# **RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** (Appointing Paul Andrew to the Election Board for a Five-Year Term Ending July 31, 2018)

## RESOLUTION NO. 13-186

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2	appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3	committees, boards, officers and agents (Article VI, Section 1(b) Constitution of the
4	Tohono O'odham Nation); and
5	WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 03-86, the Uniform Election Ordinance ("Election Ordinance"),
6	authorizes the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council to appoint members of the
7	Tohono O'odham Election Board (Election Ordinance, Article II, Section 1(B)); and
8	WHEREAS, the Election Ordinance provides that board members shall be "appointed $\dots$ for terms
9	of five years, or until their successors are appointed and qualified" and further "that
10	appointments to the board shall be made in such a way and for such terms that their
11	terms shall be staggered so that the term of office of only one member will end in any
12	single year." (Election Ordinance, Article II, Section 1(B)); and
13	WHEREAS,Paul Andrew was appointed to the Election Board by Resolution No. 08-463 for a term
14	ending July 31, 2013 and he continues to serve until his successor is appointed; and
15	WHEREAS, the Rules Committee has solicited and interviewed qualified bilingual members of the
16	Nation to serve on the Election Board; and
17	WHEREAS, the Rules Committee recommends that Paul Andrew be appointed to the Election
18	Board for a term ending July 31, 2018.
19	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approves the
20	appointment of Paul Andrew to the Election Board beginning on August 1, 2013 and
21	ending July 31, 2018; provided that he shall continue to serve until replaced by a
22	successor who has been appointed and qualified.
24 25 26 27 28 29 30	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the $22^{ND}$ Day of <u>MAY, 2013</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,780.60FOR; -0- AGAINST; [01] NOT VOTING; and [01] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section 1 (b);Article X, Section 7 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
31	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
32 33	Multin I
34	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
35	ay of <u>Man</u> , registrative Chairman
	~, 2013

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>13-186</u> (Appointing Paul Andrew to the Election Board for a Five-Year Term Ending July 31, 2018) Page 2 of 2	
1	ATTEST:	
2 3	armine 110h	
	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary	
	28 A C D L (() C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C	
5	$\frac{\partial \mathcal{B}}{\partial t}$ day of $\frac{\partial \mathcal{B}}{\partial t}$ , 2013.	
6	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham	ĺ
7 8	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the charminal of the robotic O durant Nation on the $\chi$ day of $M_{AL}$ , 2013 at $2^{\ell}/4$ o'clock, $P$ , M.	
9	Nation on the <u>k</u> day of <u>May</u> , 2013 at <u>2°/4</u> o'clock, <u>f</u> .M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective	
10	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of	
11	submittal.	
12		ļ
13	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL	ļ
14		I
15	Manuel Manuel	I
16	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman	l
17	Timotny joaquin, Legislative Chairman	
18 19		ŀ
20		l
21		ł
22	approved on the day of day of 2013	ľ
23		
24	[ ] APPROVED     on the day of, 2013       [ ] DISAPPROVED     at o'clock,M.	
25	(Dricalane Mikomero/Vire Chairmonan)	
26	( here Day ALV ALLAND ( LAND ALLAND )	ļ
27	A MARINA MA PANNO VUN NAVINO	
28	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN	l
29	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION	l
30 21		ļ
31 32		۱
32 33		l
33 34	$\sim 12$	l
35	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u><math>28</math></u> day of	l
36	m	l
37	<u>May</u> , 2013, at <u>4:45</u> o'clock, <u>p</u> .M.	
38		
39	Chan, all the	ļ
40	<u>- Winderhann</u>	ļ
41	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary	ļ
42 43		ļ
43 44		1
45		
46		
47		
48 49		
47		

# ACTION: APPOINTING PAUL ANDREW TO THE ELECTION BOARD FOR A FIVE-YEAR TERM ENDING JULY 31, 2018

#### **COUNCILWOMAN LORRAINE EILER** MOVED:

### SECOND: COUNCILMAN FREDERICK JOSE

#### DATE: MAY 22, 2013

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 342.0	<ol> <li>FRANCES MIGUEL         <ul> <li>(Roberta Harvey)</li> </ul> </li> <li>FRANCES G. ANTONE (Absent)</li> </ol>	171.0	x			
0.200	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Absent) (Vernon Smith) (Present)	171.0	x			х
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams)	151.10	x			
302.2	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ	151.10	x			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	122.45	x			
244.9	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	122.45	x		X	
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores) 2. PAMELA ANGHILL ()	113.35	x			
226.7		113.35	x			
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)	93.15	x			
186.3	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	93.15	x			
PISINEMO 200.7	<ol> <li>CHESTER ANTONE (Absent) (Tony Murrietta)(Present)</li> <li>EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)</li> </ol>	100.35	x			
		100.35	x			
SAN LUCY 204.6	1. LORRAINE EILER (Diana Manuel)	102.30	x			
	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	102.30	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS (Racheal Vilson-Stoner)	107.90	х			
215.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Absent) (Eugene Enis)(Present)	107.90	x			
SCHUK TOAK	<ol> <li>FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Anthony J. Rios)</li> <li>FREDERICK JOSE (Phyllis Cachora)</li> </ol>	84.90	x			
169.8		84.90	x			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Absent) (Kimberly Mull) (Present)	237.85	x			
475.7	2. MARIA ACKERMAN	237.85	x			
SIF OIDAK 211.9	1. NICHOLAS JOSE	105.95	x			
	2. MARY LOPEZ ()	105.95	x			
TOTAL		2,780.60	2,780.60	-0-	[01]	[01]