RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Geneva Acosta to the Election Board)

RESOLUTION NO. 13-321

1	
1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2	appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3	committees, boards, officers and agents (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation,
4	Article VI, Section 1(b)); and
5	WHEREAS, the Uniform Election Ordinance ("Election Ordinance") authorizes the Tohono
6	O'odham Legislative Council to appoint members of the Tohono O'odham Election
7	Board (12 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Article II, Section 1(B)); and
8	WHEREAS, the Election Ordinance provides that board members shall be "appointed for terms
9	of five years, or until their successors are appointed and qualified" and further "that
10	appointments to the board shall be made in such a way and for such terms that their
11	terms shall be staggered so that the term of office of only one member will end in any
12	single year." (12 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Article II, Section 1(B)); and
13	WHEREAS, by Resolution No. 10-259, Tony Murrietta was appointed to serve a term ending July 31,
14	2014, however, on February 20, 2013 Mr. Murrietta resigned his seat on the Election
15	Board; and
16	WHEREAS, the Election Ordinance vests the Legislative Council with authority to appoint a
17	successor to complete the five-year Election Board term that will expire July 31, 2014;
18	and
19	WHEREAS, the Rules Committee, having legislative oversight of the Election Board, has
20	interviewed qualified bilingual members of the Nation to serve the remainder of this
21	term; and
22	WHEREAS, the Rules Committee recommends that Geneva Acosta be appointed to the Election
23	Board to complete the five-year term ending July 31, 2014.
24	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED the Legislative Council hereby appoints Geneva Acosta as a
25	member of the Election Board upon the effective date of this resolution to complete
26	the five-year term ending July 31, 2014, or until her successor is appointed and
27	qualified.
28 29	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 06^{TH} Day of AUGUST, 2013 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,722.3 FOR; -0-
30	AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and 224.2[08] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by
31	Article VI, Section 1 (b) and Section 1(g); Article X, Section 7 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by
32 33	the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to
34	Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
35	

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>13-321</u> (Appointing Geneva Acosta to the Election Board) Page 2 of 2
1	тонологорнам legislative council
2	muntle Com.
3	HIMACO CHI TOLLON
4 5	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
6	
7	ATTEST:
8	-CVC IV h / SLACE
9	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary day of
11	
12	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'pdhan
13	Nation on the g day of Myul, 2013 at 10:00 o'clock, A .M.
14 15	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of
	submittal.
17	
18	TQHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
19	$\Lambda_{-} = \Lambda_{L} = \Lambda_{-}$
20	Must to Comment of the comment of th
21	//wheex x 1 1 Ge
22	(Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
23	
24	
25 26	
	[] APPROVED on the N day of Lean, 2013
28	(a) All Royald (b) day of (c) (c) (d)
29	[] DISAPPROVED at 2' 07 o'clock, 1.M.
30	
31	$X \setminus A \setminus A$
32	
33	NED NORKIS, JR., CHAIRMAN ↓
34	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
35 36	
37	
38	
39	/3
40	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the $\underline{\mathscr{C}}$ day of
41	
42	(1) 19 19 19 19 19 19 19 19 19 19 19 19 19
43	
44 45	Mindeller
46	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

ACTION: APPOINTING GENEVA ACOSTA TO THE ELECTION BOARD

MOVED: VICE CHAIRMAN EDWARD MANUEL SECOND: COUNCILMAN BILLMAN LOPEZ

DATE: AUGUST 06, 2013

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 224.2	1. LUCINDA ALLEN (Nicholas Jose)	112.1	X			x
	2. MARY LOPEZ ()	112.1	X			
SELLS 502.0	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull)	251.0	X			
	2. BARBARA HAVIER	251.0	X			
SCHUK TOAK 174.2	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Anthony J. Rios)	87.1	x			
	2. QUINTIN C. LOPEZ (John Fendenheim)	87.1	Х			Х
SAN XAVIER 224.2	1. HILARION CAMPUS	112.1				x
224.2	2. ADAM ANDREWS (Rachel Vilson-Stoner)	112.1				X
SAN LUCY 219.6	1. DIANA MANUEL (Gloria Ramirez)	109.8	x			
217.0	2. JANA MONTANA	109.8	x			Х
PISINEMO 210.6	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	105.3	х			
210.0	2. EDWARD MANUEL, SR.	105.3	X			
HICKIWAN 196.9	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)	98.45	х			х
	2. SANDRA ORTEGA (Manuel Osequeda, Jr.)	98.45	х			
HIA CED 19.6	1. LORRAINE EILER (Jolene Garcia)	9.8	x			
-	2. MICHAEL FLORES	9.8	X			Х
GU VO 241.0	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	120.5	x			
	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Jeffery Antone, Sr.)	120.5	Х			Х
GU ACHI 257.3	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	128.65	x			
	2. LORETTA LEWIS (Louis Johnson)	128.65	X			
CHUKUT KUK 319.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Marlakay C. Henry)	159.6	х			
	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ()	159.6	X			
BABOQUIVARI 357.7	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)	178.85	х			
	2. VERNON J. SMITH (Gloria Zazueta)	178.85	X			
	TOTAL	2,946.5	2,722.3	-0-	-0-	224.2 [08]