RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving a Special Election for the Baboquivari District)

RESOLUTION NO. 99-368

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council was informed by the Baboquivari
2	Resolution No. 99-B-71 requesting a "Special Election" for Baboquivari
3	District; and
4	WHEREAS, there were no candidates for the office of Chairman and Vice Chairman of
5	Baboquivari District; and
6	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council acknowledges the importance and
7	purpose of a "Special Election" for the people of Baboquivari District; and
8	WHEREAS, it is in the best interest of the people of Baboquivari District that a "Special
9	Election" be held.
10	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council honors
11	the request for a "Special Election" for the purpose of electing a Chairman
12	and Vice Chairman for the Baboquivari District.
13	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council directs the
14	Tohono O'odham Election Board to begin the process for the "Special
15	Election" for Baboquivari District.
16	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the cost for the Special Election, estimated at \$4,290.00,
17	be incurred by the Baboquivari District.
18 19 20 21 22 23	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the <u>13TH</u> , day of <u>IULY</u> , <u>1999</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1.551.6</u> FOR; <u>391.3</u> AGAINST; <u>-0</u> - NOT VOTING; and <u>222.6 [04]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section <u>1 (g)</u> of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986,
24 25	pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
26	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
27 28	
29	fon
30	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
31 32	14th day of July , 19 99

l	RESOLUTION NO. 99-368							
	(Approving a Special Election for the Baboquivari District) Page 2 of 2							
1	ATTEST:							
2								
3								
4	Just Jary							
5	julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary							
6	, aa							
7	13 day of							
8								
9	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono							
10	O'Odham Nation on the $\frac{14}{12}$ day of $\frac{1}{12}$, $\frac{1999}{19}$ at $\frac{4.32}{19}$ o'clock							
11	.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and							
12	will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve of							
13	disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.							
14 15	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
16	TOHONO O ODINAM REGISERITYE COUNCIE							
17								
18	Lon							
19	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman							
20								
21								
22								
23	APPROVED on the 6 day of July , 19 29							
24								
25	[] DISAPPROVED at 2.50 o'clock, 1.M.							
26								
27								
28	EDWARD D. MANUEL Chairman							
29	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION							
30	TOHONO O ODRAM NATION							
31 32								
33								
3 4								
35	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on theday of							
36								
37	, 19 99, at 4:05 o'clock,M.							
38								
39 ⁽	for farif							
40	Julianna Caraficia Acting Logislative Secretary							

ACTION: APPROVING A SPECIAL ELECTION FOR THE BABOQUIVARI DISTRICT

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN RITA MARTINEZ

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FERN SALCIDO

DATE:

JULY 13, 1999

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 171.8	1. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	85.9	X			
	2. RITA MARTINEZ (Nicholas Jose)	85.9	X			
SELLS 372.7	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	186.35	X			
	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	186.35	x			
SCHUK TOAK 133.4	1. MARY FLORES ()	66.7	X			
	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS ()	66.7	X			
SAN XAVIER 165.9	1. TONY BURRELL	82.95	X			
100.5	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	82.95	X			
BABOQUIVARI 286.5	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	143.25		х		X
200.5	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	143.25		X		
GU ACHI 209.6	CAMILLUS LOPEZ (Louis Johnson)	104.8	х			
200.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON	104.8		X		
PISINEMO 156.8	1. BARBARA SALVICIO (Alex Antone)	78.4	X			Х
	2. JOHNSON JOSE ()	78.4	x			
SAN LUCY 128.1	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR.	64.05	X			
1-011	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	64.05	x			
GU VO 160.0	1. FERN SALCIDO	80.0	X			
100.0	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	80.0	X			
HICKIWAN	1. ALEX JOSE (Shirley Santos)	79.05	X			
158.1	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	79.05	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	111.3				Х
222.6	2. DAVID GARCIA (Mary Audrey Juan)	111.3				x
T	OTAL	2,165.5	1,551.6	391.3	-0-	222.6 [04]