## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving the Appointment of Mr. Augustine L. Toro as Executive Director for the Department of Natural Resources)

**RESOLUTION NO. 12-109** 

1	<del></del>				
1	WHEREAS, Article VII Section 2(e) of the Tohono O'odham Constitution empowers the Chairman				
2	with "the approval of the Tohono O'odham Council, to appoint the treasurer, and				
3	other officers and heads of all governmental departments, who shall serve until				
4	replaced at the request of the chairman"; and				
•					
5	WHEREAS, Chairman Ned Norris, Jr. has identified Mr. Augustine L. Toro as the appointee for the				
6	Executive ${f Director for the Department of Natural Resources}$ and the appointment has				
7	been reviewed by the Legislative Agricultural and Natural Resources Committee; and				
8	WHEREAS, the Chairman has determined that Mr. Augustine L. Toro is qualified for the position				
9	of Executive Director for the Department of Natural Resources.				
10	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council does hereby				
11	approve the appointment of Mr. Augustine L. Toro as Executive Director for the				
	Department of Natural Resources and Mr. Toro shall serve until replaced at the				
12					
13	request of the chairperson of the Tohono O'odham Nation.				
14	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the $10^{TH}$ Day				
15	of APRIL, 2012 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,304.90 FOR; -0				
16	AGAINST; 475.70 [02] NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Counci				
17	by Article VII, Section 2 (e) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistan				
18	Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June				
19 20	18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).				
21	10, 133 <del>2</del> (48 5tat. 304).				
22	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL				
23	$\tilde{\Lambda}$ $\tilde{\Lambda}$ $\tilde{\Lambda}$				
24	I have the start of				
25	I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I				
26	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman				
27	$\mathbb{I}$				
28	14 day of Mul, 2012				
29	<b>∥</b>				
30					

ATTEST:	4								
avanili	(hele)								
Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary									
<u> </u>	amil	, 2012.							

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>12-109</u>
	(Approving the Appointment of Mr. Augustine L. Toro as Executive Director for the Department of Natural
	Resources) Page 2 of 2
	rage 2 of 2
1	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham
2	Nation on the day of, 2012 at
3	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective
4	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of
5	submittal.
6	
7	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
8	Λ ~ Λ ω Λ
9	Man after Co.
10	/ / / / / / / / / / / / / / / / / / /
11	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
12	
13	
14	
15	// // // // // // // // // // // // //
16	[ $\delta$ ] APPROVED on the $\ell$ day of $\mathcal{U}_{0}$ , 2012
17	[ ] APPROVED on the
18	[ ] DISAPPROVED at <u>\( \frac{1}{2} \) \( \frac{1}{2} \) o'clock, \( \frac{1}{2} \) .M.</u>
19	
20	1\ <b>.</b> / 1\ <b>.</b> /
21	/ W_//~
22	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN
23	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
24	
25	
26	
27	17
28	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of
29	<u>Upul</u> , 2012, at <u>9:24</u> o'clock, <u>a</u> .m.
30	<u>Unul</u> , 2012, at <u>9.04</u> o'clock, <u>a</u> .M.
31	
32	( D'an a 10 ) D
33	- CUMULULA
34	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
35	
36 37	
38	
39	
40 41	
42	
43	
44	
45 46	
40	
48	
49	
50 51	
52	
53	

ACTION: APPROVING THE APPOINTMENT OF MR. AUGUSTINE L. TORO AS EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR FOR THE

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

MOVED: VICE CHAIRMAN EDWARD MANUEL

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

DATE: **APRIL 10, 2012** 

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 342.0	FRANCES MIGUEL     (Roberta Harvey)     FRANCES G. ANTONE	171.0	X			
	(Vernon Smith)	171.0	X		:	X
CHUKUT KUK 302.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Absent) (Sara Mae Williams) (Present)	151.10	X			
	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ	151.10	x		}	
GU ACHI 244.9	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	122.45	х			ļ
	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45	X			·
GU VO 226.7	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	113.35	X	_		
	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Roselda Lewis)	113.35	X			
HICKIWAN 186.3	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)	93.15	X			**
100.3	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	93.15	X	! 	i	X
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	100.35	x			
200.7	2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35	X			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	102.30	x			
204.6	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30	х			
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS	107.90	x			
215.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	107.90	X			ļ
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Anthony J. Rios)	84.90	х			
169.8	2. FREDĚRICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90	Х			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mul!)	237.85			x	-
475.7	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	237.85			X	
SIF OIDAK	1. NICHOLAS JOSE	105.95	х			
211.9	2. MARY LOPEZ	105.95	х			
	TOTAL	2,780.60	2,304.90	-0-	475.70 [02]	[02]