RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Confirming the Appointment of Ms. Marcinda Celaya to the Miss Tohono O'odham Nation Committee)

RESOLUTION NO. 13-120

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3		committees, boards, officers, and agents (Article VI, Section 1(b) Constitution of the
4		Tohono O'odham Nation); and
5	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council has enacted the "Miss Tohono O'odham Nation Committee
6		Bylaws" (Resolution No, 11-421) establishing a committee which shall have ultimate
7		accountability to carry out the duties set forth in the Bylaws (Section 3101 (A)); and
8	WHEREAS,	${\bf ``Members\ of\ the\ Committee\ shall\ serve\ staggered\ terms.\ Of\ the\ initial\ members, three}$
9		shall serve a term of three years and two shall serve a term of four years. Thereafter,
10		all terms shall be for four years. Members shall remain in office until their successors
11		have been appointed and may serve unlimited number of terms." (Section 3102 (C));
12		and
13	WHEREAS,	the Bylaws provide that "The Chairman of the Nation and a majority of the Legislative
14		Human Resources Development Committee shall nominate individuals for
15		membership positions. The Legislative Human Resources Development Committee
16		shall assign a proposed term of office to each nominee" (Section 3102 (E) (2)); and
17	WHEREAS,	the Bylaws provide that "The Legislative Human Resources Development Committee
18		shall introduce the nominees and their proposed terms of office to the Legislative
19		Council for appointment. Nominees must be appointed by Legislative Council
20		Resolution" (Section 3102 (E) (3)); and
21	WHEREAS.	the Chairman of the Nation and the Human Resources Development Committee
22	,	recommends appointing Ms. Marcinda Celaya who is willing and qualified to serve as
23		a member to the Miss Tohono O'odham Nation Committee.
24	NOW, THE	${f REFORE}, {f BEITRESOLVED}$ that the ${f TohonoO'odhamLegislativeCouncilhereby appoints}$
25		Ms. Marcinda Celaya to Miss Tohono O'odham Nation Committee for a three-year term
26		beginning April 2013 and ending on April 2016 provided that she shall continue to
27		serve until replaced by her successor.
28	į	

	(Confirming the Appointment of Ms. M Page 2 of 3	Marcinda Celaya to the Miss Tohono O'odham Nation Committee								
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>04TH</u> Day of <u>APRIL</u> , <u>2013</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,780.60</u> FOR; <u>-0</u> AGAINST; <u>-0-NOT VOTING</u> ; and <u>[02]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section 1 (b) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).									
9		тфнолоффорнам legislative council								
10		Mars Hill Commerce								
11 12		////helly XIT Faller								
13		Timothy Joanum, Legislative Chairman								
14		15 day of 41111 , 2013								
15 16		1 day 01								
17										
18	ATTEST:									
19	(IMmall IDA									
21	20 Www.ll/L 21 Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary									
22										
23	aday of april	2013.								
24 25	Said Resolution was submitted for a	approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odhan								
26	Nation on the									
27	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective									
28		lure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours o								
29	submittal.	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
30 31		CHONO O ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
32		hustly may lo								
33		///micrex XII 5 cm								
34		Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman								
35		0 30								
36		$\bigcap \mathcal{A}$								
37 38	I APPROVED	on the, 2013								
39	10 1 12 1 10 1 22	0.11								
40	[] DISAPPROVED	at <u>4', 10</u> o'clock, <u>M</u> .M.								
41		$\lambda \wedge \lambda \wedge \lambda$								
42										
43 44		NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN								
45		TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION								
46										
47										
48										
49 50										
50 51										
52										
53										

	KESULUTION NO. 13-12U
	(Confirming the Appointment of Ms. Marcinda Celaya to the Miss Tohono O'odham Nation Committee)
	Page 3 of 3
1	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>/d</u> day of
2	A CONTROL OF THE BEGINNING OF THE AND
2	//M/ 2013 at 8 4 o'clock A M
3	, 2013, at <u>6 - ()</u> 0 clock, <u>eg</u> .wi.
5	1//////////////////////////////////////
6	- WIVILLUIG
7	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
23 24	
25	
26	
20 27	
28	
29 20	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	
37	
38	
39	
40	
41	
42	
43	
44	
45	
46	
47	
48	
49 50	
50	li de la companya de
	II .

ACTION: CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF MS. MARCINDA CELAYA TO THE MISS TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

COMMITTEE

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN SANDRA ORTEGA

SECOND: COUNCILMAN CHESTER ANTONE

DATE:

APRIL 04, 2013

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 342.0	FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey) FRANCES G. ANTONE (Absent) (Vernon Smith) (Present)	171.0	X		-	
		171.0	x			
CHUKUT KUK 302.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams) 2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ()	151.10	X			
002.2		151.10	x			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	122.45	х			
244.9	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45	х			X
GU VO 226.7	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	113.35	x			
	2. PAMELA ANGHILL	113.35	X			
HICKIWAN 186.3	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	93.15	х			
100.3		93.15	x			
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta) 2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	100.35	х			·
200.7		100.35	X			
SAN LUCY 204.6	1. LORRAINE EILER (Diana Manuel)	102.30	x			
204.0	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30	X			
SAN XAVIER	HILARION CAMPUS (Racheal Vilson-Stoner)	107.90	x			
215.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	107.90	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Anthony J. Rios) 2. FREDERICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)	84.90	Х			
169.8		84.90	х			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Absent) (Kimberly Mull)(Present) 2. MARIA ACKERMAN ()	237.85	x			x
475.7		237.85	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. NICHOLAS JOSE	105.95	х			
211.9	2. MARY LOPÉZ	105.95	X			
	TOTAL	2,780.60	2,780.60	-0-	-0-	[02]