LEGISLATIVE ORDER OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Certifying Elections of Committee Officers for Budget and Finance and Domestic Affairs Committees)

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 12-480

1	WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation authorizes the Legislative Council to					
2		establish rules and procedures to regulate all meetings of the standing					
3		committees," (Constitution, Article VI, Section 1(a)); and					
4	WHEREAS,	effective November 29, 2012, Representative Evelyn Juan Manuel resigned her office					
5		and Maria Ackerman succeeded her as a Legislative Council representative for Sells					
6		District; and					
7	WHEREAS,	while in office, Representative Evelyn Juan Manuel served as chairperson of the					
8	<u>.</u>	Budget and Finance and Domestic Affairs Committees and her resignation has created					
9		vacancies in the two chairperson seats (Legislative Order No. 11-228 certifying					
10		elections of Committee Officers for Legislative Council Standing Committees); and					
11	WHEREAS,	while the Legislative Rules of the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council, as amended,					
12		does provide that "[w]hen a Legislative Council representative leaves office during his					
13		or her term, any resulting vacancy on a Legislative Council committee shall be filled					
14		by the representative's successor in office," this provision does not apply when filling					
15	:	a committee officer vacancy (Legislative Rules, Article XII, Section 3(L)); and					
16	WHEREAS,	the Budget and Finance and Domestic Affairs Committees held caucuses to fill the					
17		vacancies left by Representative Evelyn Juan Manuel.					
18	NOW, THEF	REFORE, BE IT ORDERED that the Legislative Council certifies the election of the					
19		following committee officers:					
20		Budget and Finance Committee					
21	Jana Montana – Chairperson						
22	Olivia Villegas-Liston – Vice-Chairperson						
23		Domestic Affairs Committee					
24		Ethel Garcia - Chairperson					
25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32	DECEMBER AGAINST; <u>-0</u> VI, Section O'odham N	ing Order was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>03^{RO}</u> day of <u>, 2012</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,780.60</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>-0-ABSENT</u> , pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article 1 (a) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono ation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - irs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48)					
33		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL					
34		90 Am //					
35		(Sund I Much					
36		Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman					
37		13 day of <u>Lecember</u> , 2012					
38		/ 3 day of <u>& Clember</u> , 2012					

	LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. <u>12-480</u> (Certifying Elections of Committee Officers for Budget and Finance and Domestic Affairs Committees) Page 2 of 2							
1	ATTEST:							
2	annellah							
3	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary							
4								
5	13 day of Mumpy, 2012							
6	day of $7000000000000000000000000000000000000$							
7								
8								
9								
10								
11								
12								
13								
14 15								
16								
17								
18								
19								
20								
21								
22								
23 24								
24 25								
26								
27								
28								
29								
30								
31								
32								
33 34								
35								
36								
37								
38								
39								
40								
41								

ACTION: CERTIFYING ELECTIONS OF COMMITTEE OFFICERS FOR BUDGET AND FINANCE AND DOMESTIC

AFFAIRS COMMITTEES

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN PAMELA ANGHILL

DATE: DECEMBER 03, 2012

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	FRANCES MIGUEL	171.0	X			
342.0	(Roberta Harvey) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Absent) (Vernon Smith) (Present)	171.0	х			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams) 2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ()	151.10	X			
302.2		151.10	x			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	122.45	X			
244.9	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45	X			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	113.35	X			
226.7	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Roselda Lewis)	113.35	x			!
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ	93.15	х			
186.3	(Michelle Ortega) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	93.15	X			
PISINEMO _	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	100.35	х			
200.7	2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35	x			!
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	102.30	х			
204.6	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS (Racheal Vilson-Stoner)	107.90	х			
215.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	107.90	X			<u> </u>
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Anthony J. Rios)	84.90	x			
169.8	2. FREDERICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90	X			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull)	237.85	x			
475.7	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	237.85	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. NICHOLAS JOSE	105.95	х			
211.9	2. MARY LOPEZ	105.95	X		;	
	2,780.60	2,780.60	-0-	-0-	-0-	