RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Confirmation of the Appointment of Mrs. Sylvia Parra as Director of Health & Human Services)

RESOLUTION NO. 99-613

1	WHEREAS, the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation provides that governmental
2	department directors be appointed by the Chairman of the Nation and to be
3	confirmed by the Tohono O'odham Council; and
4	WHEREAS, the Chairman of the Nation with the assistance of one Health & Human Services
5	Committee member has conducted interviews for the most qualified person to
6	assume the position of Director of Health & Human Services; and
7	WHEREAS, Mrs. Sylvia Parra was selected as the best candidate and has accepted the
8	appointment when offered by the Chairman of the Nation.
9	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that the
10	appointment of Mrs. Sylvia Parra, by the Chairman of the Nation, is hereby
11	confirmed.
12	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Mrs. Parra shall serve at the pleasure of the Chairman.
13	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the 16^{TH} . day of
14	NOVEMBER, 1999 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1.623.95 FOR;
15	372.7 AGAINST; 168.85 NOT VOTING; and [05] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the
16	Council by Section 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation,
17	adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting
18	Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to
19	Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
20	
21	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
22	
23	
24	Dan 12
25	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
26	. A. 22
27	18 day of Movember, 19 99
28	
29	ATTEST:
30	
31	
32	
	Julian
33 /	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
	Julianna Sarafició, Acting Legislative Secretary Lagrange Lag

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>99-613</u> (Confirmation of the Appointment of Mrs. Sylvia Parra as Director of Health & Human Services) Page 2 of 2
1	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono
2	O'Odham Nation on the 18th day of Movember, 19 99 at 4:47
3	o'clock,M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution
4	and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or
5	disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.
6 7	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
8	TOHONO O ODRAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
9 10	
11	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
12	
13	
14	and and
15	APPROVED on the 22 day of florenter, 19 99
16	
17	[] DISAPPROVED on the 22 day of <i>Florember</i> , 19 99 [] DISAPPROVED at 10:25 o'clock, A.M.
18	
19	
20 21	Therand Manuel
22	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman
23	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
24	
25	
26	
27	2 red
28	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 22td day of
29	november 99 - 3:30 datak p
30	, ig //, at o'clock, //w.
31 32	November , 19 99, at 3:30 o'clock, p.M. Denne M. Sun pr
33	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
34	Junanna Saraneto, Acting hogismaye society
35	
36	
37	
38	
39	
40	
41	
42	n

ACTION: CONFIRMATION OF THE APPOINTMENT OF MRS. SYLVIA PARRA AS DIRECTOR OF HEALTH & HUMAN

SERVICES

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

SECOND: COUNCILMAN ALBERT MANUEL, JR.

DATE: NOVEMBER 16, 1999

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 171.8	MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew) RITA MARTINEZ	85.9	х			X
	(Nicholas Jose)	85.9	X			
SELLS 372.7	1. DENNIS E. JOSE **	186.35		X		
	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	186.35		x		
SCHUK TOAK 133.4	1. MARY FLORES	66.7	Х			
133.4	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS ()	66.7	x			х
SAN XAVIER	1. TONY BURRELL	82.95	х			
165.9	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	82.95	x			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	143.25	X			
286.5	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	143.25	x			X
GU ACHI 209.6	CAMILLUS LOPEZ (Louis Johnson)	104.8	x			
209.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON ()	104.8			x	
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO (Alex Antone)	78.4	x			
156.8	2. JOHNSON JOSE	78.4	x			
SAN LUCY	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR.	64.05	x			
128.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	64.05			X	
GU VO	1. FERN SALCIDO	80.0	x			X
160.0	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	80.0	x			
HICKIWAN	1. ALEX JOSE (Shirley Santos)	79.05	х			
158.1	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	79.05	x			
CHUKUT KUK	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	111.3	х			
222.6	2. DAVID GARCIA (Mary Audrey Juan)	111.3	x			x
T	OTAL	2,165.5	1,623.95	372.7	168.85	[05]

^{**}PASSED VOTES