RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Approving the Appointment of Mr. Edward Reina, Jr. as Executive Director for the Department of Public Safety)

DEFEATED RESOLUTION NO. 12-110

1	WHEREAS, Article VII Section 2(e) of the Tohono O'odham Constitution empowers the Chairman,
2	with "the approval of the Tohono O'odham Council, to appoint the treasurer, and
3	other officers and heads of all governmental departments, who shall serve until
4	replaced at the request of the chairman"; and
5	WHEREAS, Chairman Ned Norris, Jr. has identified Mr. Edward Reina, Jr. as the appointee for the
6	Executive Director for the Department of Public Safety and the appointment has been
7	reviewed by the Legislative Domestic Affairs Committee; and
8	WHEREAS, the Chairman has determined that Mr. Edward Reina, Jr. is qualified for the position
9	of Executive Director for the Department of Public Safety.
10	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council does hereby
11	approve the appointment of Mr. Edward Reina, Jr. as Executive Director for the
12	Department of Public Safety and Mr. Reina shall serve until replaced at the request of
13	the chairperson of the Tohono O'odham Nation.
14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27	The foregoing Resolution was defeated by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 10 TH Day of APRIL, 2012 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 972.35 FOR; 1,581.55 AGAINST; 226.70 [02] NOT VOTING; and [03] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VII, Section 2(e) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL wimothy Josephin, Legislative Chairman day of day of day of , 2012
28	ATTEST:
29	(Pro. 1120.
30	40 Mnellill
31	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
32	16 day of 4, 2012
33	
34	
35	

363738

DEFEATED RESOLUTION NO. 12-110

APPROVING THE APPOINTMENT OF MR. EDWARD REINA, JR. AS EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY ACTION:

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

DATE: **APRIL 10, 2012**

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 342.0	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)	171.0 171.0	X X			
CHUKUT KUK 302.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams) 2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ()	151.0 151.0		x x		
GU ACHI 244.9	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Rose Johnson Antone) 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45 122.45		x x		х
GU VO 226.7	1. GRACE MANUEL () 2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Roselda Lewis)	113.35 113.35			X X	
HICKIWAN 186.3	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	93.15 93.15		x x		
PISINEMO 200.7	CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta) EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35	X	x		
SAN LUCY 204.6	1. LORRAINE EILER () 2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30	х	x		х
SAN XAVIER 215.8	1. HILARION CAMPUS () 2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	107.90 107.90	x x			,
SCHUK TOAK 169.8	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Anthony J. Rios) 2. FREDERICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90 84.90		X X		
SELLS 475.7	1. ARTHUR WILSON () 2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL ()	237.85 237.85		X X		•
SIF OIDAK 211.9	1. NICHOLAS JOSE () 2. MARY LOPEZ ()	105.95 105.95	X X			
	2,780.60	972.35	1,581.55	226.70 [02]	[03]	