RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Appointment of Willard Anita as TERO Commissioner)

DEFEATED RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-313</u>

1	WHEREAS,	the Tonono O odnam Legislative Council pursuant to Section 6(B)(1) of
2		the TERO Ordinance No. 01-85 appoint Commissioners for a three year
3		term or until their successors are appointed and qualified; and
4	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee is the oversight committee for "all
5		TERO matters" pursuant to Resolution No. 98-448 authorized by this
6		Council; and
7	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council by Res. No. 97-134 appointed
8		Phillip Antone to a term commencing April 1997 to April 1999; and
9	WHEREAS,	Mr. Antone has resigned as a TERO Commissioner and the
10	,	commissionership is currently vacant; and
11	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee conducted a Commissionership search
12		to address the expired term by publicly announcing the vacancy to all
13		Districts and requested that nominations be submitted for their
14		consideration; and
15	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee did receive five (5) nominations to fill
16		the vacancy; and
17	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee recommends to the Tohono O'odham
18		Legislative Council that Willard Anita be appointed as a member to the
19		TERO Commission.
20	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council
21		hereby appoints Willard Anita as TERO Commissioner pursuant to
22		Section 6(B)(1) & (C) of TERO Ordinance No. 01-85, commencing upon
23		the effective date of this resolution and ending June 2002.

DEFEATED RESOLUTION NO. 99-313 (Appointment of Willard Anita as TERO Commissioner) Page 2 of 2 The foregoing Resolution was presented to the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>08TH</u>. day of <u>IUNE</u>, <u>1999</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present, and by a vote of 812.95 FOR; 979.85 AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and 372.7 [04] ABSENT, failed to pass because it did not receive a majority of the votes cast as required by Section 2 of Article V of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation. TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman ATTEST: Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary

ACTION: APPOINTMENT OF WILLARD ANITA AS TERO COMMISSIONER

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN MARY ANN ANTONE SECOND: COUNCILMAN DAVID GARCIA

DATE: JUNE 08, 1999

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 171.8	MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	85.9	X			
	2. RITA MARTINEZ (Nicholas Jose)	85.9	X			
SELLS 372.7	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	186.35				X
3/2./	2. EVELYN JÚAN ()	186.35				X
SCHUK TOAK	1. MARY FLORES	66.7	-	х		X
133.4	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS	66.7		X		
SAN XAVIER 165.9	1. TONY BURRELL	82.95	X			
105,9	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	82.95	X			
BABOQUIVARI 286.5	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	143.25		X		X
280.5	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	143.25		X		
GU ACHI 209.6	CAMILLUS LOPEZ (Louis Johnson)	104.8		x		
209.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON	104.8		X		
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO (Alex Antone)	78.4	X			
156.8	2. JOHNSON JOSE	78.4	X			
SAN LUCY 128.1	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR.	64.05	X			
126.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	64.05	х			
GU VO	1. FERN SALCIDO	80.0		X		
160.0	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	80.0		X		
HICKIWAN 158.1	1. ALEX JOSE (Shirley Santos)	79.05	X			
120.1	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	79.05		X		
CHUKUT KUK 222.6	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	111.3	X			
222.0	2. DAVID GARCIA (Mary Audrey Juan)	111.3		X		
Т	2,165.5	812.95	979.85	-0-	372.7 [04]	

^{**}PASSED VOTES