RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Approving the Appointment of Ms. Jennie F. Becenti as Executive Director for the Department of Health and Human Services)

RESOLUTION NO. 12-113

1	WHEREAS, Article VII, Section 2(e) of the Tohono O'odham Constitution empowers the Chairman
2	with "the approval of the Tohono O'odham Council, to appoint the treasurer, and
3	other officers and heads of all governmental departments, who shall serve unti
4	replaced at the request of the chairman"; and
5	WHEREAS, Chairman Ned Norris, Jr. has identified Ms. Jennie F. Becenti as the appointee for the
6	Executive Director for the Department of Health and Human Services and the
7	appointment has been reviewed by the Legislative Health and Human Services
8	Committee; and
9	WHEREAS, the Chairman has determined that Ms. Jennie F. Becenti is qualified for the position
10	of Executive Director for the Department of Health and Human Services.
11	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council does hereby
12	approve the appointment of Ms. Jennie F. Becenti as Executive Director for the
13	Department of Health and Human Services and Ms. Becenti shall serve until replaced
14	at the request of the chairperson of the Tohono O'odham Nation.
15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 11 TH Day of APRIL, 2012 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,304,90 FOR; -0-AGAINST; 475.70[01] NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VII, Section 2 (e) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman day of day of , 2012
31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38	ATTEST: Whene Wilson, Legislative Secretary 13 day of, 2012.

39 40

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>12-113</u> (Approving the Appointment of Ms. Jennie F. Becenti as Executive Director for the Department of Health and Human Services) Page 2 of 2
1	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham
2	Nation on the 14 day of ANUL . 2012 at 10:35 o'clock A M
3	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective
4	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of
5	submittal.
6 7	HOMONO CIOPRIANT VICTOR ATTIVIT CONTROL
8	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
9	Think He brown -
10	I // / / / / / / / / / / / / / / / / /
11	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
12	
13	
14	1/2
15 16	[A] APPROVED on the / G day of, 2012
17	[APPROVED on the 6 day of file, 2012] [] DISAPPROVED at 4:25 o'clock, 6.M.
18	ato clock,m.
19	$\mathcal{N} \wedge \mathcal{N} \wedge \mathcal{N} $
20	
21	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN
22	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
23	
24 25	
25 26	
20 27	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of
28	day of
29	<u>april</u> , 2012, at <u>G:24</u> o'clock, <u>A.M.</u>
30	
31	aunella
32	
33	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
34 35 36 37	
36	
37 38	
39	
40	
41 42	
43	
44	
45 46	
47	
48	
49 50	
51	
52 53	
22	

ACTION: APPROVING THE APPOINTMENT OF MS. JENNIE F. BECENTI AS EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR FOR THE

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN CYNTHIA E. MANUEL

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN GRACE MANUEL

DATE:

APRIL 11, 2012

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 342.0	FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey) FRANCES G. ANTONE	171.0	X			
	(Vernon Smith)	171.0	Х			
CHUKUT KUK 302.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Absent) (Sara Mae Williams) (Present)	151.10	x			
502.2	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ()	151.10	x			
GU ACHI 244.9	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	122.45	х			
244.7	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45	x			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	113.35	X			
226.7	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Roselda Lewis)	113.35	Х			
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)	93.15	X			
186.3	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	93.15	x			x
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE	100.35	x			
200.7	(Tony Murrietta) 2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35	X			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	102.30	x			·
204.6	() 2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30	x	;		
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS	107.90	x			
215.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	107.90	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Anthony J. Rios)	84.90	х			
169.8	2. FREDERICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90	X			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull)	237.85			х	х
475.7	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	237.85			x	
SIF OIDAK	1. NICHOLAS JOSE	105.95	х			
211.9	2. MARY LOPEZ ()	105.95	x			
TOTAL		2,780.60	2,304.90	-0-	475.70 [01]	[02]