## **RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** (Appointing Juan Zazueta to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring April 30, 2013)

### RESOLUTION NO. 11-426

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2	appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3	committees, boards, officers and agents" (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation,
4	Article VI, Section 1(b)); and
5	WHEREAS, in 1985, the Papago Council enacted the Papago Employment Rights Ordinance ("TERO
6	Ordinance"), thereby establishing the Papago Employment Rights Commission (a.k.a.,
7	"TERO Commission") and vesting the Conncil with the power to select and appoint
8	TERO commissioners (TERO Ordinance, Ordinance No. 01-85, Section 6(B)(2)); and
9	WHEREAS, Section 6(C) of the TERO Ordinance provides that "[c]ommissioners shall be appointed
10	for terms of three years, or until their successors are appointed and qualified,
11	provided, however, that appointments to the Commission shall be made in such a way
12	and for such terms that their terms shall be staggered so that the terms of office of
13	only two Commissioners will end in any single year"; and
14	WHEREAS, Timothy Toro was appointed to the TERO Commission with a term ending April 30,
15	2010 and continues to serve until his successor is appointed and qualified (Resolution
16	No. 09-206); and
17	WHEREAS, the Domestic Affairs Committee has been delegated authority to "review and
18	recommend action by the Legislative Council on appointments of TERO
19	Commissioners" (Plan of Operation for the Domestic Affairs Committee, Article III.D.
20	as adopted by Legislative Order No. 01-431); and
21	WHEREAS, the Domestic Affairs Committee has recommended that Juan Zazueta be appointed
22	to a term ending April 30, 2013 or until his successor is appointed and qualified.
23	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby
24	appoints Juan Zazueta to the TERO Commission commencing on the effective date of
25	this resolution and ending April 30, 2013 or until his successor is appointed and
26	qualified.
27 28	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>14<sup>TH</sup></u> Day of <u>SEPTEMBER</u> , 2011 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,780.60</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u>
	AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [03] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by
29 20	noningi; <u>-v-</u> noi voing; and <u>voi</u> noseni, puisuant to the powers vested in the council by
30	Section 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono
31	O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -
32	Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48
33	Stat. 984).

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>11-426</u> (Appointing Juan Zazueta to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring April 30, 2013) Page 2 of 2							
1	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
2								
3	Hum March G							
4	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman							
5	$\rho \rightarrow \rho$							
6 7	22 day of September 2011							
8								
9	ATTEST:							
10	Allan wall On							
11	WINNEWWY							
12	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary							
13	D day of September, 2011							
14	<u>(1)</u> day of <u>Slpllmm</u> , 2011							
15 16	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham							
10 17	Nation on the $2^{1/2}$ day of <u>september</u> , 2011 at <u>1104</u> o'clock, <u>A</u> .M.,							
	pursuant to the provisions of Section 4 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective							
18 19	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of							
	submittal.							
20 21	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
21 22								
22	$\mathfrak{S}\mathcal{D}$ $\mathcal{D}\mathcal{A}$							
23 24	augur Manuel &							
25	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman							
23 26	Imothy jouquin, Ecgistati e chan hann							
20 27								
28	$\alpha$ $\beta$ $\beta$							
	IVI APPROVED on the D day of APPROVED, 2011							
30								
31	[] DISAPPROVED at <u>1:35</u> o'clock, <u>p</u> .M.							
32								
33	Aburakene MRomero Nice Chairmonan							
34	Lawakere Promero nee planto man							
35	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN							
36	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION							
37								
38								
39	้ำ							
40	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>22</u> day of							
41								
42	<u>MAMM</u> , 2011, at <u>2:00</u> o'clock, <u>p</u> .M.							
43								
44	City a all the							
45	- WANNAMAN							
46	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary							

# ACTION: APPOINTING JUAN ZAZUETA TO THE TERO COMMISSION FOR A TERM EXPIRING APRIL 30, 2013

### MOVED: COUNCILMAN BILLMAN LOPEZ

#### SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

**SEPTEMBER 14, 2011** DATE:

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 342.0	<ol> <li>FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)</li> <li>FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)</li> </ol>	171.0 171.0	X X			
CHUKUT KUK 302.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams) 2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ( )	151.10 151.10	x x			
GU ACHI 244.9	<ol> <li>TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Rose Johnson Antone)</li> <li>CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)</li> </ol>	122.45 122.45	x x			
GU VO 226.7	<ol> <li>GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)</li> <li>PAMELA ANGHILL (Angela Ortiz)</li> </ol>	113.35 113.35	x x			x
HICKIWAN 186.3	<ol> <li>LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)</li> <li>SANDRA ORTEGA         <ul> <li>( )</li> <li>)</li> </ul> </li> </ol>	93.15 93.15	x x			x
PISINEMO 200.7	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Absent) (Tony Murrietta)(Present) 2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35 100.35	x x			
SAN LUCY 204.6	1. LORRAINE EILER ( ) 2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30 102.30	x x			x
SAN XAVIER 215.8	1. HILARION CAMPUS ( ) 2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON(Absent) (Eugene Enis) (Present)	107.90 107.90	x x			
SCHUK TOAK 169.8	1. FRANCES B. CONDE () 2. FREDERICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90 84.90	x x			
SELLS 475.7	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull) 2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL ()	237.85 237.85	x x			
SIF OIDAK 211.9	1. NICHOLAS JOSE ( ) 2. MARY LOPEZ ( )	105.95 105.95	x x			
TOTAL		2,780.60	2,780.60	-0-	[01]	[03]