LEGISLATIVE ORDER OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving Tohono O'odham Nation 2013 Election Schedule)

ļ

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 12-503

1	WHEREAS, the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation vests the Legislative Council with the
2	power to enact laws for conducting and regulating elections and the Council's decision
3	"in all election matters shall be final" (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation,
4	Article V, Section 1; Article VI, Section 1 and subsection 1(g); and Article X, Section 7);
5	and
6	WHEREAS, the Uniform Election Ordinance vests the Nation's Election Board with authority to
7	conduct national elections, and the Board has adopted a "Tohono O'odham Nation
8	2013 Election Schedule" that identifies significant election-related dates and
9	deadlines for election to national and district offices, including dates and deadlines
10	addressing the first election for Hia-Ced District officials (12 Tohono O'odham Code
11	Chapter 1, Article IV); and
12	WHEREAS, although historically the Election Board has adopted and published schedules for
13	conducting Nation's elections, 27 Tohono O'odham Code Chapter 1, Section 1108
14	provides that the first election for Hia-Ced District officials shall be conducted in
15	accordance with a schedule approved by the Legislative Council; and
16	WHEREAS, in order to ensure that the first election for Hia-Ced District officials is integrated into,
17	and conducted as part of, the Nation's 2013 general election, it is in the Nation's best
18	interest for the Legislative Council to approve the Tohono O'odham Nation 2013
19	Election Schedule that the Election Board has adopted.
20	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED that, in accordance with 27 Tohono O'odham Code Chapter 1,
21	Section 1108, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approves the Tohono O'odham
22	Nation 2013 Election Schedule adopted by the Nation's Election Board; provided that
23	the Board may exercise its existing authority under the Uniform Election Ordinance
24	to adopt and publish schedules governing future elections.
25 26	The foregoing Order was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 19^{TH} day of DECEMBER, 2012 at a meeting at which a guorum was present with a vote of 2 360 20 FOR.
27 28	AGAINST; -U- NOT VUTING; and 420.40 [08] ABSENT, pursuant to the nowers vested in the Connect
29	by Article V, Sections 1 and 2; Article VI, Section 1 (g); Article X, Section 7 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and
30	approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Onerations) on March 6 1986
31 32	pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
33	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
34	h^{-} $A \downarrow$ h^{-}
35	Innetty XOVICE
36	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
37	
38	21 day of December, 2012
ll	

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 12-503 (Approving Tohono O'odham Nation 2013 Election Schedule) Page 2 of 2

ATTEST:

Mmillies Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

day of Michman, 2012

ACTION: APPROVING TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION 2013 ELECTION SCHEDULE

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN MARY LOPEZ

SECOND: COUNCILMAN LOUIS LOPEZ

DATE: DECEMBER 19, 2012

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 342.0	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)	171.0	X			x
J-44.0	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Absent) (Vernon Smith) (Present)	171.0	x			
CHUKUT KUK 302.2	ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams)	151.10	x			
	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ	151.10	X			
GU ACHI 244.9	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	122.45	x			
244.9	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45	x			x
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	113.35	x			
226.7	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Roselda Lewis)	113.35	x			
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)	93.15	x			
186.3	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	93.15	х			
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	100.35	x			x
200.7	2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35	x			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	102.30	·····			x
204.6	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30				x
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS (Racheal Vilson-Stoner)	107.90				x
215.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	107.90				x
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Anthony J. Rios)	84.90	x			
169.8	2. FREDÉRICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90	x			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull)	237.85	X			
475.7	2. MARIA ACKERMAN	237.85	x		<u></u>	x
SIF OIDAK	1. NICHOLAS JOSE	105.95	X			
211.9	2. MARY LOPÉZ	105.95	х			
	2,780.60	2,360.20	-0-	-0-	420.40 [08]	