LEGISLATIVE ORDER OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Seating Maria Ackerman as a Legislative Committee Member)

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 12-479

1	WHEREAS, the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation empowers the Legislative Council to
2	"enact laws and ordinances for conducting and regulating elections" and provides
3	that the "decision of the Tohono O'odham Council in all election matters, including
4	the eligibility and qualifications of candidates, shall be final" (Constitution, Article VI,
5	Section 1(g) and Article X, Section 7); and
6	WHEREAS, during the 2009 general election Representative Evelyn Juan Manuel was reelected to
7	a four-year term as a Legislative Council representative for Sells District; and
8	WHEREAS, on November 19, 2012, the Legislative Council approved the Sells District's
9	appointment of Maria Ackerman as Representative Evelyn Juan Manuel's alternate
10	(Legislative Order No. 12-461); and
11	WHEREAS, effective November 29, 2012, Representative Evelyn Juan Manuel resigned her office
12	and Maria Ackerman succeeded her as a Legislative Council representative for Sells
13	District; and
14	WHEREAS, the Legislative Rules of the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council, as amended, provide
15	that "[w]hen a Legislative Council representative leaves office during his or her term,
16	any resulting vacancy on a Legislative Council committee shall be filled by the
17	representative's successor in office." (Legislative Rules, Article XII, Section 3(L)(2)).
18	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED by the Legislative Council that it seats Maria Ackerman to fill
19	the vacancy left by former Representative Evelyn Juan Manuel, provided that
20	Representative Ackerman shall hold office for the unexpired term of her predecessor.
21	BE IT FINALLY ORDERED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that, pursuant to Legislative
22	Rules, Article XII, Section 3(L)(2), Representative Maria Ackerman is appointed to fill
23	vacancies in the Budget and Finance, Domestic Affairs, and Commerce Committees.
24	The foregoing Order was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 03 RD day of
25 26	DECEMBER, 2012 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,780.60 FOR; -0-
27	AGAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and [<u>02</u>] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section 1 (<u>a) and (g)</u> and Article X, Section 7 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation,
28	adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy
29	Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act
30	of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
31	
32	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
33 34	Allow March
34 35	Timothy Jacob Lacid To
	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
36 37	13 . () par hor
, i	<u>l</u> day of <u>X Cler ber</u> , 2012

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. <u>12-479</u> (Seating Maria Ackerman as a Legislative Committee Member) Page 2 of 2

ATTEST:

mallich

Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

B day of Alerenton, 2012

ACTION: SEATING MARIA ACKERMAN AS A LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE MEMBER

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN MARY LOPEZ

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN LORRAINE EILER

DATE: DECEMBER 03, 2012

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)	171.0	x			x
342.0	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Absent) (Vernon Smith) (Present)	171.0	X			
CHUKUT KUK 302.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams) 2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ()	151.10	X			
504.4		151.10	х			
GU ACHI 244.9	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	122.45	x			
244.9	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45	х			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	113.35	x	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
226.7	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Roselda Lewis)	113.35	х			
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)	93.15	X			
186.3	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	93.15	х			
PISINEMO 200.7	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	100.35	x			
200.7	2. ÈDWARD MÁNUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35	х			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	102.30	х			
204.6	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS (Racheal Vilson-Stoner)	107.90	X			
215.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	107.90	X		·	
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Anthony J. Rios)	84.90	Х			
169.8	2. FREDERICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90	X			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull)	237.85	X			
475.7	2. ÈVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	237.85	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. NICHOLAS JOSE	105.95	x			
211.9	2. MARY LOPÉZ	105.95	х			
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	2,780.60	2,780.60	-0-	-0-	[02]	