						
32 33						
34						
35						
36						

# ACTION: APPROVING THE SUBMISSION OF THE FY 1999 ICDBG GRANT APPLICATION

#### MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN MARY ANN ANTONE

#### SECOND: COUNCILMAN TONY BURRELL

DATE: MAY 06, 1999

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK 189.0	1. DAVID GARCIA (Marvin Thomas) 2. KENNETH WILLIAMS	94.5				x
	(Arnold F. Smith Sr.)	94.5				х
HICKIWAN 146.0	1. ALEX JOSE ()	73.0	x			-
	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	73.0	x			x
GU VO 142.0	1. FERN SALCIDO (Larry Montana)	71.0	x			x
	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	71.0	x			
SAN LUCY 114.0	1. JOHN RENO (Mary Hoffman)	57.0	x			x
	2. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (Jana Montana)	57.0	x			
PISINEMO 139.0	1. BARBARA SALVICIO () 2. JOHNSON JOSE	69.5	x			
	2. JOHNSON JOSE ()	69.5	x			
GU ACHI 190.0	1. LOUIS JOHNSON ( )	95.0	x			х
	2. ALEX J. RAMON	95.0	x			
BABOQUIVARI 258.0	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	129.0	x			
200.0	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	129.0	x			x
SAN XAVIER 146.0	1. TONY BURRELL ( )	73.0	x			
	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	73.0	x			
SCHUK TOAK 120.0	1. JOSEPH JUAN ( )	60.0	x			x
120.0	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS	60.0	x			
SELLS 322.0	1. DENNIS E. JOSE ()	161.0	x			
	2. EVELYN JUAN ( )	161.0	x			x
SIF OIDAK 161.0	1. RITA MARTINEZ (Maxine Norris)	80.5	x			x
	2. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	80.5	x			
Т	OTAL	1,927.0	1,738.0	-0-	-0-	189.0 [10]

\*\*PASSED VOTES