RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Appointing Norman Garcia to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring February 1, 2015)

RESOLUTION NO. 12-193

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3		committees, boards, of ficers and agents" (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation,
4		Article VI, Section 1(b)); and
5	WHEREAS,	in 1985 the Papago Council enacted the Papago Employment Rights Ordinance ("TERO Papago Papa
6		$Or dinance "), the reby establishing the {\bf PapagoEmploymentRightsCommission(a.k.a.,}$
7		"TERO Commission") and vesting the Council with the power to select and appoint
8		TERO commissioners (TERO Ordinance, Ordinance No. 01-85, Section 6(B)(2)); and
9	WHEREAS,	Section 6(C) of the TERO Ordinance further provides that "[c]ommissioners shall be
10		appointed for terms of three years, or until their successors are appointed and
11		${\bf qualified, provided, however, that appointments to the Commission shall be made in}$
12		such a way and for such terms that their terms shall be staggered so that the terms of
13		office of only two Commissioners will end in any single year"; and
14	WHEREAS,	Sandra Johnson was appointed to the TERO Commission with a term expiring February
15		1, 2012 and she continues to serve until her successor is appointed and qualified
16		(Resolution No. 10-128); and
17	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has been delegated authority to "review and
18		recommend action by the Legislative Council on appointments of TERO
19		Commissioners" (Plan of Operation for the Domestic Affairs Committee, Article III.D.
20		as adopted by Legislative Order No. 01-431); and
21	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has interviewed qualified TERO Commission
22		applicants, one of whom, when appointed, will serve a term commencing on the
23		effective date of this resolution and expiring February 1, 2015 or until his successor is
24		appointed and qualified; and
25	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council interviewed TERO Commission candidate Norman Garcia
26		during Council's June 2012 general session.
27	NOW, THE	REFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby
28		appoints Norman Garcia to the TERO Commission commencing upon the effective
29		date of this resolution and expiring February 1, 2015 or until his successor is
30		appointed and qualified.

RESOLUTION NO. 12-193 (Appointing Norman Garcia to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring February 1, 2015) Page 2 of 3 The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 06TH Day of JUNE 2012 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,811.0 FOR; 171.0 AGAINST; 571.90[06] NOT VOTING; and 226.70[05] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI Section 1 (b) and 1 (c)(2) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). O O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL din. Legislative Chairman ATTEST: **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the ______ day of _____ .M., wee , 2012 at <u>4:47</u> o'clock, <u>0</u> pursuant to the provisions of Section of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL [A] APPROVED day of 25 o'clock, DISAPPROVED NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

Retu	rned to the L	egislative Seci	etary on t	he <u>/2</u>	day of	
	Fune	, 2012, at	1.32	o'clock,/	<u> </u>	
	Sumu S	yy for				
Evon	ne Wilson, L	egislative Secr	etary			

ACTION: APPOINTING NORMAN GARCIA TO THE TERO COMMISSION FOR A TERM EXPIRING FEBRUARY 1, 2015

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN EVELYN JUAN MANUEL SECOND: COUNCILMAN BILLMAN LOPEZ

DATE: JUNE 06, 2012

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 342.0	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)	171.0 171.0	х	x		
CHUKUT KUK 302.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams) 2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ()	151.10 151.10	x x			
GU ACHI 244.9	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN () 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Absent) (Louis L. Johnson) (Present)	122.45 122.45	x x			
GU VO 226.7	GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores) PAMELA ANGHILL (Roselda Lewis)	113.35 113.35				x x
HICKIWAN 186.3	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	93.15 93.15			x x	
PISINEMO 200.7	CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta) EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35	X X			x
SAN LUCY 204.6	LORRAINE EILER	102.30 102.30	x x			
SAN XAVIER x 215.8	HILARION CAMPUS (Racheal Vilson-Stoner) OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	107.90 107.90			x x	
SCHUK TOAK 169.8	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS(Absent) (Anthony J. Rios)(Present) 2. FREDERICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90 84.90			x x	Х
SELLS 475.7	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull) 2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL ()	237.85 237.85	x x			х
SIF OIDAK 211.9	1. NICHOLAS JOSE () 2. MARY LOPEZ ()	105.95 105.95	x x		Х	
	2,780.60	1,811.0	171.0	571.90 [06]	226.70 [05]	