RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Endorsing General Election 2012 Candidates for Federal, State, and Local Offices)

RESOLUTION NO. 12-417

1	WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation vests the Legislative Council with the
2		authority to "consult, negotiate and conclude agreements and contracts on behalf of
3		the Tohono O'odham Nation with federal, state and local governments" and to
4		"promote, protect and provide for public health, peace, morals, education and general
5		welfare of the Tohono O'odham Nation and its members" (Constitution, Article VI,
6		Section 1, (f),(c)(2)); and
7	WHEREAS,	in November 2012, the State of Arizona will hold a general election for representatives
8		to the United States House of Representatives, the United States Senate, Arizona state
9		senators and representatives, county supervisors, and the President of the United
10		States; and
11	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation consults with the federal government on a wide variety
12		of issues that affect the Nation's members; and
13	WHEREAS,	state and local government legislation and policies also impact the Nation and its
14		members; and
15	WHEREAS,	although the Nation encourages its members to vote as they deem appropriate, it is
16		in the Nation's best interest to identify qualified federal, state, and local candidates
17		for office most closely aligned with the Nation's objectives; and
18	WHEREAS,	the Appropriations Committee recommends endorsing candidates for federal, state,
19		and local office.
20	NOW, THEI	REFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby
21		endorses and supports the following candidates for office:
22		1. Barack H. Obama for United States President
23		2. Richard Carmona for United States Senate
24		3. Krysten Sinema for U.S. House of Representatives Congressional District 9
25		4. Raul Grijalva for U.S. House of Representatives Congressional District 3
26		5. Ron Barber for U.S. House of Representatives Congressional District 2
27		6. Linda Lopez for Arizona Senate District 2
28		7. Andrea D'Alessandro for Arizona House District 2
29		8. Olivia Cajero Bedford for Arizona Senate District 3
30		9. Macario Saldate for Arizona House District 3
31		10. Sally Ann Gonzales for Arizona House District 3
32		11. Lynn Pancrazi for Arizona Senate District 4
I	I	I

RESOLUTION NO. 12-417 (Endorsing General Election 2012 Candidates for Federal, State, and Local Offices) Page 2 of 3 12. Lisa Otondo for Arizona House District 4 1 2 13. Pat Fleming for Arizona Senate District 14 3 14. Sharon Bronson, Richard Elias, Ramon Valadez, and Ray Carroll for Pima County 4 **Board of Supervisors** 5 The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 12TH Day 6 of <u>OCTOBER, 2012</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,780.60</u>FOR; -0-7 AGAINST; [01] NOT VOTING; and [04] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by 8 Article VI, Section 1 (j) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono 9 O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -10 Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 11 Stat. 984). 12 **OHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** 13 14 15 in, Legislative Chairman 16 17 .2012 18 19 20 21 ATTEST: 22 23 **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** 24 25 26 day of , 2012. 27 28 Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the _____ day of _______, 2012 at ______, 2012 at _______, 2012 at ________, 2012 at _______, 2012 at ________, 2012 at _______, 2012 at ________, 2012 at ________, 2012 at _______, 2012 at _______, 2 29 .M.. 30 pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of 31 32 submittal. 33 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 34 35 36 mothy Joaquin 37 Legislative Chairman 38 39 40 41 on the 18th day of October, 2012 I / APPROVED 42 43 at <u>/0145</u> o'clock, <u>14</u>.M. **[**] DISAPPROVED 44 45 46 47 48 NED NORŘIS, JR., CHAIRMAN 49 **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** 50

RESOLUTION NO. <u>12-417</u>
(Endorsing General Election 2012 Candidates for Federal, State, and Local Offices)
Page 3 of 3

Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the $_{-}/_{-}^{\mathcal{O}}$ day of

tolen____, 2012, at 11:24 o'clock, 4.M.

<u>UMMUM</u> Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

3

ACTION: ENDORSING GENERAL ELECTION 2012 CANDIDATES FOR FEDERAL, STATE, AND LOCAL OFFICES

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN ETHEL GARCIA

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON

DATE: OCTOBER 12, 2012

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)	171.0	x			x
342.0	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Absent) (Vernon Smith)(Present)	171.0	x			
CHUKUT KUK 302.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams)	151.10	х			
	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ	151.10	X			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	122.45	x			
244.9	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45	X			
GU VO 226.7	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	113.35	х			х
220.7	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Roselda Lewis)	113.35	x			
HICKIWAN 186.3	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)	93.15	x			
180.3	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	93.15	х			x
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	100.35	x			
200.7	2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35	X			
SAN LUCY 204.6	1. LORRAINE EILER	102.30	x			
204.0	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS (Absent) (Racheal Vilson-Stoner)(Present)	107.90	х		х	
x 215.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	107.90	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Anthony J. Rios)	84.90	X			
169.8	2. FREDERICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90	X			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull)	237.85	Х			
475.7	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	237.85	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. NICHOLAS JOSE	105.95	х			
211.9	2. MARY LOPÉZ ())	105.95	х			х
	2,780.60	2,780.60	-0-	[01]	[04]	