## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving the FY2014 Budget for the Land Acquisition Fund for the Tohono O'odham Nation)

**RESOLUTION NO. 13-291** 

1	WHEREAS,	, the Tohono O'odham Nation ("Nation") has a policy of consolidating lands within the
2		Nation into tribal ownership, as stated in the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham
3		Nation, Article XVI, Section 9, by acquiring lands, natural resources, including
4		minerals and water rights within or adjacent to its boundaries, or which originally
5		were a part of the historic Papagueria; and
6	WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, Article XVI, Section 10 directs that a
7		portion of the Nation's revenue from natural resources be dedicated to reacquiring
8		lands, natural resources, minerals and water rights; and
9	WHEREAS,	Resolution No. 2000-057 established the Land Acquisition Fund; and
10	WHEREAS,	beginning in Fiscal Year 2001, ten percent (10%) of the Nation's share of mining
11		proceeds were set aside and placed in the Land Acquisition Fund, from which
12		acquisitions of land both within and outside the boundaries of the Nation could be
13		made, subject to appropriation by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council; and
14	WHEREAS,	there is sufficient funds in the established Land Acquisition Fund; and
15	WHEREAS,	the Realty Office is authorized to negotiate land acquisitions and delinquent tax
16		purchases in consultation with the Agricultural & Natural Resources Committee, the
17		Mine Inspector (for patented and unpatented mining claims) and the Attorney
18		$General's \ Office, subject to final approval \ by the \ Tohono\ O'odham \ Legislative\ Council,$
19		and is authorized to expend funds from the Land Acquisition Fund for pre-purchase
20		costs; and
21	WHEREAS,	the Realty Office prepared a budget for the Land Acquisition Fund for Fiscal Year 2014
22		and any funds not used in the FY 2014 will be available for the next fiscal year; and
23	WHEREAS,	the Agricultural & Natural Resources and the Budget & Finance Committees of the
24		To honoO' od hamLegislativeCouncilhavereviewedtheFY2014LandAcquisitionFund
25	ļ	Budget and recommend approval by the Legislative Council.
26	NOW, THER	EFORE, IT BE RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby approves
27	1	the Fiscal Year 2014 Land Acquisition Fund budget in the amount of \$500,000.00, from
28	1	the Land Acquisition Fund account and any funds unexpended be returned to the Land
29	Į.	Acquisition Fund account.
]	ı	

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>13-291</u> (Approving the FY2014 Budget for the Land Acquisition Fund for the Tohono O'odham Nation) Page 2 of 3							
1	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby authorizes the							
2	Chairperson and any designated official to expend and administer the budget a							
3	attached, provided that any amendments affecting the funds or funding level i							
4	submitted for further prior approval by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council.							
5								
6	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 24 <sup>TH</sup> Da							
7 8	of <u>JULY</u> , <u>2013</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,722.3</u> FOR; <u>-0-AGAINST</u>							
9	<u>-0-NOT VOTING</u> ; and <u>224.2[07]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI Section 1 (d)(2) and Article XVI, Section 9 & 10 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation							
10	adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deput							
11	Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Ac							
12	of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).							
13	<del>{</del>							
14								
15	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
16 17	$I_{L} = I_{L} \Lambda$							
18	1 Multary 10							
19	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman							
20	dinothy joaghth, Legislative Chairman  30 day of, 2013							
21	7.2013							
22	ATTEST:							
23								
24	<u> </u>							
25	Evonne Wilson, Logislative Secretary							
26	day of, 2013.							
27								
	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham							
29	Nation on the 30 day of 122, 2013 at 9:28 o'clock, A.M.							
30	pursuant to the provisions of Section of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective							
31	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of							
32 33	submittal.							
34								
35	TOHONO OLODHAM I FOLGI ATIME COVINGIA							
36	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
37	I have the land in							
38	//WILLY WITGU							
39	Jimothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman							
40								
41								
42								
43								
44								
45								
46								

Page 3 of 3	30 $0$
[X] APPROVED	on the $\frac{30}{2}$ day of $\frac{2013}{2}$
] DISAPPROVED	at 3/36 o'clock, .M.
	$\times$ $\wedge$ $\wedge$ $\wedge$
	Me like
	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN
	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
	2)
	e Secretary on the day of
(A)//x , 201:	3, at <u>4.35</u> o'clock, <u>P</u> .M.
	——————————————————————————————————————
Monnell In	
Evonne Wilson, Legislative	Secretary
	·

ACTION: APPROVING THE FY2014 BUDGET FOR THE LAND ACQUISITION FUND FOR THE TOHONO O'ODHAM

NATION

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN LORRAINE EILER

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN MARY LOPEZ

DATE: JULY 24, 2013

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 224.2	1. LUCINDA ALLEN (Nicholas Jose) 2. MARY LOPEZ ( )	112.1 112.1	x x			
SELLS 502.0	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull) 2. BARBARA HAVIER ( )	251.0 251.0	x x			X
SCHUK TOAK 174.2	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Anthony J. Rios) 2. QUINTIN C. LOPEZ (John Fendenheim)	87.1 87.1	x x			:
SAN XAVIER 224.2	1. HILARION CAMPUS ( ) 2. ADAM ANDREWS (Rachael Vilson-Stoner)	112.1 112.1				X X
SAN LUCY 219.6	1. DIANA MANUEL (Gloria Ramirez) 2. JANA MONTANA ( )	109.8	x x			X
PISINEMO 210.6	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta) 2. EDWARD MANUEL, SR. ( )	105.3 105.3	x x			х
HICKIWAN 196.9	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA (Manuel Osequeda, Jr.)	98.45 98.45	x x			x
HIA CED 19.6	1. LORRAINE EILER (Jolene Garcia) 2. MICHAEL FLORES ( )	9.8 9.8	x x		•	
GU VO 241.0	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores) 2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Jeffery Antone, Sr.)	120.5 120.5	X X		7.00	
GU ACHI 257.3	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN  ( ) 2. LORETTA LEWIS (Absent) (Louis Johnson) (Present)	128.65 128.65	X X		j	10
CHUKUT KUK 319.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Marlakay C. Henry) 2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ( )	159.6 159.6	X X			x
BABOQUIVARI 357.7	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey) 2. VERNON J. SMITH (Gloria Zazueta)	178.85 178.85	X X			• •
	TOTAL	2,946.5	2,722.3	-0-	-0-	224.2 [07]