## LEGISLATIVE ORDER OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Recognizing the San Lucy District Council Appointment of Diana Manuel as Alternate to Legislative Representative Lorraine Eiler)

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 13-028

1	WHEREAS, the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation empowers the Legislative Council to
2	"enact laws and ordinances for conducting and regulating elections" and provides
3	that the "decision of the Tohono O'odham Council in all election matters, including
4	the eligibility and qualifications of candidates, shall be final" (Constitution, Article VI
5	Section 1(g) and Article X, Section 7); and
6	WHEREAS, during the May 2009 general election, Lorraine Eiler was elected as Legislative Council
7	representative and Charlotte Cadavas her alternate for the San Lucy District; and
8	WHEREAS, on June 9, 2009, alternate Charlotte Cadavas submitted her letter of resignation to
9	then Legislative Council chairman Verlon Jose, leaving the alternate position for San
10	Lucy District vacant; and
11	WHEREAS, on January 23, 2013, the San Lucy District Council appointed Diana Manuel to serve as
12	Representative Lorraine Eiler's alternate on the Legislative Council (San Lucy District
13	Council Resolution No. SL-01-05-13); and
14	WHEREAS, the Legislative Council, as a means of ensuring that each district is fully represented
15	on the Legislative Council, has recognized district council appointments to vacant
16	alternate seats in instances where vacancies have occurred outside of provisions
17	expressly outlined in the Uniform Election Ordinance for filling vacancies.
18	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it recognizes
19	the San Lucy District Council appointment of Diana Manuel to serve as alternate to
20	Legislative Council Representative Lorraine Eiler when Representative Lorraine Eiler
21	is unable to attend a Legislative Council session
26 27 28 29	The foregoing Order was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 28 <sup>TH</sup> day of <u>IANUARY</u> , 2013 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,568.70 FOR; -0-AGAINST; -0-NOT VOTING; and 211.90 [04] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section 1 (g); Article X, Section 7; and Article XII, Section 1 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
30	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
31 32	Innutty mace.
33	wimothy loads in Lagislating Chairman
34	fimothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
35	30 day of Murun, 2013
36	

	LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. <u>13-028</u> (Recognizing the San Lucy District Council Appointment of Diana Manuel as Alternate to Legislative Representative Lorraine Eiler) Page 2 of 2
1	ATTEST:
2 3	Winnelle-
4	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
5	
6	<u>29</u> day of <u>JMMMY</u> , 2013
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12 13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19 20	
20 21	
21 22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29 30	
30 31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	
37	
38 39	
40	
41	

ACTION: RECOGNIZING THE SAN LUCY DISTRICT COUNCIL APPOINTMENT OF DIANA MANUEL AS ALTERNATE

TO LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVE LORRAINE EILER

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES G. ANTONE

SECOND: COUNCILMAN LOUIS LOPEZ

**DATE: JANUARY 28, 2013** 

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)	171.0	Х		**	
342.0	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Absent) (Vernon Smith) (Present)	171.0	x			
CHUKUT KUK 302.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams)	151.10	Х			
302.2	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ  ( )	151.10	x			X
GU ACHI 244.9	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	122.45	х			
	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45	x			
GU VO 226.	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	113.35	x			
<i>22</i> 0.7	2. PAMELA ÄNGHILL (Roselda Lewis)	113.35	x			<u> </u>
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)	93.15	X	<u> </u>		<u> </u>
186.3	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	93.15	x			
PISINEMO	CHESTER ANTONE     (Tony Murrietta )     EDWARD MANUEL     (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35	x			
200.7		100.35	x			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	102.30	х			
204.6	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS (Racheal Vilson-Stoner)	107.90	Х			Х
215.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	107.90	х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Anthony J. Rios)	84.90	Х		<del></del>	
169.8	2. FREDÉRICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90	Х			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull)	237.85	х		·	
475.7	2. MARIA ACKÉRMAN	237.85	Х		,	
SIF OIDAK	1. NICHOLAS JOSE	105.95	-			х
211.9	2. MARY LOPÉZ ( )	105.95		į		x
	TOTAL	2,780.60	2,568.70	-0-	-0-	211.90 [04]