RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the 56th Annual National Congress of American Indians Convention)

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-512</u>						
1	WHEREAS, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) will hold its 56 th Annual						
2	convention in Palm Springs California on October 4 - 8, 1999; and						
3	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Nation is a long time member in good standing with the						
4	National Congress of American Indians; and						
5	WHEREAS,the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council believes it is in the best interest of the						
6	Tohono O'odham Nation to renew its membership in the National Congress of						
7	American Indians.						
8	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it						
9	hereby authorizes the following members to attend and serve as the Tohono						
10	O'odham Nation's Delegation to the 56 th Annual National Congress of American						
11	Indians Convention:						
12	1. Ambrose Encinas						
13	2. Albert Manuel, Jr.						
14	3. Frances Miguel						
15	4. David Garcia						
16	5. Fern Salcido						
17	6. Mary Ann Antone						
18	7. Frances Antone						
19	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby authorizes						
20	Chairman Edward D. Manuel as the Tohono O'odham Nation's voting						
21	delegate and Legislative Council Vice Chairman Ambrose Encinas as						
22	alternate voting delegate to the 56 th Annual National Congress of American						
23	Indians Convention.						
24	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby authorizes						
25	payment of NCAI membership dues in the amount of \$1,000 from the						
26	Legislative Branch Dues and Subscriptions line item.						
	n						

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-512</u> (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the 56 th Annual National Congress of American Indians Convention) Page 2 of 3					
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8	regoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the <u>17TH</u> , day of <u>MBER</u> , <u>1999</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1.349.8</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> ST; <u>815.7</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[01]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council ion <u>1(b) &(d)</u> of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy nt Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of cof June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).					
o 9	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL					
10						
11						
12	Den Kan					
13	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman					
14	ath P to a a					
15	20th day of September, 1999					
16						
17						
18						
19 00	ATTEST:					
20						
21 22	X					
22	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary					
23 24						
25	17" day of September , 19_99.					
26						
27						
	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono					
29	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the 20^{71} day of September, 19.99 at $4:48$					
30	o'clock,M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution					
31	and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or					
32	disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.					
33						
34	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL					
35	\cap \land					
36	Δ					
37						
38 20	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman					
39 40						
40 41						
42						

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-512</u> (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the 56 th Annual National Congress of
	American Indians Convention)
	The second se
1	[X] APPROVED on the 2 day of seglember, 19 77
2	
3	Page 3 of 3 On the 2 day of
4	
5 6	
7	Kenter Aller
8	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman
9	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
10	
11	
12	
13	() and
14	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 213^{-13} day of
15	1
16	eptember, 19_99, at <u>5:10</u> o'clock, J.M.
17	
18	Adaman Stand
19	Manuth. Drofon
20	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
21	
22	
23	
24	
25 26	
20 27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	
37	
38	
39	
40	
41	

ACTION: AUTHORIZING TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION DELEGATION TO THE 56th ANNUAL NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS CONVENTION

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN MARY ANN ANTONE

SECOND: COUNCILMAN ALBERT MANUEL, JR.

DATE: SEPTEMBER 17, 1999

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 171.8	 MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew) RITA MARTINEZ 	85.9 85.9	x x			v
	(Nicholas Jose)	03.3	А			x
SELLS 372.7	1. DENNIS E. JOSE ** ()	186.35			х	
• • ·	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	186.35			x	
SCHUK TOAK 133.4	1. MARY FLORES	66.7	х			
100.4	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS ** ()	66.7	x			
SAN XAVIER 165.9	1. TONY BURRELL	82.95	х			
105.7	2. DENNIS RAMON	82.95	X			
BABOQUIVARI 286.5	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	143.25	х			
200.3	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	143.25	X			
GU ACHI 209.6	1. CAMILLUS LOPEZ (Louis Johnson)	104.8	X			
207.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON ** ()	104.8	х			
PISINEMO 156.8	1. BARBARA SALVICIO ** (Alex Antone)	78.4			X	
150.0	2. JOHNSON JOSE ()	78.4			x	
SAN LUCY 128.1	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR.	64.05			x	
12011	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	64.05			x	
GU VO 160.0	1. FERN SALCIDO	80.0	x			
100.0	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	80.0	x			
HICKIWAN 158.1	1. ALEX JOSE (Shirley Santos)	79.05			x	
130.1	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	79.05			x	
CHUKUT KUK	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	111.3	x			
222.6	2. DAVID GARCIA (Mary Audrey Juan)	111.3	x			
	OTAL	2,165.5	1,349.8	-0-	815.7	[01]