RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving the Reclamation Maintenance Plan Agreement for the Reclaimed Area of the Asarco Mission Mine)

RESOLUTION NO. 13-018

_		ALGOLUTION NO. <u>13-018</u>
1	WHEREAS	, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "consult,
2	-	negotiate and conclude agreements and contracts on behalf of the Tohono O'odham
3		Nation with Federal, State and local governments" (Constitution of the Tohono
4		O'odham Nation, Article VI, Section 1(f)); and
5	WHEREAS,	, on July 1, 2008, the Tohono O'odham Nation ("Nation") entered into a Settlement
6		Agreement ("Agreement") pursuant to Resolution 08-095 regarding a reclamation plan
7		for the Mission Mine; and
8	WHEREAS,	the Agreement included \$33 million to fund reclamation on the tribal portion of the
9		Asarco Mission Mine and established a reclamation account; and
10	WHEREAS,	within the leased areas, which consists of a total acreage of 5,120 acres, the Nation
11		owns 520 acres, or a 10.16% interest, with the remaining acreage consisting of allotted
12		lands; and
13	WHEREAS,	the Agreement also established a Panel of representatives from each of the parties to
14		the Agreement, who were responsible for ensuring that the reclamation is completed
15		and to expend the settlement funds to accomplish the work outlined in the Mining and
16		Reclamation Plan ("MARP"), which was a part of the Agreement; and
17	WHEREAS,	pursuant to the Agreement, \$4 million was transferred by the Panel from the MARP
18	-	reclamation account into a separate Reclamation Maintenance Fund to be used to
19		maintain the reclaimed lands in a safe and stable condition; and
20	WHEREAS,	the Agreement provides that this Reclamation Maintenance Fund be managed by
21		representatives from the Nation, the San Xavier District, and the San Xavier Allottee
22		Association; and
23	WHEREAS,	the Asarco Working Group, which is composed of representatives from the Nation, the
24		San Xavier District, and the San Xavier Allottee Association, have drafted a
25		Reclamation Maintenance Plan Agreement to establish a maintenance program and
26		provide guidelines for expenditures made from the Reclamation Maintenance Fund;
27		and
28	WHEREAS,	the Reclamation Maintenance Plan Agreement provides a Committee will be formed
29		consisting of one representative from the Nation, the San Xavier District, and the San
30		Xavier Allottee Association; and
31	WHEREAS,	the Reclamation Maintenance Plan Agreement provides that maintenance measures
32		that may be undertaken by the Committee to maintain the reclaimed lands in a safe

RESOLUTION NO. <u>13-018</u> (Approving the Reclamation Maintenance Plan Agreement for the Reclaimed Area of the Asarco Mission Mine) Page 2 of 3 and stable condition include: (1) erosion repair; (2) maintenance of roads and drainage channels; (3) fence and gate repair; (4) invasive species removal; (5) revegetation; (6) removal and exclusion of livestock; and (7) storm water maintenance; and

WHEREAS, the Reclamation Maintenance Plan Agreement provides that the San Xavier District,
 Natural Resources Department, will authorize and enforce all contracts approved by
 the Committee, in accordance with San Xavier District contracting processes; and

8 WHEREAS, the Reclamation Maintenance Plan provides that the San Xavier District, Natural 9 Resources Department, will provide the administrative support associated with 10 invoicing and obtaining approvals for work approved by the Committee and will be 11 compensated accordingly from the Reclamation Maintenance Fund; and

WHEREAS, the Agricultural and Natural Resources Committee has reviewed the Reclamation
 Maintenance Plan Agreement and recommends that it be presented to the full
 Legislative Council for decision.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it approves
 the Reclamation Maintenance Plan Agreement substantially in the form attached

16 The Reclamation Maintenance Fian Agreement substantially in the form attached
 17 hereto and authorizes and directs the Chairman of the Nation to execute it and any
 18 related documents reasonably necessary to implement the Reclamation Maintenance
 19 Plan Agreement.

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>09TH</u> Day
of <u>JANUARY</u>, <u>2013</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,368.0</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u>
AGAINST; <u>412.60[04]</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[02]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council
by Article VI, Section 1 (f) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the
Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant
Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June
18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL mothy Jøaquin, Legislative Chairman dav of 2013

28 29

30 31

1

2

3

4

36 37

38 39

40

RESOLUTION NO. 13-018 (Approving the Reclamation Maintenance Plan Agreement for the Reclaimed Area of the Asarco Mission Mine) Page 3 of 3

ATTEST: **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** Almany day of ___, 2013. Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the _____ day of ______MMMM ______, 2013 at ______ o'clock, _____.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. **O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** slative Chairman [V] APPROVED _, 2013 o, Phunomm I | DISAPPROVED o'clock ÖRRIS, IR., CHAIR **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the ___//__ day of ____, 2013, at <u>4:42</u> o'clock, <u>P</u>.M. **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary**

ACTION: APPROVING THE RECLAMATION MAINTENANCE PLAN AGREEMENT FOR THE RECLAIMED AREA OF THE ASARCO MISSION MINE

MOVED: COUNCILMAN HILARION CAMPUS

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN LORRAINE EILER

DATE: JANUARY 09, 2013

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 342.0	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)	171.0	x			
542.0	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)	171.0	x			
CHUKUT KUK 302.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams)	151.10	x			
	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ	151.10	x			
GU ACHI 244.9	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	122.45	X			
	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45	X		X	
GU VO 226.7	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	113.35	x			
	2. PAMELA ANGHILL ()	113.35	x			х
HICKIWAN 186.3	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)	93.15	x			
10010	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	93.15	X			
PISINEMO 200.7	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	100.35			x	
	2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35			Х	
SAN LUCY 204.6	1. LORRAINE EILER	102.30	x			
	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30				
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS (Racheal Vilson-Stoner)	107.90	x			•
215.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	107.90	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Anthony J. Rios)	84.90	x			
169.8	2. FREDERICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90	X			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull)	237.85	x			
475.7	2. MARIA ACKERMAN	237.85	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. NICHOLAS JOSE	105.95			x	
211.9	2. MARY LOPEZ ()	105.95			x	x
	2,780.60	2,368.0	-0-	412.60 [04]	[02]	