RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Agnes Joaquin to the Election Board for a Five-Year Term Ending July 31, 2016)

RESOLUTION NO. 12-009

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3		committees, boards, officers and agents (Article VI, Section 1(b) Constitution of the
4		Tohono O'odham Nation); and
5	WHEREAS,	Ordinance No. 03-86, the Uniform Election Ordinance ("Election Ordinance"),
6		authorizes the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council to appoint members of the
7		Tohono O'odham Election Board (Election Ordinance, Article II, Section 1(B)); and
8	WHEREAS,	the Election Ordinance provides that board members shall be "appointed \dots for terms
9		of five years, or until their successors are appointed and qualified" and further "that
10		appointments to the board shall be made in such a way and for such terms that their
11		terms shall be staggered so that the term of office of only one member will end in any
12		single year." (Election Ordinance, Article II, Section 1(B)); and
13	WHEREAS,	Agnes Joaquin was appointed to the Election Board by Resolution No. 10-260 for a term
14		ending July 31, 2011 and she continues to serve until her successor is appointed; and
l 5	WHEREAS,	the Rules Committee, which has legislative oversight over the Election Board, has
l 6		solicited and interviewed qualified bilingual members of the Nation to serve on the
l 7		Election Board; and
18	WHEREAS,	the Rules Committee recommends that Agnes Joaquin be appointed to the Election
19		Board for a term ending July 31, 2016.
20	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the TohonoO'odhamLegislativeCouncilherebyapproves
21		the appointment of Agnes Joaquin to the Election Board beginning on the effective
22		date of this resolution and ending July 31, 2016; provided that she shall continue to
23		serve until replaced by a successor who has been appointed and qualified.
25	of <u>JANUARY</u>	ing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>09TH Day</u> 7, <u>2012</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,780.60</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> -NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article
27	VI, Section	l <u>(b)</u> and Article X, Section 7 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted
28 29		ono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June
30	18, 1934 (48	
31	, ,	
32		
33 34		
54 55		

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>12-009</u> (Appointing Agnes Joaquin to the Election Board for a Five-Year Term Ending July 31, 2016) Page 2 of 2
1 2 3	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
4 5	Timothy Legislative Chairman
6	/ ninothy paquin, registative Chairman
7	17 day of Junuary, 2012
8	
9	
10	ATTEST:
11	Mary ille
12	<u>wwww</u>
13	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
14 15	13 day of
16	13 day 01
17	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odhan
18	Nation on the 17 day of Januar , 2012 at 9:37 o'clock, A .M
19	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective
20	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours o
21	submittal.
22	
23	TQHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
24	$\int_{\Lambda} - \Delta A \Lambda$.
25 26	Mully Jorgen
27	/ Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
28	
29	
30	A
31	17 - January
32	[\sqrt{] APPROVED on the 17 day of \(\sqrt{\lambda mulary} \), 2012
33 34	[] DISAPPROVED at <u>9.65</u> o'clock, <u>A/</u> .M.
35	
36	11 Janalene 11 Romero Wire Charmon
37	11 /// 180 VEWIN PLOWER VIVE COUNTY IN INC.
38	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN
39	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
40	
41	
42	
43	
44	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of
45 46	Timeson 2012 at 1842 dalack A M
46 47	
47 48	
4 0 49	June John for
50	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

ACTION: APPOINTING AGNES JOAQUIN TO THE ELECTION BOARD FOR A FIVE-YEAR TERM ENDING JULY 31, 2016

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN LORRAINE EILER

DATE: JANUARY 09, 2012

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 342.0	FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey) FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)	171.0 171.0	x x			
CHUKUT KUK 302.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams) 2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ()	151.10 151.10	x x			
GU ACHI 244.9	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Rose Johnson Antone) 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45 122.45	x x			
GU VO 226.7	GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores) PAMELA ANGHILL (Roselda Lewis)	113.35	x x			
HICKIWAN 186.3	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	93.15 93.15	x x			X
PISINEMO 200.7	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta) 2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35	x x			
SAN LUCY 204.6	1. LORRAINE EILER () 2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30 102.30	x x			
SAN XAVIER 215.8	1. HILARION CAMPUS () 2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	107.90 107.90	X X			x
SCHUK TOAK 169.8	1. FRANCES B. CONDE () 2. FREDERICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90 84.90	X X			
SELLS 475.7	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull) 2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL ()	237.85	x x			
SIF OIDAK 211.9	1. NICHOLAS JOSE () 2. MARY LOPEZ ()	105.95 105.95	x x			
	2,780.60	2,780.60	-0-	-0-	[02]	