RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians' 2013 70th Annual Convention)

RESOLUTION NO. 13-387

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to consult with					
2		the federal government and other Indian tribes on all matters within the					
3		Council's authority (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, Article VI, 1(f));					
4		and					
5	WHEREAS,	the National Congress of American Indians ("NCAI") will hold its 2013 70 th Annual					
6		Convention in Tulsa, Oklahoma from October 14-18, 2013; and					
7	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation has worked closely with the NCAI and with Indian					
8		tribes across the United States to address numerous national issues of					
9		importance to Indian people; and					
10	WHEREAS,	it is the best interest of the Tohono O'odham Nation to continue its national-					
11		level involvement in these issues by participating in the NCAI 2013 Annual					
12		Convention.					
13	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby						
14		authorizes Chairman Ned Norris, Jr. to serve as the Nation's voting delegate and					
15		Legislative Chairman Timothy Joaquin to serve as the Nation's alternate voting					
16		delegate to the NCAI 2013 70th Annual Convention; provided that the voting					
17		delegate, alternate, and any Legislative Council representatives attending the					
18		NCAI Annual Convention are authorized to present and advocate for resolutions					
19		and positions previously approved by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council.					
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27	day of SEPTH FOR; <u>-0</u> - AGA Council Artic the Tohono (Secretary - 1	g Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 19 TH MBER, 2013 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,946.5 INST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [04] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the cle VI, Section 1(f) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of (48 Stat.984).					
28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL White Chairman A day of Legislative Chairman A day of Lytenke, 2013					

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>13-387</u> (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Indians' 2013 70 th Annual Convention) Page 2 of 2	Delegation to the National Congress of American
1 2 3 4 5	ATTEST: Conne Wilson, Legislative Secretary Do day of Lunin , 2013	-
6 7 8 9 10 11 12	Said Resolution was submitted for app O'odham Nation on the day of pursuant to the provisions of Section !	oroval/to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono
13 14 15 16 17 18	nours of Submittal.	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Timothy Joannia, Legislative Chairman
19 20 21 22 23 24 25	[] APPROVED	on the Ol day of October, 2013 at 10:300'clock, a.m.
26 27 28 29 30 31 32		NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
33 34 35 36 37	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on	
38 39 40 41 42 43	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary	<u>~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~</u>
44 45 46 47 48 49		
50		

ACTION: AUTHORIZING TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION DELEGATION TO THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN

INDIANS' 2013 70th ANNUAL CONVENTION

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN SANDRA ORTEGA

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN LORRAINE EILER

DATE: SEPTEMBER 19, 2013

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
SIF OIDAK 224.2	1. LUCINDA ALLEN (Nicholas Jose)	112.1	X			
	2. MARY LOPEZ	112.1	x			
SELLS 502.0	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull)	251.0	X			
302.0	2. BARBARA HAVIER	251.0	X			X
SCHUK TOAK 174.2	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Anthony J. Rios)	87.1	X			Х
174.2	2. QUINTIN C. LOPEZ (John Fendenheim)	87.1	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS	112.1	Х		-	х
224.2	2. ADAM ANDREWS (Rachel Vilson-Stoner)	112.1	x			
SAN LUCY	1. DIANA MANUEL (Gloria Ramirez)	109.8	Х			
219.6	2. JANA MONTANA	109.8	x			
PISINEMO 210.6	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	105.3	Х			Х
210.0	2. EDWARD MANUEL, SR.	105.3	X			
HICKIWAN 196.9	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA	98.45	X		:	
	(Manuel Osequeda, Jr.)	98.45	X			
HIA CED 19.6	1. LORRAINE EILER (Jolene Garcia)	9.8	x		}	
	2. MICHAEL FLORES ()	9.8	X			
GU VO 241.0	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	120.5	x			
	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Jeffery Antone, Sr.)	120.5	X			
GU ACHI 257.3	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	128.65	X	<u></u>		
231,3	2. LORETTA LEWIS (Louis Johnson)	128.65	x			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Marlakay C. Henry)	159.6	x			
319.2	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ	159.6	x			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)	178.85	х			· ·
357.7	2. VERNON J. SMITH (Gloria Zazueta)	178.85	x			
	TOTAL	2,946.5	2,946.5	-0-	-0-	[04]