RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Re-designating KOHN, an Executive Program under the Executive Branch, to Hewel Ñi'oki)

RESOLUTION NO. <u>12-127</u>

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Nation (Nation), as the licensee, operates KOHN FM as an
2	Executive Program under the Executive Branch with the program designation of
3	KOHN, the call letters of the current station; and
4	WHEREAS, KOHN, as an executive program, is complete with a management, programming and
5	production staff (current management); and
6	WHEREAS, on October 31, 2011 the Federal Communications Commission granted the Nation an
7	FM Broadcast Station Construction Permit (Authorization) to construct a new radio
8	station at San Lucy, San Lucy District (San Lucy station), subject to the completion of
9	the international notification process pending before the Comision Federal de
10	Telecommunicaciones of the Republic of Mexico; and
11	WHEREAS, the Authorization includes the waiver of a main studio and permits the operation of
12	the new San Lucy station as a satellite of KOHN to carry the programming originating
13	from KOHN; and
14	WHEREAS, upon completion of the new San Lucy station it will be assigned new call letters for
15	station identification; and
16	WHEREAS, the current management will continue to operate both stations with existing
17	personnel which necessitates the need to re-designate the program name from its
18	current designation, KOHN, to an appropriate program designation; and
19	WHEREAS, in support of the Nation's efforts to preserve and sustain the O'odham language the
20	current management recommends that KOHN be re-designated as Hewel Ñi'okĭ.
21	NOW,THEREFORE,BEIT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it does hereby
22	re-designates KOHN, an executive program under the Executive Branch, to Hewel
23	Ñi'okĭ.
24	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this re-designation is for program identification only and does not
25	affect nor rescind any prior acts of this council as these actions may relate to the
26	previous designated program, KOHN.
27	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the Chairman or any designated official is hereby authorized to
28	direct any changes necessary to comply with this new designation.
29 30 31 32 33 34	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 13 ^{TR} Day of <u>APRIL</u> , 2012 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,780.60</u> FOR; <u>-0-AGAINST</u> ; <u>-0-NOT VOTING</u> ; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section 1 (c)(8) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48
35	Stat. 984).

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>12-127</u> (Re-designating KOHN, an Executive Program under the Executive Branch, to Hewel Ñi'oki) Page 2 of 2
1	TOHONO O(ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
2	
3	I huitte Xtrzia.
4	I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I
5	Timothy Loaquin, Legislative Chairman
6	\parallel
7	$\frac{l l}{day of} \mathcal{M} \mathcal{U} \mathcal{U} $
8	
9	
10 11	ATTEST:
12	CAMANIAL Mar
13	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
14	
15	18 day of 4ml , 2012.
16	1
17	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odhan
18	Nation on the 19 day of 1000 , 2012 at 3:49 o'clock, 1000 M.
19	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective
20	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours o
21	submittal.
22 23	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
24	
25	Mariotti Voralo
26	///miller // 1 / 1000
27	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
28	· ·
29	
30	
31	[$$] APPROVED on the $\frac{3}{2}$ day of $\frac{3}{2}$, 2012
32	
33 34	[] DISAPPROVED at 10,44 o'clock, 1.M.
35	
36	1) at well a all the Mail and
37	Waldon MRomero Vice Chairnonan
38	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN
39	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
40	
41	
42	
43	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>33</u> day of
44 45	Netwitted to the Legislative Secretary on the M day of
46 46	Unil , 2012, at 11:03 o'clock, a.m.
47	
48	
49	"Windlala
50	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
51	

ACTION: RE-DESIGNATING KOHN, AN EXECUTIVE PROGRAM UNDER THE EXECUTIVE BRANCH, TO HEWEL ÑI'OKĬ

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES G. ANTONE SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES CONDE

DATE: APRIL 13, 2012

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 342.0	FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey) FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)	171.0 171.0	x x			_
CHUKUT KUK 302.2	ETHEL GARCIA (Absent) (Sara Mae Williams) (Present) BILLMAN LOPEZ	151.10	X			
	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ	151.10	х	_		
GU ACHI 244.9	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	122.45	x			
	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45	x			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	113.35	х			
226.7	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Absent) (Roselda Lewis) (Present)	113.35	X	!		
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)	93.15	x			
186.3	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	93.15	X	:		Х
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	100.35	х			
200.7	2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35	Х			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	102.30	x			
204.6	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30	х			
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS	107.90	х			
215.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	107.90	Х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Anthony J. Rios)	84.90	х			
169.8	2. FREDÉRICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90	Х			
SELLS	ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull)	237.85	x			
475.7	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	237.85	Х			Х
SIF OIDAK	1. NICHOLAS JOSE	105.95	x			,
211.9	2. MARY LOPEZ	105.95	X			
	2,780.60	2,780.60	-0-	-0-	[02]	