RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Extending TERO Commissioners' Suspension)

RESOLUTION NO. 13-040

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the authority to enact
2	ordinances "to promote, protect and provide for public health, peace, morals,
3	education and general welfare of the Tohono O'odham Nation and its members" and
4	the power "to provide for, appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe
5	the duties and powers of committees, boards, officers and agents" (Constitution,
6	Article VI, Section 1(c)(2) and 1(b)); and
7	WHEREAS, in 1985 the Papago Council enacted the Papago Employment Rights Ordinance ("TERO
8	Ordinance"), thereby establishing the Papago Employment Rights Commission (a.k.a.,
9	"TERO Commission") and vesting the Council with the power to select and appoint
10	TERO commissioners (TERO Ordinance, Ordinance No. 01-85, Section 6(B)(2)); and
11	WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 6(C) of the TERO Ordinance, the TERO Commission "shall report
12	directly to the [Legislative] Council."; and
13	WHEREAS, on September 27, 2012, the Legislative Council suspended the TERO Commission for
14	six months (Resolution No. 12-384); and
15	WHEREAS, it is in the Nation's best interest to extend the TERO Commissioners' suspension for
16	another six months.
17	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby extends
18	the suspension of TERO Commissioners Shawn Ramon, Karen Ventura, Juan Zazueta,
19	Timothy Toro, and Norman Garcia from the TERO Commission until 11:59 p.m. on
20	September 27, 2013 except as otherwise provided by subsequent action of the
21	Legislative Council.
22	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the commissioners suspended by this resolution shall not
23	participate in the affairs of the TERO Office or Commission, have access to TERO Office
24	or Commission records, property, funds, accounts, or credit cards or otherwise
25	exercise any authority as a TERO Commissioner; the suspended commissioners shall
26	immediately return any TERO Commission or TERO Office records and property,
27	including but not limited to all keys, vehicles, computers, data, files, funds, or credit
28	cards now in their possession or control to the Nation's chairperson or the
29	chairperson's designee.
30	

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>13-040</u> (Extending TERO Commissioners' Suspension) Page 2 of 3							
1	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that during the term of the commissioners' suspension, the chairperson							
2	of the Tohono O'odham Nation or the chairperson's designee is vested with exclusive							
3	authority to manage and expend funds under the Commission's FY 2013 budgets, shall							
4	exercise the Commission's signature authority, and shall secure and/or take control							
5	of all TERO Commission property and assets, including but not limited to all bank							
6	accounts, credit cards and accounts, real and personal property, financial and other							
7	records and documents.							
8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>06TH</u> Day of <u>FEBRUARY, 2013</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,780.60</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[05]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 of Article VI, Section 1 <u>(b)(c)(2)(d) and (1)</u> of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).							
17	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
18 19								
20	Aurand Marine Rs							
21	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman							
22 23	11 days Falls and and							
24	day of Pelosunery, 2013							
25	ATTEST:							
26 27	Warnellin							
28	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary							
29	11 . Achange							
30 31	_//_day of/////////////////////////////////							
	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham							
33	Nation on the day of, 2013 at, 2013 at, 2013 at, 2014 at							
34	pursuant to the provisions of Section 4 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective							
	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.							
37								
38	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
39								
40	Ale and A							
41 42	Kinene filler for							
43	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman							
44								

RESOLUTION NO. <u>13-040</u> (Extending TERO Commissioners' Suspension) Page 3 of 3 on the D day of Jubray, 2013 APPROVED at 8.13 o'clock, 1.M. [] DISAPPROVED NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 12 day of ___, 2013, at <u>9:55</u>0'clock, <u>A.</u>M. **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** 23 26 27 52

ACTION: EXTENDING TERO COMMISSIONERS' SUSPENSION

MOVED: VICE CHAIRMAN EDWARD MANUEL

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN ETHEL GARCIA

DATE: FEBRUARY 06, 2013

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 342.0	 FRANCES MIGUEL(Absent) (Roberta Harvey)(Present) FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith) 	171.0	x			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	171.0	x			
302.2	(Sara Mae Williams) 2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ()	151.10	x			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	122.45	x			
244.9	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45	X			
GU VO 226.7	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	113.35	x			<u> </u>
	2. PAMELA ANGHILL ()	113.35	x			x
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)	93.15	x			·
186.3	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	93.15	x			x
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	100.35	x			x
200.7	2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35	x			
SAN LUCY 204.6	1. LORRAINE EILER (Absent) (Diana Manuel) (Present)	102.30	x			
	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30	x			X
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS (Racheal Vilson-Stoner)	107.90	x			
215.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	107.90	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Anthony J. Rios)	84.90	x			
169.8	2. FREDÉRICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90	x			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull)	237.85	x			
475.7	2. MARIA ACKERMAN	237.85	x			
SIF OIDAK	1. NICHOLAS JOSE	105.95	x			
211.9	2. MARY LOPEZ	105.95	x			x
	2,780.60	2,780.60	-0-	-0-	[05]	