# **RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** (Approving the Appointment of Christina Andrews to the Hia-Ced O'odham Committee)

### RESOLUTION NO. 11-413

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2	appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3	committees, boards, officers and agents (Article VI, Section 1(b) Constitution of the
4	Tohono O'odham Nation); and
5	WHEREAS, by Resolution No. 10-364, the Legislative Council adopted the Bylaws of the Hia-Ced
6	O'odham Committee and established the Hia-Ced O'odham Committee; and
7	WHEREAS, the Bylaws of the Hia-Ced O'odham Committee (the "Bylaws") provide that the Hia-Ced
8	O'odham Committee "shall consist of five enrolled members of the Nation who are at
9	least 18 years of age and possess Hia-Ced O'odham Membership with a preference for
10	O'odham speakers" (Bylaws, Section 1106(A)); and
11	WHEREAS, members of the Hia-Ced O'odham Committee shall "serve staggered terms. Of the
12	initial members, three shall serve a term of three years and two shall serve a term of
13	two years. Thereafter, all terms shall be for three years. Members shall remain in
14	office until their successors have been appointed and may serve an unlimited number
15	of terms." (Bylaws, Section 1106(B)); and
16	WHEREAS, in accordance with the Bylaws, the Chairperson of the Nation, or his designee, and the
17	Domestic Affairs Committee shall "interview applicants for the Hia-Ced O'odham
18	Committee and shall nominate individuals for membership positions." The
19	Domestic Affairs Committee shall "assign a proposed term of office to each nominee"
20	and "introduce the nominees and their proposed terms of office to the Legislative
21	Council for appointment." (Bylaws, Section 1106(D)(2) and (3)); and
22	WHEREAS, the Domestic Affairs Committee and the Chairman of the Nation have interviewed and
23	have nominated Christina Andrews to the Hia-Ced O'odham Committee for a two-year
24	term beginning September 1, 2011 and ending on August 31, 2013.
25	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby appoints
26	Christina Andrews to the Hia-Ced O'odham Committee for a two-year term beginning
27	September 1, 2011 and ending on August 31, 2013, provided that she shall continue to
28	serve until her successor has been appointed.
29	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the $13^{TH}$ Day of <u>SEPTEMBER</u> , 2011 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2.780.60 FOR; -0-
30	AGAINST: <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and [05] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by
31 32	Section 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono
33	O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -
34	Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48
35	Stat. 984).
	1

RESOLUTION NO. 11-413 (Approving the Appointment of Christina Andrews to the Hia-Ced O'odham Committee) Page 2 of 2 **D'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** 1 2 3 imothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman 4 5 \_day of \_ , 2011 6 7 8 ATTEST: 9 10 **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** 11 12 Summ 13 day of , 2011 14 Said Resolution wassubmitted for appraval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham 15 \_, 2011 at <u>1.29</u> rentemple o'clock, A Nation on the 14 day of\_ .M., 16 pursuant to the provisions of Section 4 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective 17 upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of 18 submittal. 19 20 21 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 22 23 24 25 Timothy Ióa in, Legislative Chairman 26 27 28 [V] APPROVED 29 on the 2011 30 at 4.45 o'clock. ( [ ] DISAPPROVED 31 32 33 34 NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN 35 **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** 36 37 38 39 40 dav of 41 o'clock, 📿 .M. 2011. at 42 43 44 Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary 45 46

## ACTION: APPROVING THE APPOINTMENT OF CHRISTINA ANDREWS TO THE HIA-CED O'ODHAM COMMITTEE

#### MOVED: COUNCILMAN EUGENE ENIS

### SECOND: COUNCILMAN LOUIS R. LOPEZ

DATE: SEPTEMBER 13, 2011

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 342.0	<ol> <li>FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)</li> <li>FRANCES G. ANTONE</li> </ol>	171.0	x x			x
CHUKUT KUK	(Vernon Smith) 1. ETHEL GARCIA	171.0	x			
302.2	(Sara Mae Williams) 2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ()	151.10	x			x
GU ACHI 244.9	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Rose Johnson Antone)	122.45	x			
	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45	x			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	113.35	x			
226.7	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Angela Ortiz)	113.35	x			
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)	93.15	x			
186.3	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	93.15	x			x
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE	100.35	x			х
200.7	(Tony Murrietta) 2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35	x			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	102.30	x			х
204.6	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS	107.90	x			
215.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON(Absent) (Eugene Enis)(Present)	107.90	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	84.90	x			
169.8	2. FREDERICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90	x			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull)	237.85	x			
SELLS 475.7	(KIMBERIY MUII) 2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL ( )	237.85	x			
SIF OIDAK	1. NICHOLAS JOSE	105.95	x			
211.9	( ) 2. MARY LOPEZ ( )	105.95	x			
	2,780.60	2,780.60	-0-	-0-	[05]	