## **RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** (Approving the Appointment of Mr. Malcolm G. Lewis as Executive Director for the Department of Public Safety)

#### RESOLUTION NO. 13-008

1	WHEREAS, Article VII Section 2(e) of the Tohono O'odham Constitution empowers the Chairman,						
2	with "the approval of the Tohono O'odham Council, to appoint the treasurer, and						
3	other officers and heads of all governmental departments, who shall serve until						
4	replaced at the request of the chairman"; and						
5							
	WHEREAS, Chairman Ned Norris, Jr. has identified Mr. Malcolm G. Lewis as the appointee for the						
6	Executive Director for the Department of Public Safety and the appointment has been						
7	reviewed by the Legislative Domestic Affairs Committee; and						
8	WHEREAS, the Chairman has determined that Mr. Malcolm G. Lewis is qualified for the position						
9	of Executive Director for the Department of Public Safety.						
10	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council does hereby						
11	approve the appointment of Mr. Malcolm G. Lewis as Executive Director for the						
12	Department of Public Safety and Mr. Malcolm G. Lewis shall serve until replaced at the						
13	request of the chairperson of the Tobono O'odham Nation.						
14	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the $07^{TH}$ Day						
15 16	of <u>JANUARY</u> , 2013 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,579.90</u> FOR; <u>200.70</u>						
17	AGAINST; [04] NOT VOTING; and <u>-0</u> -ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article						
18	VII, Section 2 (e) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono						
19	O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48						
20	Stat. 984).						
21							
22	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL						
23	$\Lambda < 1/\Lambda$						
24	huitt. In s						
25	MMULLA X TZCL						
26	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman						
27	initial for the second se						
28	14 day of 11/1/1/ , 2013						
29							
30							
31	AT/TEST:						
32 33	Gumellin						
34	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary						
35	$ \mu  = \int_{-\infty}^{\infty} d\mu $						
36	1 day of, 2013						
37							
38							
39							
40							
41							

**RESOLUTION NO. 13-008** (Approving the Appointment of Mr. Malcolm G. Lewis as Executive Director for the Department of Public Safety) Page 2 of 2 Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the \_\_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_\_\_, 2013 at 5.00 \_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_ o'clock, \_\_\_\_\_\_\_.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his fature to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL mothy load hijn, Legislative Chairman [X] APPROVED on the \_//\_ day of nna , 2013 at 11:49 o'clock, 1 [ ] DISAPPROVED NED NOKRIS, IR., CHAIRMAN **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the  $-10^{\circ}$  day of \_\_\_, 2013, at <u>]& %</u>o'clock, \_\_\_\_.M. **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** 

# ACTION: APPROVING THE APPOINTMENT OF MR. MALCOLM G. LEWIS AS EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

# MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN SANDRA ORTEGA

### SECOND: COUNCILMAN HILARION CAMPUS

DATE: JANUARY 07, 2013

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 342.0	<ol> <li>FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)</li> <li>FRANCES G. ANTONE (Absent)</li> </ol>	171.0	X			<u> </u>
	(Vernon Smith)(Present)	171.0	X			
CHUKUT KUK 302.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams)	151.10	x			
	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ()	151.10	x			
GU ACHI 244.9	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	122.45	x			
	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45	x			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	113.35	x		X	
226.7	2. PAMELA ANGHILL	113.35	x			
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)	93.15	x			
186.3	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	93.15	x			
PISINEMO 200.7	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Absent) (Tony Murrietta)(Present)	100.35		x	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
200.7	2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35		x	х	
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	102.30	x			
204.6	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS (Racheal Vilson-Stoner)	107.90	x			
215.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	107.90	x		X	
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Anthony J. Rios)	84.90	x			
169.8	2. FREDÉRICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90	x			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull)	237.85	x			
475.7	2. MARIA ACKERMAN	237.85	х			
SIF OIDAK	1. NICHOLAS JOSE	105.95	x		x	
211.9	2. MARY LOPEZ	105.95	x		,	
	2,780.60	2,579.90	200.70	[04]	-0-	